Trezor Safe 5 Vs Trezor Safe 3: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 3, 2026

The Trezor Safe 5 and Safe 3 share open-source firmware, an EAL6+ chip and the same backup options. The Safe 5 adds a colour touchscreen, $70 of cost and a cleaner record, while the Safe 3 is the budget Bitcoin-only pick.

Trezor Safe 5 Vs Trezor Safe 3: Which Is Better For Canadians?

For most Canadians, the Trezor Safe 5 is the better pick. My #1 wallet pick overall is the Trezor Safe 7 (9.6/10).

Trezor Safe 5

8.3/10Also reviewed, not in my top 7

Trezor Safe 3

Also reviewed, not in my top 7

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
Trezor Safe 5Trezor Safe 3
My Standing8.3 /10 Also reviewed, not in my top 7Also reviewed, not in my top 7
PriceUSD 129USD 59
Secure Elementcertified EAL6+ Secure Element (single); Trezor Safe 7 is the model with the dual and TROPIC01 designcertified EAL6+ Secure Element
Screen1.54 inch colour touchscreen, 240 x 240 px, haptic feedback, Gorilla Glass 30.96 inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64 px; two-button pad
ConnectionUSB-C to USB-C cable; no BluetoothUSB-C to USB-C cable
Open Sourceyes: 'Open-source security', transparent public codeyes: 'Open-source security'
Backup12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup; 2 x 20-word backup cards in the box
Coins1000s of coins and tokens; third-party wallet apps1000s of coins and tokens

See my top 7 crypto wallets for Canadians for the full ranking.

How Do The Trezor Safe 5 And Trezor Safe 3 Compare, Spec By Spec?

Every row comes from the makers’ own pages and published security records, checked October 2026. Where there is no fair winner, the row says so.

Trezor Safe 5 Vs Trezor Safe 3: Master Spec Table
Trezor Safe 5Trezor Safe 3Winner
MakerTrezor Company s.r.o. (SatoshiLabs Group)Trezor Company s.r.o. (SatoshiLabs Group)Depends
My Score And Rank8.3/10Not scoredTrezor Safe 5
PriceUSD 129USD 59Trezor Safe 3
Buying In Canadanot stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised resellernot stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised resellerDepends
Secure Elementcertified EAL6+ Secure Element (single); Trezor Safe 7 is the model with the dual and TROPIC01 designcertified EAL6+ Secure ElementDepends
Open Sourceyes: 'Open-source security', transparent public codeyes: 'Open-source security'Depends
Screen And Input1.54 inch colour touchscreen, 240 x 240 px, haptic feedback, Gorilla Glass 30.96 inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64 px; two-button padDepends
ConnectionUSB-C to USB-C cable; no BluetoothUSB-C to USB-C cableDepends
Backup And Recovery12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup; 2 x 20-word backup cards in the boxDepends
PassphraseyesyesDepends
Coins1000s of coins and tokens; third-party wallet apps1000s of coins and tokensDepends
AppTrezor Suite: Android, Mac, Windows, Linux; limited iOS compatibility on Safe 5Trezor Suite: Android, Mac, Windows, Linux; limited iOS compatibilityDepends
Bitcoin-Only Optionnot stated for Safe 5 (a Bitcoin-only edition is advertised on the Safe 3 page)yes: a Bitcoin-only edition exists next to the Universal edition (page offers 'Bitcoin-only hardware wallet, designed exclusively for Bitcoin')Depends
Batterynone: USB powered (no battery listed; battery and Qi2 are Safe 7 only)none: USB poweredDepends
Security Record6 documented; latest 2026-09-09: Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address6 documented; latest 2026-09-09: Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's addressDepends
Sources For This Table

What Happens If You Lose Your Trezor Safe 5 Or Trezor Safe 3?

Trezor Safe 5: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).

Trezor Safe 3: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup; 2 x 20-word backup cards in the box. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).

How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?

Price And Shipping To Canada
WalletOfficial PriceShipping To Canada
Trezor Safe 5USD 129not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller
Trezor Safe 3USD 59not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller

CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.

Which Is More Secure, Trezor Safe 5 Or Safe 3?

They share the important stuff. Both have a certified EAL6+ secure element, open-source firmware, 12, 20 and 24 word backups, Advanced multi-share (Shamir) backup and passphrase support. The Safe 5 adds a bigger colour touchscreen with haptic feedback, which means it is easier to read an address and confirm it. On the Safe 3, you check a tiny 0.96 inch monochrome OLED (128 x 64) and press two buttons.

There is one real security difference on record. On March 5, 2025, Ledger Donjon reused a known voltage-glitch attack on the Safe 3 microcontroller to bypass some supply-chain countermeasures. The risk is mainly to a device tampered with before it reaches you. Trezor disclosed it on its own, says no action is needed for official purchases, and says the Safe 5, Model One and Model T were not affected. That is a point for the Safe 5, and a reason to buy only from Trezor or an authorised reseller (Amazon Canada is on the list).

Trezor customers of any model were also exposed to the August 13, 2026 ShipMonk fulfilment breach, which exposed order data (names, addresses, phone, email) but no devices or keys, and the September 9 Brevo phishing incident. Those are shipping and email problems, not chip problems.

