In this review, we’ll compare two of Canada’s leading cryptocurrency exchanges, Netcoins and Shakepay, to determine which platform offers the best services to users. Both are legitimate, well-regulated Canadian options, Netcoins as a CSA Restricted Dealer backed by a publicly traded parent company, and Shakepay as a full CIRO-registered investment dealer since January 2025 with CIPF coverage on fiat. The decision comes down to coin range, fees, support and regulatory depth.
Netcoins Vs Shakepay: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, Netcoins is the better choice. Shakepay is best for the simplest way to buy Bitcoin and Ethereum with Interac.
How Do Netcoins And Shakepay Compare, Fact By Fact?
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
Netcoins Vs Shakepay: Master Spec Table
Netcoins
Shakepay
Winner
Company
Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.
Shakepay Inc., Montreal, launched 2015 by Jean Amiouny (CEO) and Roy Breidi (CTO). Over one million Canadians. Funding and staff count: Not published.
Depends
Regulation
CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.
CIRO investment dealer since 2025-01-08; AMF and all provinces. CSA list yes. FINTRAC M17065696 to 2027-10-30. CIPF covers cash, never crypto.
Shakepay
Assets
65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.
3: Bitcoin, Ethereum and USDC (USDC converts 1:1 to USD). Auto-swap converts some ERC-20 deposits. No order book. USDT as a tradable coin: Not verified.
Netcoins
Price
No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.
Spread, no commission: targets 0.5% to 2.0% over benchmark, up to 1.5% more in adverse conditions. Auto-swap fee 1.5% on BTC, 2% on others. No live quote available.
Depends
CAD In
Interac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.
Interac e-Transfer free, $5 to $10,000, available in minutes. Incoming wire is not listed on the fees page.
Netcoins
CAD Out
Interac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.
Interac e-Transfer free, $5 to $10,000; wire free, from $10,000 with no maximum, 1 to 2 working days.
Shakepay
Crypto In And Out
On-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.
On-chain BTC, ETH, USDC; USDC on ETH Mainnet, Base, Arbitrum, Polygon. BTC out free at normal speed (about 12 hours), fast about 10 minutes for a fee, min 0.00005 BTC. No Lightning or Liquid found.
Shakepay
Custody
Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.
Custodial. 80% minimum in cold storage at Coinbase Custody (US$320M insured), rest hot via Fireblocks and BitGo. Held in trust, separate from Shakepay's assets. No proof of reserves found.
Tie
Verification (KYC)
Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.
Photo ID, security selfie video, address; result by email in as little as a few minutes. Business KYC separate. SIN may be requested; standard-account rule: Not verified.
Depends
Account Types
Personal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.
Personal and business accounts. Status tiers Base, Bright and Blue (business accounts get fixed benefits). Joint, TFSA, RRSP: Not found.
Netcoins
Provinces
Registered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.
Card page says all 13 provinces and territories; registered with the AMF and all provincial regulators. Quebec is its home. French site and legal terms exist.
Tie
Extra Products
Not verified
Prepaid Visa card, BLOC credit line, CAD and USD interest, ShakingSats, Shakepay a friend, auto-swap, referral ($20 each after $100 invested). Recurring buys: Not verified.
Shakepay
Tax Tools
Not verified.
Request transaction history in Settings: two CSVs (crypto and cash) by email. Koinly imports them. No tax slips for crypto or card use.
Depends
App
iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.
Apple Canada 4.62 (24,349 ratings), Google Play 4.1 (13.5K reviews), 2026-10-01. Web app yes. 2FA yes. French UI and price alerts: Not verified.
Netcoins
Support
Phone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.
In-app and website chat, email help@shakepay.com. No phone support. Hours and French support: Not published.
What Are The Key Differences Between Netcoins And Shakepay?
Netcoins Vs Shakepay: Side By Side
Netcoins
Shakepay
Description
Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
Shakepay is the easiest way for Canadians to buy Bitcoin and Ethereum. Fast, free Interac funding and a simple app let you sign up and buy in minutes. It serves more than one million Canadians and is a CIRO-registered investment dealer, the same regulatory standard as bank-owned brokerages.
