NDAX Vs BTCC: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 4, 2026

NDAX charges one flat 0.20% on every trade and has been a CIRO investment dealer since December 2024. BTCC charges maker and taker fees and leans on futures. One suits a Canadian saver, the other an offshore trader.

NDAX Vs BTCC: Which Is Better For Canadians?

For most Canadians, NDAX is the better choice (it wins on canadian status, my ranking, published trading fee, CAD funding). BTCC still comes out ahead on coins available. BTCC is best for offshore futures traders.

NDAX logo7.8/10
CSA-registered, CIRO investment dealer

Low flat fees and cheap cash-outs to your bank

BTCC logo7.0/10
Offshore, not CSA-registered

Offshore futures traders

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
NDAXBTCCWinner
Canadian statusCSA-registered, CIRO investment dealerOffshore, not CSA-registeredNDAX
My ranking#7 of 10, 7.8/10#8 of 10, 7.0/10NDAX
Published trading feeFlat 0.20%0.2% maker / 0.3% takerNDAX
CAD fundingFree Interac e-Transfer and wireNot verifiedNDAX
Coins available77 assets112 spot assetsBTCC

BTCC is offshore: not registered with the Canadian Securities Administrators, and its terms restrict Canadian residents. No Canadian investor protection applies.

Not sure which fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

How Do NDAX And BTCC Compare, Fact By Fact?

Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.

NDAX Vs BTCC: Master Spec Table
NDAXBTCCWinner
CompanyNational Digital Asset Exchange (Ndax Canada Inc.), Calgary, founded 2017. Reported founders Bilal Hammoud (CEO), Hussein Hammoud and Omar Abbas. Funding and staff: Not published.BTCC Canada Limited, federal corporation, Toronto (FINTRAC M20713346). Terms of Use are with BTCC Limited, Hong Kong (CR 1956541). Operating since 2011.Depends
RegulationCIRO investment dealer since 2024-12-19; CSA list yes. FINTRAC M18632135 to 2027-12-31. CIPF covers CAD only, never crypto. AMF: Not verified.FINTRAC MSB M20713346, Registered, approved 2020-05-27, expires 2027-10-15. Not on CSA list or banned list. No CIRO. No CIPF for crypto.NDAX
AssetsAbout 76 coins on the public instrument list (2026-10-01), nearly all paired with CAD. Order book: not verified. USDT status is conflicting and not stated.112 spot-enabled assets; 352 enabled markets including perpetual-only. Order book exchange.BTCC
PriceFlat 0.20% on every buy and sell, no tiers, no maker or taker split, as checked 2026-10-03. Crypto withdrawal flat fees apply. Staking admin fee 20%.Spot taker 0.3% and maker 0.2% at VIP0; futures taker 0.055% and maker 0.03%. VIP discounts. Not a spread model.NDAX
CAD InFree: Interac e-Transfer (0 to 30 minutes) and wire (0 to 1 business days, subject to bank hours). Crypto deposits free after confirmations.Not verified. No CAD or Interac funding found.NDAX
CAD OutInterac e-Transfer CAD 1.50, CAD 10,000 per transaction, 0 to 30 minutes. EFT bank deposit CAD 4.99, no min or max, 0 to 1 business days. No free method.Not verified.Tie
Crypto In And OutOn-chain with several networks. BTC: Standard 0.00007 BTC (up to 4h), Express 0.00014 (instant), Flex free (up to 12h), as of 2026-10-01; fees are flat. No Lightning or Liquid found.Crypto deposit and withdrawal with network selection and a security review step. Network fees vary, no fixed amounts published.NDAX
CustodyCustodial. Majority in cold storage with BitGo and Coinbase Custody trust companies, segregated omnibus accounts; multisig, MPC, SOC 2 Type 2. No insurance figure or PoR found.Custodial. Claims asset segregation and multi-signature cold wallets (company's own words). Proof of reserves not verified here. Held funds, not self-custody.Tie
Verification (KYC)Full KYC: personal details and government ID, usually cleared within a day. Age of majority required. SIN and selfie: Not verified.KYC and AML checks apply. Time to clear and SIN handling not published.Depends
Account TypesIndividual, joint (right of survivorship), legal entity, plus an OTC desk. TFSA and RRSP: Not found.Not publishedDepends
ProvincesAll provinces and territories. Investment limits may apply on some assets outside BC, Manitoba and Quebec. Mobile app offers French (Canada).11 of 13. Per BTCC's Canadian guide, Ontario and Quebec are restricted. The Terms page itself does not name them. Territories not stated.NDAX
Extra ProductsStaking and Auto Earn (20% admin fee), OTC desk, API trading, instant internal and gift transfers. No card or loan found. Recurring buys and referral: Not verified.Futures copy trading, demo trading, VIP program, referral rewards. Staking and savings not verified.NDAX
Tax ToolsCSV ledger reports from the Reports menu, and a Koinly API integration. No CRA-ready report.Not verified.Depends
AppApple Canada 4.75 (15,225 ratings), Google Play 4.7 (5.85K reviews), 2026-10-01. Web app yes. French UI yes in the app. 2FA yes. Price alerts: Not verified.iOS 4.32 (1,010 ratings, Canadian store). Android 4.3 (18K reviews, global). Mobile apps and web. French UI not verified.NDAX
SupportLive chat, phone 1-833-727-6329, email support@ndax.io. Chat reported Mon to Fri 10am to midnight ET (secondary). French support: Not verified.Support Centre exists. Chat, phone, hours and French not verified.Depends
Sources For This Table

