Trezor Safe 3 Vs Ledger Nano S Plus: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 3, 2026

The Trezor Safe 3 is USD 59 with open firmware and a Bitcoin-only edition, and the Ledger Nano S Plus is USD 69 with closed firmware and Canadian retail. Neither handles an iPhone well.

Trezor Safe 3 Vs Ledger Nano S Plus: Which Is Better For Canadians?

Neither the Trezor Safe 3 nor the Ledger Nano S Plus is on my top 7 list, so the choice comes down to the features below. My #1 wallet pick overall is the Trezor Safe 7 (9.6/10).

Trezor Safe 3

Also reviewed, not in my top 7

Ledger Nano S Plus

Also reviewed, not in my top 7

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
Trezor Safe 3Ledger Nano S Plus
My StandingAlso reviewed, not in my top 7Also reviewed, not in my top 7
PriceUSD 59USD 69 (US shop)
Secure Elementcertified EAL6+ Secure ElementST33K1M5 Secure Element, CC EAL6+
Screen0.96 inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64 px; two-button pad1.1 inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64 px; two buttons
ConnectionUSB-C to USB-C cableUSB-C, desktop and Android only; does not work with iOS
Open Sourceyes: 'Open-source security'Not verified
Backup12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup; 2 x 20-word backup cards in the boxrecovery sheets; optional Ledger Recover
Coins1000s of coins and tokens500+ coins directly in Ledger Wallet app; thousands of coins and tokens via third-party wallets (50+ compatible wallets)

See my top 7 crypto wallets for Canadians for the full ranking.

How Do The Trezor Safe 3 And Ledger Nano S Plus Compare, Spec By Spec?

Every row comes from the makers’ own pages and published security records, checked October 2026. Where there is no fair winner, the row says so.

Trezor Safe 3 Vs Ledger Nano S Plus: Master Spec Table
Trezor Safe 3Ledger Nano S PlusWinner
MakerTrezor Company s.r.o. (SatoshiLabs Group)LedgerDepends
My Score And RankNot scoredNot scoredTie
PriceUSD 59USD 69 (US shop)Trezor Safe 3
Buying In Canadanot stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reselleryes: Ledger runs a Canadian storefront with CA$ pricing; authorised Canadian resellers include Canada Computers, Best Buy Canada, Amazon CanadaDepends
Secure Elementcertified EAL6+ Secure ElementST33K1M5 Secure Element, CC EAL6+Depends
Open Sourceyes: 'Open-source security'Not publishedDepends
Screen And Input0.96 inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64 px; two-button pad1.1 inch monochrome OLED, 128 x 64 px; two buttonsDepends
ConnectionUSB-C to USB-C cableUSB-C, desktop and Android only; does not work with iOSDepends
Backup And Recovery12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup; 2 x 20-word backup cards in the boxrecovery sheets; optional Ledger RecoverDepends
PassphraseyesNot publishedDepends
Coins1000s of coins and tokens500+ coins directly in Ledger Wallet app; thousands of coins and tokens via third-party wallets (50+ compatible wallets)Trezor Safe 3
AppTrezor Suite: Android, Mac, Windows, Linux; limited iOS compatibilityLedger Wallet app on desktop and Android (no iOS)Depends
Bitcoin-Only Optionyes: a Bitcoin-only edition exists next to the Universal edition (page offers 'Bitcoin-only hardware wallet, designed exclusively for Bitcoin')Not publishedDepends
Batterynone: USB powerednone; 62.4 x 17.4 x 8.2 mm, 21 gDepends
Security Record6 documented; latest 2026-09-09: Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address7 documented; latest 2026-08-27: Security Bulletins 023, 024, 025: signing-review bypassesDepends
Sources For This Table

What Happens If You Lose Your Trezor Safe 3 Or Ledger Nano S Plus?

Trezor Safe 3: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup; 2 x 20-word backup cards in the box. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).

Ledger Nano S Plus: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: recovery sheets; optional Ledger Recover. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 7 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-08-27 (Security Bulletins 023, 024, 025: signing-review bypasses).

How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?

Price And Shipping To Canada
WalletOfficial PriceShipping To Canada
Trezor Safe 3USD 59not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller
Ledger Nano S PlusUSD 69 (US shop)yes: Ledger runs a Canadian storefront with CA$ pricing; authorised Canadian resellers include Canada Computers, Best Buy Canada, Amazon Canada

CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.

Which Is More Secure, Trezor Safe 3 Or Ledger Nano S Plus?

These are the entry-level pair, at USD 59 for the Safe 3 and USD 69 for the Nano S Plus. They look similar on a shelf: small, a monochrome OLED, two buttons. Under the hood they differ on one thing that matters to many people, openness.

The Safe 3 is open source, with firmware and signed binaries public, and uses a certified EAL6+ secure element. The Nano S Plus uses an ST33K1M5 EAL6+ element but runs closed Ledger OS. The Safe 3 gives you 12, 20 and 24 word backups, multi-share backup and two 20 word backup cards in the box. The S Plus uses recovery sheets and Ledger's optional Recover service. Trezor supports a passphrase on the Safe 3, while Ledger's passphrase support is something I could not confirm on a fetched official page.