Coins
60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
Bitcoin, Ethereum and USDC (USDC is converted 1:1 to USD on arrival).
Fees
No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
No commission. Shakepay earns through a spread: it targets 0.5% to 2.0% over the benchmark price, and in adverse markets the spread can rise by up to 1.5% more. Interac e-Transfer in and out is free, normal-speed crypto withdrawals (about 12 hours) are free, fast ones carry a network fee. Foreign card spending costs 3%, 1.5% or 0% by status.
Pros
Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
Free Interac funding and withdrawals
All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
Owned by a publicly traded company
OTC desk for large trades
CIRO investment dealer since January 2025, CIPF covers cash balances only
Fast, free Interac e-Transfer in and out
Free crypto withdrawals at normal speed, Shakepay pays the network fee
ShakingSats: free sats for shaking your phone, up to 500 a day at Blue status
Prepaid Visa card with bitcoin cashback up to 1.5%, no annual fee, no credit check
Bitcoin-backed line of credit (BLOC) from 9.5% APR, up to $50,000
Interest on CAD and USD balances
Joined Interac e-Transfer as a Participant in July 2026
Cons
Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
Wire fees under the free thresholds
Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
Only Bitcoin, Ethereum and USDC
Spread can reach 2.0% and more in stressed markets
Custodial: you do not hold the keys until you withdraw
No limit orders or order book
Crypto is not covered by CIPF
Interac e-Transfer capped at $10,000 per transfer
Card spend, bills and ATM terms are limited by status
Security
Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
Custodial. At least 80% of customer crypto is in cold storage with Coinbase Custody Trust Company, the rest in hot wallets run by Fireblocks and BitGo. Coinbase Custody carries US$320 million of insurance and Fireblocks US$30 million. CIPF protects cash held with Shakepay, not crypto. 2FA and biometric login.
Methods To Buy
Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
Fund with Interac e-Transfer, USDC or Ethereum deposits, or Shakepay a friend, then buy in the app. Wire transfers are listed for withdrawals only (from $10,000).
App
Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
iOS and Android app plus a web version. Apple Canada 4.62 (24,349 ratings), Google Play 4.1 (13.5K reviews) on 2026-10-01.
Account Limits
Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.
Interac e-Transfer in and out: $5 to $10,000 per transfer. Wire out: from $10,000, no maximum. Bitcoin withdrawal minimum 0.00005 BTC. Shakepay a friend: up to $999. Card: $5,000 per transaction and per day, $50,000 per month.
How Do You Fund And Cash Out Netcoins And Shakepay In Canada?
Netcoins: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not verified
Not published
typically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wire
Free over CAD 3,000; under that Not published
Not verified
Not published
Not published
Crypto deposit
Free
Not published
Not published
Network speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not published
Not published
Not published
Bank wire
CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000
Not published
Not published
Not published
Shakepay: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
$5
$10,000
minutes (some banks delay up to an hour)
USDC deposit
Free
No minimum
No maximum
15 confirmations, about 4 minutes
Ethereum deposit
Free
No minimum
No maximum
15 confirmations, about 4 minutes
Shakepay a friend
Free
No minimum
$999
instant
Shakepay: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
$5
$10,000
minutes
Wire transfer
Free
$10,000
No maximum
1 to 2 working days
Neither accepts: paypal.
Not verified Shakepay joined Interac e-Transfer as a Participant in July 2026, so e-Transfer now runs on its own connection. Bank-side sending limits and name matching still apply. Weekend timing: Not published.