What Are The Key Differences Between NDAX And BTCC?

NDAX Vs BTCC: Side By Side
NDAXBTCC
DescriptionNational Digital Asset Exchange (NDAX) is a Calgary-based exchange and one of the most regulated platforms in the country, a CIRO investment dealer since December 2024. It combines a beginner-friendly platform and highly rated app with one of the lowest flat fees in Canada.BTCC is a futures-focused crypto exchange operating since 2011. It has a Canadian arm, BTCC Canada Limited, registered with FINTRAC as a money services business, but it is not on the CSA list of platforms authorized to serve Canadians and its own Canadian guide says Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted.
CoinsAbout 76 base assets on its public Canadian instrument list (2026-10-01), nearly all paired with CAD, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, XRP, Cardano, Chainlink and Polkadot.112 spot-enabled assets and 352 enabled markets including perpetual-only (front-end market list, 2026-10-01).
FeesFlat 0.20% on every buy and sell, with no volume tiers and no maker or taker split. CAD deposits by Interac e-Transfer and wire are free; Interac withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 (CAD 10,000 per transaction) and EFT bank withdrawals CAD 4.99. Crypto withdrawals are flat amounts per network. Staking and Auto Earn rewards carry a 20% administration fee.Spot 0.3% taker and 0.2% maker, futures 0.055% taker and 0.03% maker at VIP0. Leverage up to 500x on selected contracts. CAD funding not verified.
Pros
  • One flat 0.20% fee, no tiers
  • CIRO investment dealer with a CSA decision (2024-12-19)
  • About 76 coins, most paired directly with CAD
  • Free Interac and wire deposits
  • SOC 2 Type 2 audited
  • Staking, Auto Earn, OTC desk and API trading
  • Joint, entity and individual accounts
  • Koinly API integration
  • Operating since 2011
  • Canadian entity with an active FINTRAC MSB registration (expires 2027-10-15)
  • Copy trading and demo trading
  • Futures with high leverage
  • VIP fee discounts
Cons
  • Interac withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 and EFT CAD 4.99
  • Custodial, and crypto is not covered by CIPF
  • No insurance figure or proof of reserves published
  • Staking rewards carry a 20% administration fee
  • Investment limits can apply on some assets outside BC, Manitoba and Quebec
  • Interac withdrawal capped at CAD 10,000 per 24 hours
  • Whether USDT trades for Canadians is unclear and omitted
  • Not on the CSA list and no CIRO membership
  • FINTRAC registration is anti-money-laundering only, not securities protection
  • Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted
  • CAD funding, withdrawal fees and proof of reserves were not verified
  • Mixed user feedback on withdrawals and account reviews
SecurityCustodial. The user agreement says the majority of assets are in cold storage with regulated trust-company custodians (BitGo Trust Company and Coinbase Custody Trust Company), in segregated omnibus accounts. Multi-signature and MPC, SOC 2 Type 2 audit. CIPF covers CAD only, never crypto.BTCC states it uses asset segregation, multi-signature cold wallets, one-to-one asset storage and 2FA. These are the company's own statements, not independent audits, and no CIPF or regulator protection applies to crypto.
Methods To BuyInterac e-Transfer (free, 0 to 30 minutes), wire transfer (free, 0 to 1 business days) or a crypto deposit.Crypto deposits are supported. CAD funding methods such as Interac were not verified.
AppiOS and Android apps plus web; the app lists Francais (Canada). Apple Canada 4.75 (15,225 ratings), Google Play 4.7 (5.85K reviews) on 2026-10-01.iOS 4.32 across 1,010 ratings (Canadian App Store), Android 4.3 across 18K reviews (global Google Play total).
Account LimitsNo deposit limits set by NDAX, your bank sets them; wire deposits show a CAD 10,000,000 monthly wallet limit in a help article. Interac withdrawals CAD 10,000 per transaction. EFT withdrawals have no minimum or maximum.Not published. Higher withdrawal limits come with VIP levels.

