The Arculus Cold Storage Wallet is a metal NFC card with no screen and no battery. You tap it to your phone, approve with a PIN and biometrics in the Arculus app, and the card signs. Arculus's store showed one card at USD 59.76 (marked down from USD 99.00) on October 3, 2026, with a Common Criteria EAL6+ secure element. I tested it. It is cheap, compact and simple to use, and the honest caveat is that its backup works differently from a standard seed phrase, and the details of recovery were not on the pages I could check.
- Best for: Canadians who want a very low-cost, phone-tap card wallet and will buy a second card as a backup
- Skip it if: you want a screen on the device, a desktop app, or a standard 24-word recovery you can restore on any wallet
- Price: USD 59.76 for one card (was USD 99.00), USD 76.26 for the Silver and Black 2-pack, tax not included
- Where it sits: below my top 7 wallets for Canadians. The card-wallet I rank higher is the Tangem, my number two
- PriceUSD 59.76 now (was USD 99.00) for one Arculus card; Silver and Black 2-pack bundle USD 76.26 (MSRP USD 198). Tax not included
- Secure ElementCommon Criteria EAL6+ certified secure element in the card (badge on store); SOC 2 Type II audited
- ConnectionNFC (tap card to phone)
- Backuppage says 'no stored recovery phrases'; buy multiple cards to split or back up crypto (a second card as backup); recovery method detail not
My #1 pick: before you buy the Arculus, look at the Trezor Safe 7 (9.6/10), the wallet I use and rank first for Canadians.
| Detail | Info (From Arculus's Store) |
|---|---|
| Price | USD 59.76 for one card (was USD 99.00). Silver and Black 2-pack USD 76.26 (MSRP USD 198). Tax not included |
| Form | Metal NFC card, no screen, no battery |
| Security Chip | CC EAL6+ certified secure element. The store also shows a SOC 2 Type II badge |
| Approval | Enter PIN and biometrics in the app, then tap the card to the phone |
| Backup | "No stored recovery phrases". Buy multiple cards to split or back up crypto. Recovery detail not on the pages I checked |
| Coins | 10,000+ coins and tokens. 27 blockchains on the homepage, "50+ blockchains" on the product page. MetaMask and WalletConnect supported |
| App | Arculus App for iOS and Android. No desktop app stated |
| Open Source | Not stated on the pages I checked |
| Shipping To Canada | Not stated |
What Is The Arculus Wallet And Who Is It For?
Arculus is the card-wallet answer for people who find a hardware wallet intimidating. There is no cable and no tiny screen to squint at. You open the app, confirm with your PIN and biometrics, and tap the metal card to your phone. The store sells a Silver card, a Black card and an XRP card, and all were on sale on October 3, 2026.
The price is the headline. At USD 59.76 for a single card it undercuts nearly everything I review, and the 2-pack at USD 76.26 is cheaper than the single card at the old USD 99.00 list price. If you are comparing it with the Tangem, the two are the same type of product, a tap-to-phone card, and Tangem is the one I rank at number two and keep coins on myself.
The trade-off with any card wallet is that there is no screen on the card, so you are trusting the phone app to show you the right address and amount. It suits smaller balances and everyday self-custody better than a long-term vault.
How Secure Is The Arculus Wallet?
Arculus's store says the card uses a Common Criteria EAL6+ certified secure element and that the company is SOC 2 Type II audited. Those are claims on its own store, and I could not confirm the SOC 2 audit on a page I fetched, so treat it as a claim. EAL6+ is the same level Ledger and Trezor describe.
The unusual part is the backup. The product page says there are "no stored recovery phrases" and tells you to buy multiple cards to split or back up your crypto, using a second card as a backup. That is a different model from the standard 24-word seed, and the exact recovery steps were not on the pages I checked. Before you put real money on it, read Arculus's own recovery documentation, do a test restore with a small amount and keep the second card somewhere separate.
I could not confirm whether the firmware is open source or whether a BIP-39 passphrase is supported, so I do not list them as features. I found no security incident for Arculus in my research.
How Much Does The Arculus Wallet Cost In Canada?
The store showed USD 59.76 for one card (was USD 99.00) and USD 76.26 for the Silver and Black 2-pack (MSRP USD 198), without tax. A sale price can end without notice, so check the price on the day. The pages I checked do not say whether Arculus ships to Canada or whether duties apply, so confirm both at checkout before you pay.
CBSA rules say a courier shipment from a country other than the US or Mexico is duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and I could not find the duty rate for a hardware wallet. Ask the courier first. And buy straight from Arculus: the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre's advice is to purchase hardware wallets directly from the manufacturer.
How Do You Set Up The Arculus Wallet?
I did not have Arculus's official setup guide in my sources, so I will not write a made-up walkthrough. This is what the product page confirms.
- Install the Arculus App. It is on iOS and Android. A customer review mentions that Huawei devices are not supported, so check your phone first.
- Set the PIN and biometrics. You enter them in the app each time you approve.
- Tap the card. Approving a transaction means tapping the NFC card to your phone.
- Set up the backup. Buy a second card as your backup, and read Arculus's recovery documentation first.
- Test small. Receive a small amount, send it out, and only then move a larger balance.
One habit I would adopt with any no-screen card: before you confirm a send, compare the first and last characters of the address in the app with the address on the exchange or the person you are paying. Malware that swaps a copied address is the main risk a card with no display cannot catch for you. It takes ten seconds and it is the cheapest security upgrade there is.
Does The Arculus Wallet Work With Canadian Exchanges?