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins And Shakepay?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
Netcoins Buy
Netcoins Round Trip
Shakepay Buy
Shakepay Round Trip
CAD 100
Not published
Not published
$0.50 to $2.00
$1.00 to $4.00
CAD 500
Not published
Not published
$2.50 to $10.00
$5.00 to $20.00
CAD 1,000
Not published
Not published
$5.00 to $20.00
$10.00 to $40.00
CAD 10,000
Not published
Not published
$50.00 to $200.00
$100.00 to $400.00
Netcoins:Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Shakepay: Published target band of 0.5% to 2.0% over the benchmark price, which may widen by up to 1.5% in adverse conditions (help article checked 2026-10-03). Neither publishes a maker and taker schedule because there is no order book: the spread is the fee. If cost matters most, NDAX (flat 0.20%) or Kraken Pro are cheaper places to buy in Canada. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do Netcoins And Shakepay Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
Netcoins Only
Staking:Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.
Shakepay Only
Shakepay Card (prepaid Visa): Issued by Peoples Trust Company, no annual fee, no credit check, free to get once fully verified. Cashback 1% at Base and Bright, 1.5% at Blue; foreign fee 3%, 1.5% or 0%. Limits $5,000 per transaction and day, $50,000 per month. Apple Pay and Google Pay supported.
BLOC (bitcoin-backed line of credit): Borrow up to $50,000 against bitcoin through Shakepay Credit Inc. APR 11.5% Base, 10.5% Bright, 9.5% Blue. No fixed payments while LTV is 50% or lower. Terms and margin levels are shown in-app. Loan proceeds may not buy crypto. Margin notice 80%, liquidation 90% with a 3% fee and a CAD 100 minimum: Not verified on a primary page.
Interest and USD: CAD interest 1.5% Base, 2% Bright, 3% Blue; savings 1.5%, 2% and 5% (Blue, first $100,000). The crypto page advertises 3.5% on USD. Rates are variable and not guaranteed.
ShakingSats: Shake your phone once a day for sats. Cap by status: 10 sats a day at Base, up to 100 at Bright, up to 500 at Blue, growing with your streak.
Referral: You and the friend each get $20 when the friend invests $100 in crypto within 30 days.
What Happens To Your Money If Netcoins Or Shakepay Fails?
Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.
Shakepay: CIPF covers the cash and USD you hold at Shakepay, advertised as up to $1 million, but crypto is explicitly not covered. Customer crypto is held in trust with Coinbase Custody (at least 80% cold) and Fireblocks and BitGo hot wallets, and Shakepay's own risk statement warns that insurance may be inadequate and points users to withdraw to a private wallet. A hack, a custodian failure or a freeze can still hit crypto balances. BLOC adds liquidation risk if bitcoin falls, and Shakepay Credit operates under time-limited exemptive relief that runs three years from April 9, 2026, not full registration.
How Are Netcoins And Shakepay Treated For Tax In Canada?
Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.
Shakepay: Selling crypto, swapping it (including auto-swap), spending it with the card or repaying with it are dispositions; card cashback in bitcoin is income when received and your cost base starts at that value. Shakepay emails two CSVs (crypto and cash) but issues no tax slips, so you need Koinly or similar.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, Netcoins Or Shakepay?
Choose Netcoins If
You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices
Choose Shakepay If
You want the simplest Interac-funded way to buy Bitcoin or Ethereum from a CIRO-registered firm.
You want a bitcoin cashback card or a bitcoin-backed credit line in the same app.
You will keep the account active each month to reach Bright or Blue and lower the card and loan costs.
You do not need many coins, limit orders or Lightning.
What Are The Main Differences Between Netcoins And Shakepay?
Netcoins is a Canadian crypto platform run by Netcoins Inc., with the BC Securities Commission as its principal regulator. It is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer and FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as a registered money services business through October 2027. It pitches itself at beginners who want to buy, sell and hold crypto in CAD without learning an order book.
Shakepay is a Montreal-based app for buying Bitcoin, Ethereum and USDC with CAD. It was admitted to CIRO as an Investment Dealer Member effective January 8, 2025, it is on the CSA authorized list, and FINTRAC lists it as a registered money services business. It started life as a simple Bitcoin app, and it still feels like one.
The short version: choose Netcoins for a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration, and Shakepay for free Interac both ways and the simplest app for Bitcoin and Ethereum. The sections below show where each one wins and where it does not, using the numbers I could verify.