How Do You Fund And Cash Out NDAX And BTCC In Canada?

NDAX: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedSet by your bank0 to 30 minutes
Wire transferFreeNot publishedSet by your bank0 to 1 business days, subject to bank hours
Crypto depositFreeNot publishedNot publishedafter network confirmations
NDAX: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferCAD 1.50Not publishedCAD 10,000 per transaction0 to 30 minutes
Direct bank deposit (EFT)CAD 4.99No minimumNo maximum0 to 1 business days

Bank-side Interac and wire limits apply. Account name must match your bank account. Weekend timing: Not published; wire speed is subject to bank hours. CAD funding and withdrawal methods were not verified on any BTCC page. Crypto deposits and withdrawals are documented. Treat BTCC as crypto-funded until a CAD route is shown.

What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On NDAX And BTCC?

Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
AmountNDAX BuyNDAX Round TripBTCC BuyBTCC Round Trip
CAD 100$0.20$0.40$0.20 to $0.30$0.40 to $0.60
CAD 500$1.00$2.00$1.00 to $1.50$2.00 to $3.00
CAD 1,000$2.00$4.00$2.00 to $3.00$4.00 to $6.00
CAD 10,000$20.00$40.00$20.00 to $30.00$40.00 to $60.00

NDAX: Flat 0.20% of trade value on every buy and sell, no tiers (fees page checked 2026-10-03). Withdrawal fees are extra and flat. BTCC: Spot maker 0.2% and taker 0.3% at VIP0 per the BTCC VIP fee table, checked 2026-10-01. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.

What Do NDAX And BTCC Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?

NDAX Only

  • Staking and Auto Earn: Opt-in rewards on supported assets. NDAX keeps 20% of rewards as an administration fee; the homepage advertises staking up to 13% APY.
  • OTC desk: Over-the-counter trading for large orders; terms and minimums are not published on the pages I could open.
  • API trading: Programmatic trading API, and a public instrument feed that lists the coins available.
  • Internal transfers: Transfers between NDAX accounts, including gift transfers, settle instantly at no cost.

BTCC Only

  • USDT-M and Coin-M perpetual futures: Leverage up to 500x on selected contracts. Futures fees at VIP0 are 0.055% taker and 0.03% maker. Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted.
  • Copy trading and demo trading: Futures copy trading and a demo account are offered.
  • VIP program: Fee discounts, priority support and higher withdrawal limits by VIP level.

What Happens To Your Money If NDAX Or BTCC Fails?