The Coldcard question comes up often. I cannot recommend Coldcard right now. A 2021 build error made seed generation use a software random generator, and from July 29 to 30, 2026 attackers regenerated keys and swept funds: 594 BTC (about $38M) in the first wave, and later estimates above 1,596 BTC. Updating the firmware does not repair an existing seed. Details are in Coinkite's warning. So "is Coldcard safer than Trezor?" has a clear answer for me today: no, not for anyone whose seed was made on affected firmware.

Which Is Easier To Use?

Hardware: Trezor Safe 5 Vs Safe 3
ItemTrezor Safe 5Trezor Safe 3
Screen1.54 inch colour touchscreen, 240 x 240, haptic feedback, Gorilla Glass 30.96 inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64
InputTouchTwo-button pad
ConnectionUSB-C to USB-C; no BluetoothUSB-C to USB-C; no Bluetooth
iOSLimited compatibilityLimited compatibility
In The BoxNot stated2 x 20-word backup cards
Bitcoin-Only EditionNot statedYes, next to the Universal edition

The Safe 5 is the one to buy if typing a PIN and checking addresses on a touchscreen matters to you. The Safe 3 does the same job with buttons. Neither has Bluetooth or a battery, so phone use is cable-based, and iOS support is limited on both. If you want Bluetooth and full iOS, that is the Safe 7.

Which Supports More Coins?

Trezor lists the same universal support on both: thousands of coins and tokens through Trezor Suite and third-party wallet apps. The Safe 3 page advertises a Bitcoin-only edition for people who want a smaller attack surface. For XRP, the answer is yes for Trezor generally: I keep my XRP, ETH and SOL on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card. For the Safe 3 specifically, confirm XRP on Trezor's supported-coin list before ordering.

Which Costs Less In Canada?

Price: Trezor Safe 5 Vs Safe 3
ItemTrezor Safe 5Trezor Safe 3
Price (USD)$129$59
Canadian ResellerAmazon Canada is listedAmazon Canada is listed
Canada ShippingNot named; Trezor ships to 200+ countriesNot named; Trezor ships to 200+ countries

The Safe 3 is $70 cheaper. Duties are unknown, and CBSA only waives them on parcels up to CAD 20 (non-US) or CAD 40 (US). Buy the Safe 5 through my Trezor Safe 5 link, and the Safe 3 from Trezor's own Safe 3 page. My Trezor Safe 5 review has the detail.

How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?

Identically. Coinbase and Kraken both ask whether you are sending to yourself and apply Travel Rule prompts from CAD 1,000. Bull Bitcoin pays out straight to your own wallet, with no fee on on-chain payouts (minimum 0.001 BTC). Moves between your own wallets are not dispositions for the CRA.

Which Should You Choose?

Choose the Safe 3 if you want the cheapest credible open-source device, mostly hold Bitcoin and are fine pressing buttons. Choose the Safe 5 if you want a colour touchscreen and the cleaner security record. If you can stretch further, the Safe 7 is my number one and I would look at Trezor Safe 5 vs Ledger Flex too. The Safe 3 vs Model One page covers the older model.

What Has Happened With Trezor Safe 5 And Trezor Safe 3?

  • : A breach at Brevo, Trezor's email vendor, led to a fake alert sent from Trezor's address; about 347,000 addresses were exported.
  • : ShipMonk, a Trezor fulfilment provider, was breached, exposing order data.
  • : Coldcard attackers began sweeping funds from seeds made with a weak random number generator.
  • : Ledger Donjon showed a voltage-glitch bypass of some Safe 3 supply-chain countermeasures.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which Trezor Model Is Best?

The Safe 7 is my number one. Of the other two, the Safe 5 for a touchscreen and cleaner record, the Safe 3 for the lowest price.

Can Trezor Safe 3 Hold XRP?

Trezor lists thousands of coins and tokens, and I keep XRP on a Trezor Safe 7. Confirm XRP on Trezor's supported-coin list for the Safe 3 before ordering.

What Are The Disadvantages Of Trezor?

No Bluetooth on the Safe 5 and Safe 3, limited iOS use, and a record of disclosed attacks and third-party breaches, including the 2025 Safe 3 supply-chain finding.

Is Coldcard Safer Than Trezor?

Not right now. I cannot recommend Coldcard after the July 2026 seed-generation weakness led to mass theft of funds, and updating does not fix an existing seed.

Can I Buy A Trezor In Canada?

Yes, Trezor ships to 200+ countries and Amazon Canada is an authorised reseller. Check duties at checkout.

Which Is Cheaper, The Trezor Safe 5 Or The Trezor Safe 3?

Trezor Safe 5: USD 129. Trezor Safe 3: USD 59.

Is The Trezor Safe 5 Or The Trezor Safe 3 Open Source?

Trezor Safe 5: yes: 'Open-source security', transparent public code. Trezor Safe 3: yes: 'Open-source security'.

Do The Trezor Safe 5 And The Trezor Safe 3 Ship To Canada?

Trezor Safe 5: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller. Trezor Safe 3: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!