Netcoins Vs Shakepay At A Glance
Detail
Netcoins
Shakepay
Trading Cost
No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published)
No commission; spread targeted at 0.5% to 2.0% over the benchmark price
CAD Deposits
Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published)
Interac e-Transfer free ($5 to $10,000), wire free (from $10,000)
CAD Withdrawals
Interac e-Transfer free (cash withdrawal), bank wire $50 under $25,000
Interac e-Transfer free ($5 to $10,000), wire free
Coins
65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only)
CSA list, CIRO investment dealer member since January 8, 2025, FINTRAC MSB
Staking
Not verified in my sources
No crypto staking
App Ratings (Canada)
Not checked
Apple 4.62 (24,349 ratings), Google Play 4.1
Sign-Up Bonus
No sign-up bonus on file
Referral: both get $20 when you invest $100 within 30 days
How Do Netcoins And Shakepay Compare On Fees?
Netcoins Fees
Netcoins does not add a separate trading fee. Its fee page says the price you are quoted already includes Netcoins' spread, and it does not publish what that spread is. That makes the real cost hard to compare with a flat-fee platform, because you only see it by comparing the quote against a market price at the moment you trade. My advice is simple: price the same coin and amount on two platforms before you buy. On the cash side, Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Bank wire deposits are free over $3,000, and wire withdrawals under $25,000 carry a $50 processing fee.
Shakepay Fees
Shakepay is commission-free and earns through the spread. It targets a spread of 0.5% to 2.0% over the benchmark price and says it may add up to a further 1.5% in adverse conditions, so the worst case is higher than the headline. Bitcoin withdrawals at normal speed (about 12 hours) are free because Shakepay covers the network fee. Fast withdrawals (about 10 minutes) carry fees, and the minimum is 0.00005 BTC.
I cannot declare a fee winner here. Netcoins and Shakepay does not publish a single comparable trading cost, so the honest answer is to check a live quote on both apps for the same coin and amount before you buy.
Which Is Better For Funding And Withdrawing CAD?
Netcoins
Interac e-Transfer is free both ways, which covers most Canadians. Wires are the expensive route: deposits are free over $3,000 (I could not verify the fee under that amount) and withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50. If you move small amounts, stay on Interac. If you move large amounts, the wire fee is a rounding error and the speed can be worth it.
Shakepay
This is one of Shakepay's best features: Interac e-Transfer is free in and out, with a $5 minimum and a $10,000 maximum, and funds arrive in minutes. Wires are free too (some banks charge you), but start at $10,000 and take one to two working days. Few Canadian platforms make cashing out free, so this alone saves regular traders money.
Both let you fund by Interac e-Transfer, and cash-out costs are the same on the published schedules, so funding is a tie.
Which Has More Coins?
Netcoins Coins
Netcoins lists 65 coins on its official fee page, and one of them, Bittensor, is trade-only. That is a mid-sized menu: wider than the Bitcoin-and-Ethereum apps, narrower than the biggest global exchanges. Its restricted dealer terms also apply an investment limit over a rolling 12 months to certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for lower-risk assets listed in the decision. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so check your own limit in the app.
Shakepay Coins
Three coins: Bitcoin, Ethereum and USDC (which auto-converts to USD 1:1). There is no altcoin menu, no staking and no OTC desk. For people who only want Bitcoin and Ethereum that is a feature, not a flaw.
Netcoins has the bigger menu. Netcoins: 65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only). Shakepay: 3: Bitcoin, Ethereum and USDC. If you want altcoins, that settles it.
Which Is Safer?
Netcoins Safety
Netcoins is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer, with amended decisions dated September 16, 2026, September 29, 2025, October 6, 2023 and March 24, 2022 after its original decision of September 29, 2021. It is not on the banned list. FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as registered with an expiry of October 15, 2027. The September 2026 amendment added Solana to the assets exempt from the investment limit. I did not find a verified custody or insurance dollar figure, so I do not quote one.