NDAX: NDAX is a CIRO investment dealer, so CIPF protects the CAD cash you hold there, but the user agreement says no virtual asset in your account is eligible for CIPF or CDIC protection. Most assets sit in cold storage with trust-company custodians in omnibus accounts, and NDAX has a SOC 2 Type 2 audit, but it publishes no insurance amount and no proof of reserves. A hack, a custodian failure or an insolvency can still hurt crypto balances. Withdraw to your own wallet if you hold coins for the long term.

BTCC: BTCC Canada Limited is registered with FINTRAC, which is an anti-money-laundering registration, not a securities registration or investor protection. BTCC is not on the CSA list, is not a CIRO member and CIPF never covers crypto. If BTCC fails or freezes your account you have no regulator-backed claim. Its own guide notes some withdrawals face risk or compliance review, and public feedback mentions withdrawal and account-review complaints. High leverage futures can liquidate a position quickly.

How Are NDAX And BTCC Treated For Tax In Canada?

NDAX: Each sale, swap and staking reward event is a disposition or income for CRA purposes, and staking rewards are income at the value received. NDAX provides CSV ledger reports and a Koinly API link but no CRA-ready report.

BTCC: Spot sales, crypto-to-crypto trades and futures settlement are dispositions for CRA purposes. No tax export or CRA-ready report was verified, so keep your own records of trades, fees and transfers.

Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Should You Choose, NDAX Or BTCC?

Choose NDAX If

  • You want a low flat 0.20% fee and a wide list of CAD-paired coins.
  • You want a CIRO-registered exchange that lists dozens of CAD pairs.
  • You want staking, an OTC desk or API access.
  • You mostly buy and hold and rarely cash out, since CAD withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 to 4.99.

Choose BTCC If

  • You live outside Ontario and Quebec and want offshore futures: BTCC is the one in this group with a Canadian FINTRAC-registered arm.
  • You want regulator protection or CAD funding: use a CSA-registered platform instead.

Is NDAX Or BTCC Better For Canadians In 2026?

NDAX. It is seventh in my ranking at 7.8 out of 10 and BTCC is eighth at 7.0, but the scores are close only on paper. NDAX is a Calgary company founded in 2017, a CIRO investment dealer since December 19, 2024, on the CSA list, funded free by Interac e-Transfer and wire. BTCC is offshore, has no verified CAD route, and its guide restricts Ontario and Quebec residents.

NDAX lists about 76 coins, nearly all paired with CAD. BTCC lists 112 spot assets and 352 markets including perpetual-only ones, built around futures and copy trading. Their audiences barely overlap.

My longer notes: my NDAX review and my BTCC review.

Which Costs Less When You Actually Trade?

Closer than you would expect. NDAX charges a flat 0.20% on every buy and sell, so $2 on $1,000. BTCC's spot maker fee is also 0.2%, while its taker fee is 0.3%, or $3. On pure percentage BTCC only ties NDAX at best.

Add the rest. A $1,000 round trip on NDAX is about $4 in trading fees, plus $1.50 to withdraw by Interac, roughly $5.50 in all. BTCC has no verified CAD route, so you would pay a second platform first. If the BTCC cost advantage exists, it sits in futures at 0.03% maker and 0.055% taker, which is a different product with a different risk.

Which Is Easier To Fund And Cash Out?

NDAX takes Interac e-Transfer free in 0 to 30 minutes and wires free in 0 to 1 business days, subject to bank hours, and your account name must match your bank. KYC is full, usually cleared within a day. Cashing out is where it charges: $1.50 by Interac or $4.99 by EFT. BTCC applies KYC and AML checks too, but the clearing time is not published, and the only documented way in is a crypto deposit. The apps tell a story too: NDAX's iOS rating in Canada is 4.75 across 15,225 ratings and the app offers French, while BTCC's is 4.32 across 1,010 ratings, with French not verified.

Which Is Safer For Canadians?

NDAX, by a long way. As a CIRO dealer, CIPF protects the CAD cash in your account, but NDAX's user agreement says no virtual asset is eligible for CIPF or CDIC. Most assets are in cold storage with BitGo and Coinbase Custody trust companies in segregated omnibus accounts, backed by a SOC 2 Type 2 audit. It publishes no insurance amount or proof of reserves, so for long-term holdings withdraw to your own wallet.