Yes. To an exchange it is a self-custody address, so you copy a receive address from the Arculus app and withdraw to it. The Travel Rule has applied since June 1, 2021, so transfers of CAD 1,000 or more come with questions. Coinbase has a "Sending to myself" checkbox. NDAX asks "Who are you sending to?" above CAD 1,000, and "Sending to myself" needs no extra information. Kraken shows a pop-up and does not allow sending to a third party. Newton needs the address saved in its Address Book, and Wealthsimple Crypto allows external withdrawals within its limits.
The CRA says moving crypto between wallets you own is not a taxable disposition. Keep your records for at least six years. My guide to crypto taxes in Canada has the rest.
If you mainly hold Bitcoin, Ethereum or Solana, coin coverage is unlikely to be your problem with a card like this. The bigger question is always the backup, so spend your effort there rather than on the spec sheet. A cheap wallet with a backup you have never tested is worse than a pricey one you have.
Which Coins Does The Arculus Wallet Support?
Arculus claims 10,000+ coins and tokens and says it covers over 95% of crypto by market cap. Its own pages disagree on the chain count: the homepage says 27 blockchains and the product page says 50+. I cannot reconcile that, so check your specific coin in the app. It also supports MetaMask and WalletConnect, which is handy if you use decentralised apps. Bitcoin-only firmware is not stated.
What Changed For Arculus Recently?
- : Arculus partnered with N.exchange to add swaps and a smart order router to the Arculus app (CompoSecure).
- : CompoSecure integrated the Arculus wallet with MoneyGram Access for USDC cash-in and cash-out on Stellar (CompoSecure).
What Are The Arculus Pros And Cons?
Pros
- Low price at USD 59.76 for one card
- Metal NFC card, no cable or battery
- CC EAL6+ secure element
- 10,000+ coins and tokens claimed
- MetaMask and WalletConnect support
- PIN and biometrics in the app
Cons
- No screen on the card
- Backup is by extra cards, not a stored recovery phrase
- Recovery steps not on the pages I checked
- Own pages disagree on blockchain count
- Canada shipping and duties not stated
- No desktop app stated
Is The Arculus Wallet Worth It For Canadians?
For a small to medium balance and a buyer who wants simple, yes, it is worth considering, as long as you treat the second card as part of the price. For a large balance you will hold for years, I would choose a wallet with a screen and a standard recovery phrase.
My own coins sit on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card. If you want to see where Arculus lands in the wider field, my best crypto wallets in Canada list has the full ranking, and the head-to-head pages cover Arculus Vs Tangem, Arculus Vs Ledger and Arculus Vs Trezor. If you buy one, go to Arculus's own store.
Has Arculus Had Security Problems?
I found no documented breach, recall or disclosed vulnerability affecting Arculus wallets in primary sources as of October 2026. That is not a guarantee, so keep your firmware updated and buy only from the maker.
How Does Arculus Compare?
| Wallet | Price | Connection | Secure Element | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arculus | USD 59.76 now (was USD 99.00) for one Arculus card; Silver and Black 2-pack bundle USD 76.26 (MSRP USD 198). Tax not included | NFC (tap card to phone) | Common Criteria EAL6+ certified secure element in the card (badge on store); SOC 2 Type II audited | |
| Trezor Safe 7 | USD 249 | Bluetooth (open-source encrypted), USB-C to USB-C cable, Qi2 wireless charging | TROPIC01 (auditable) plus NDA-free EAL6+ Optiga secure element plus STM32U5 microcontroller: three chips from three vendors | Full comparison |
| Tangem Wallet | 2-card set USD 54.90; 3-card set USD 69.90; Family Pack USD 129.80; Ring and 2 cards USD 160; Pro Kit USD 180 (prices shown in USD to a US visitor) | NFC only (no battery, no cable) | EAL6+ certified chip, Samsung-developed per Tangem; IP69K | Full comparison |
| Ledger Flex | USD 249 and CA$369 on the Canadian storefront; free shipping, usually ships within 24 hours | Bluetooth (BLE 5.2), NFC, USB-C | ST33K1M5 Secure Element, Common Criteria EAL6+ | Full comparison |
Frequently Asked Questions
How Much Does The Arculus Wallet Cost?
Arculus's store showed one card at USD 59.76 (was USD 99.00) and the Silver and Black 2-pack at USD 76.26 on October 3, 2026, tax not included. Sale prices can change.
Is The Arculus Wallet Safe?
Arculus says the card has a Common Criteria EAL6+ secure element and the company is SOC 2 Type II audited. Those are Arculus's own claims. I found no security incident, and open-source status is not stated on the pages I checked.
Does The Arculus Wallet Have A Recovery Phrase?
Arculus's product page says there are "no stored recovery phrases" and suggests buying multiple cards to split or back up crypto. Read its recovery documentation and do a test restore before you fund it.
Does Arculus Work On Apple And Android Phones?
Yes, the Arculus App is on iOS and Android. A customer review reports Huawei devices are not supported. No desktop app is stated.
How Many Coins Does Arculus Support?
Arculus claims 10,000+ coins and tokens. Its homepage says 27 blockchains and its product page says 50+, so check your coin in the app first.
Does Arculus Ship To Canada?
The pages I checked do not say. Confirm at checkout. CBSA says courier shipments from countries other than the US or Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20.
Is Moving Crypto To An Arculus Card Taxable In Canada?
The CRA says transfers between wallets you own are not a taxable disposition. Keep your records for at least six years.