Shakepay Safety
As a CIRO Investment Dealer Member, Shakepay sits in the top regulatory tier. USD funds are protected by CIPF up to $1M, while crypto is not covered. FINTRAC lists Shakepay Inc. as registered through October 30, 2027. Shakepay Credit Inc., its Bitcoin-backed credit arm, received its own CSA decision on April 9, 2026.
Shakepay sits in the higher regulatory tier, as a CIRO investment dealer member, while Netcoins is a CSA-registered restricted dealer. For a first-time buyer, that difference matters more than a small fee gap. Either way, crypto is not covered by deposit insurance.
Which App Is Easier To Use?
Netcoins App And Support
Netcoins keeps the experience simple: pick a coin, see a quote, buy. That suits beginners, although it gives you no charts or order book to work with. I have not run a support test on Netcoins that I would stand behind in print, so I will not rank it on support here.
Shakepay App And Support
Shakepay's app is beginner-friendly and rated 4.62 on the Canadian App Store from 24,349 ratings and 4.1 on Google Play. On support, when we tested it we received a reply in under 24 hours, and customer reviews consistently rank it among the friendliest in Canadian crypto. There is no phone channel.
I cannot compare store ratings, because I have no verified Canadian rating for Netcoins. Try both onboarding flows, which take a few minutes, and keep the one that feels clearer.
What Does A $1,000 Purchase Cost On Netcoins And Shakepay?
This is plain arithmetic on the published percentages above, not a quote. Real prices move with the market, and platforms that build the spread into the price add a cost you only see by comparing quotes.
Cost Of A $1,000 Buy (From Published Fees)
Platform
Published Cost On $1,000
Netcoins
not calculable, because the spread is built into the quote and is not published
Shakepay
$5.00 to $20.00 in spread (0.5% to 2.0%), more in adverse conditions
How Do Netcoins And Shakepay Compare On Limits And Restrictions?
Netcoins Limits
Netcoins applies a rolling 12-month investment limit on purchases and sales for certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for assets listed in the CSA decision. Solana joined the exception list on September 16, 2026. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so your own limit is shown in the app. Bank wires under $25,000 cost $50 to withdraw.
Shakepay Limits
Shakepay's Interac e-Transfer runs from $5 to $10,000, wires start at $10,000, and Bitcoin withdrawals have a 0.00005 BTC minimum. It has no staking and no derivatives. It also auto-swaps unsupported ERC-20 deposits at 1.5% on BTC and 2% on other currencies.
What Extras Do Netcoins And Shakepay Offer?
Netcoins Extras
Netcoins is a simple buy, sell and hold service. I could not verify staking, cards or bonuses on its official pages, so I do not credit it with any. If a feature matters to you, confirm it in the app first.
Shakepay Extras
Shakepay's referral gives both people $20 when you invest $100 within 30 days. It also offers an interest product on USD and Shakepay Credit Inc., a Bitcoin-backed credit product with its own CSA decision. Neither is staking.
Can You Use Both Netcoins And Shakepay?
Yes, and plenty of Canadians do. Nothing stops you holding an account on each. A common setup is to buy on whichever platform quotes the better price for the coin you want, then move long-term holdings to a wallet you control. If you split money across platforms, keep a simple record of every buy, sell and transfer. The CRA treats crypto as a commodity, whether your gains count as business income or capital gains depends on your situation, and clean records make tax time far easier. Transfers between your own accounts are not sales, but the fees on them can still matter.
What Are The Pros And Cons Of Netcoins And Shakepay?
Netcoins Pros And Cons
Pros
On the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer
Free Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals
65 coins on the official fee page
No separate trading fee, just a spread inside the quote
FINTRAC MSB registration valid to October 2027
Cons
Spread percentage is not published
Wire withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50
Rolling 12-month investment limit applies to certain investors
No advanced trading tools
Shakepay Pros And Cons
Pros
Free Interac e-Transfer deposits and withdrawals
Normal-speed Bitcoin withdrawals are free
CIRO investment dealer member
Simple app rated 4.62
$20 referral bonus after investing $100
Cons
Only three coins
Spread of 0.5% to 2.0% can reach higher in adverse conditions
No staking and no OTC desk
No phone support
Who Wins Each Category Between Netcoins And Shakepay?