BTCC is offshore for a Canadian: not registered with the CSA, no CIRO membership, and no CIPF. Its FINTRAC registration is anti-money-laundering only. It says it uses multi-signature cold wallets and asset segregation, which are its own words, not an audit. Its guide says some withdrawals face compliance review, and public feedback mentions withdrawal complaints.

Flat 0.20% Or Maker And Taker: Which Fee Design Is Easier To Live With?

How The Fees Are Built
ItemNDAXBTCC
Spot buy0.20% flat0.2% maker or 0.3% taker
Spot sell0.20% flat0.2% maker or 0.3% taker
FuturesNot offered0.03% maker, 0.055% taker
Fiat out$1.50 Interac or $4.99 EFTNo verified CAD route

A flat fee is easy to plan around and rewards nobody for being clever. Maker and taker pricing rewards patient limit orders but punishes quick market orders. For a monthly buyer, NDAX's flat rate is simpler. BTCC's design only pays off for frequent traders who can use its futures.

Who Should Choose NDAX And Who Should Choose BTCC?

Choose NDAX if you want a low flat fee, a wide list of CAD pairs, a CIRO-registered dealer, and tools like staking, an OTC desk and API access. Note that CAD withdrawals cost $1.50 to $4.99.

Choose BTCC if you live outside Ontario and Quebec, want futures, and can fund with crypto. Most Canadians should start from my ranked list of exchanges.

Visit NDAX Read My NDAX Review

What Has Happened With NDAX And BTCC?

  • : NDAX (Ndax Canada Inc.) receives its CSA decision and CIRO investment dealer membership.
  • : FINTRAC approves the registration of BTCC Canada Limited.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Does NDAX Charge To Withdraw Canadian Dollars?

Interac costs $1.50 with a $10,000 per transaction cap and arrives in 0 to 30 minutes. A direct bank deposit costs $4.99 with no minimum or maximum and takes 0 to 1 business days. There is no free CAD withdrawal method.

How Much Does NDAX Charge To Withdraw Bitcoin?

On the October 1, 2026 schedule, Standard is 0.00007 BTC and takes up to 4 hours, Express is 0.00014 BTC and is instant, and Flex is free and takes up to 12 hours. These are flat fees, not percentages.

Is BTCC Registered In Canada?

BTCC Canada Limited is registered with FINTRAC as a money services business (M20713346). BTCC is not on the CSA list, it is not a CIRO member, and its own Canadian guide says Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted.

Does NDAX Offer Staking?

Yes, staking and Auto Earn, with a 20% administration fee on rewards. Its homepage advertises staking up to 13% APY, which is a headline figure, not a guarantee. Staking rewards count as income for CRA purposes.

Do NDAX And BTCC Have Limit Orders?

NDAX: Limit orders are not confirmed here; NDAX is an exchange-style platform but I did not verify an order type list. BTCC: Not verified for Canadians.

Which Coins Can You Buy On NDAX And BTCC?

NDAX: About 76 coins BTCC: 112 spot assets

Is The Spread The Fee On NDAX And BTCC?

NDAX: NDAX charges a flat 0.20% fee, shown separately; confirm the quoted price in the order screen. BTCC: BTCC charges maker/taker fees, not a spread.

Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On NDAX Or BTCC?

NDAX: CIPF covers CAD cash only; the user agreement says crypto is not eligible. BTCC: CIPF never covers crypto, and BTCC is not a CIPF member.

Are NDAX And BTCC Available In Every Province?

NDAX: All provinces and territories, with possible investment limits on some assets outside BC, Manitoba and Quebec. BTCC: Ontario and Quebec are restricted per BTCC's own guide; other provinces not named.

Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On NDAX And BTCC?

NDAX: Not published. BTCC: No Interac e-Transfer verified on BTCC.

What Is The Minimum Buy On NDAX And BTCC?

NDAX: Not published. BTCC: Not published.

Can A Business Use NDAX Or BTCC?

NDAX: Yes, legal-entity accounts exist and an OTC desk serves large trades. BTCC: Not verified.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!