The Safe 3 has a real item in its history. In March 2025 Ledger Donjon reused a known voltage-glitch attack on the Safe 3's microcontroller to bypass some supply-chain countermeasures. It mainly matters for a device tampered with before reaching the owner, Trezor says no action is needed for official purchases, and it disclosed this itself (The Block). Buy direct or from an authorised reseller, as the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre advises. Trezor's 2026 customer data incidents (ShipMonk and Brevo) apply to the brand generally.

Ledger's list has the 2020 shop leak, the December 2023 Connect Kit attack and August 2026 bulletins 023 to 025 on signing-review bypasses, with fixes shipped and no evidence of exploitation.

Which Is Easier To Use?

The Safe 3 has a 0.96 inch monochrome OLED and a two-button pad, uses USB-C to USB-C, and Trezor Suite on Android, Mac, Windows and Linux with limited iOS compatibility. The Nano S Plus has a 1.1 inch OLED at 128 x 64 and two buttons, USB-C, and runs on desktop and Android only. Neither works well with an iPhone. They are close in feel, and the S Plus screen is slightly larger. Both are fine for a first device, though neither is a joy to type long addresses on.

Which Supports More Coins?

Trezor says 1000s of coins and tokens and offers a Universal edition and a Bitcoin-only edition of the Safe 3. Ledger says 500+ coins directly in Ledger Wallet and thousands via 50+ compatible wallets, with no Bitcoin-only firmware that I could verify. If you want Bitcoin only, the Safe 3 gives you that choice.

Which Costs Less In Canada?

Trezor Safe 3 and Ledger Nano S Plus: price and buying in Canada
ItemTrezor Safe 3Ledger Nano S Plus
Price As The Maker Shows ItUSD 59USD 69
Shipping To CanadaNot stated on the pages I could readCanadian storefront with CA$ pricing
Canadian ResellersAmazon CanadaCanada Computers, Best Buy Canada, Amazon Canada

The Safe 3 is USD 10 cheaper. Ledger has the Canadian storefront with CA$ prices and three big Canadian retailers, while Trezor's only listed Canadian reseller is Amazon Canada and I could not confirm Canadian shipping on its page. For a USD 10 difference, availability may matter more than price. I did not find a CA$ price for either.

How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?

Both take transfers from any exchange. Wealthsimple allows external wallet withdrawals after a selfie check, with a CA$5 minimum on BTC and a test send recommended. Kraken shows a Travel Rule pop-up above CA$1,000. Transfers between your own wallets are not dispositions per the CRA. See my Wealthsimple Crypto review.

At this price a hardware wallet is cheap insurance for any balance you would be upset to lose. Set a passphrase if the device supports it, store the backup away from the device, and test the restore with a small amount before you rely on it.

Which Should You Choose?

Choose the Safe 3 if you want open firmware, a Bitcoin-only edition and the lowest price.

Visit Trezor Safe 3

Choose the Nano S Plus if you want Canadian retail, a CA$ checkout and the Ledger Wallet app.

Visit Ledger Nano S Plus

Whichever you pick, buy it from the maker or an authorised reseller and write the recovery words on paper the moment you set it up. Anyone who contacts you asking for those words is a scammer, and Trezor says explicitly that it will never contact you about your wallet backup (Trezor scam guidance).

If you can afford more, see Safe 5 against Ledger Flex or the best crypto wallets in Canada.

What Has Happened With Trezor Safe 3 And Ledger Nano S Plus?

  • : Ledger published bulletins 023 to 025 on signing-review bypasses.
  • : Trezor disclosed Ledger Donjon's voltage-glitch bypass of some Safe 3 supply-chain countermeasures.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which One Is Better, Ledger Or Trezor?

I rank the Trezor Safe 7 first and the Ledger Flex third. At entry level, Trezor's Safe 3 is cheaper and open source, while Ledger's Nano S Plus has Canadian retail. See Ledger vs Trezor.

Is Ledger Nano S Plus Obsolete?

Ledger still sells it as a Nano Classic at USD 69. It works on desktop and Android only, and I found no end-of-support date.

Is The Ledger Nano S Still Safe?

I did not research the original Nano S. The Nano S Plus has an EAL6+ element, and Ledger's recent bulletins were fixed with updates. Keep firmware and apps current.

Can XRP Be Stored On Trezor?

I keep my ETH, SOL and XRP on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card. Trezor says it supports 1000s of coins and tokens, but XRP is not named on the pages I sourced, so check its coin list. Ledger names XRP among its 500+ coins.

Which Is Cheaper, The Trezor Safe 3 Or The Ledger Nano S Plus?

Trezor Safe 3: USD 59. Ledger Nano S Plus: USD 69 (US shop).

Do The Trezor Safe 3 And The Ledger Nano S Plus Ship To Canada?

Trezor Safe 3: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller. Ledger Nano S Plus: yes: Ledger runs a Canadian storefront with CA$ pricing; authorised Canadian resellers include Canada Computers, Best Buy Canada, Amazon Canada.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!