Here is the scorecard in one place. A winner is named only when both sides have a comparable verified number. Where one side does not publish it, the answer is Depends, and where the gap is too small to matter, it is a Tie.
Category Winners
Category
Winner
Headline Trading Cost
Depends
CAD Cash-Out Cost
Tie
Coin Menu
Netcoins
Regulation Tier
Shakepay
Canadian App Store Rating
Depends
What Should You Do Next?
Decide what matters most to you: lowest cost, the widest coin menu, the strongest regulation or the simplest app.
Open the platform that wins your category and read its fee page in full before you deposit.
Start with a small first buy and a small test withdrawal, so you learn the flow with little at risk.
Turn on two-factor authentication, and move long-term holdings to a wallet you control.
Who Should Choose Netcoins, And Who Should Choose Shakepay?
Choose Netcoins if you want a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer. Its strongest point: on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer.
Choose Shakepay if you want free Interac both ways and the simplest app for Bitcoin and Ethereum. It is a CIRO investment dealer member. Its strongest point: free Interac e-Transfer deposits and withdrawals.
What Changed For Netcoins And Shakepay In October 2026?
The CSA amended Netcoins' decision, adding Solana to the assets exempt from the rolling investment limit.
The CSA issued a decision for Shakepay Credit Inc., its crypto-backed lending platform.
The CSA issued an earlier amended decision for Netcoins.
Shakepay was admitted to CIRO as an Investment Dealer Member, with a CSA decision the same day.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Netcoins Or Shakepay Better For Beginners?
I cannot compare store ratings, because I have no verified Canadian rating for Netcoins. Try both onboarding flows, which take a few minutes, and keep the one that feels clearer.
Beginners should also weigh regulation and cash-out costs, covered above.
Which Is Cheaper, Netcoins Or Shakepay?
I cannot declare a fee winner here. Netcoins and Shakepay does not publish a single comparable trading cost, so the honest answer is to check a live quote on both apps for the same coin and amount before you buy.
Shakepay: CSA list, CIRO investment dealer member since January 8, 2025, FINTRAC MSB.
Does Netcoins Or Shakepay Have More Coins?
Netcoins has the bigger menu. Netcoins: 65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only). Shakepay: 3: Bitcoin, Ethereum and USDC. If you want altcoins, that settles it.
Can I Fund Netcoins And Shakepay With Interac E-Transfer?
Netcoins: Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published).
Pick Netcoins for a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. Pick Shakepay for free Interac both ways and the simplest app for Bitcoin and Ethereum.
Do Netcoins And Shakepay Have Limit Orders?
Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested). Shakepay: No: the app shows one buy and one sell price refreshed every 30 seconds, and no limit order tool is described.
Which Coins Can You Buy On Netcoins And Shakepay?
Netcoins: 60+ coins incl. BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, USDC Shakepay: BTC, ETH and USDC
Is The Spread The Fee On Netcoins And Shakepay?
Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee. Shakepay: Shakepay charges no commission; its target spread of 0.5% to 2.0%, up to 1.5% more in bad markets, is the cost.
Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On Netcoins Or Shakepay?
Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto. Shakepay: CIPF protects cash held with Shakepay but never crypto.
Are Netcoins And Shakepay Available In Every Province?
Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories. Shakepay: All 13 provinces and territories per the card page.
Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On Netcoins And Shakepay?
Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes. Shakepay: Not published; transfers are listed as available in minutes.
What Is The Minimum Buy On Netcoins And Shakepay?
Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10. Shakepay: Interac e-Transfer minimum is $5; the app's minimum purchase size: Not published.
Can A Business Use Netcoins Or Shakepay?
Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered. Shakepay: Yes, business accounts exist with their own verification.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.