Both are registered Canadian dealers with free Interac funding. Netcoins hides its cost in an unpublished spread. Robinhood shows a flat fee that rises from 0.50% to 0.95% on November 1.
Netcoins Vs Robinhood: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, Netcoins is the better choice. Robinhood is best for former Bitbuy and Coinsquare customers who want a flat, simple fee.
How Do Netcoins And Robinhood Compare, Fact By Fact?
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
Netcoins Vs Robinhood: Master Spec Table
Netcoins
Robinhood
Winner
Company
Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.
Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd., Toronto, wholly owned by Robinhood Markets, Inc. (public); WonderFi deal closed June 1, 2026. Founders, staff: Not published.
Depends
Regulation
CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.
CIRO investment dealer and CSA-registered (Decision Oct 11, 2024, held by Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd.). FINTRAC MSB M21853355 (expiry shown 2026-08-21, renewal to check). CIPF: CAD only.
Robinhood
Assets
65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.
50+ coins, CAD pairs only (no coin-to-coin swaps). USDC available; USDT not offered to Canadians.
Netcoins
Price
No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.
0.50% per trade through Oct 31, 2026, then 0.95% from Nov 1, 2026 (CCML schedule dated 2026-10-01). Robinhood keeps no spread. Min fee CAD 0.01.
Depends
CAD In
Interac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.
Interac e-Transfer free from Robinhood, minutes; domestic wire 1 to 3 business days (fee shown in app).
Netcoins
CAD Out
Interac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.
Interac e-Transfer free from Robinhood; wire fees shown in app.
Tie
Crypto In And Out
On-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.
Send and receive on-chain from day one; no Robinhood fee, network fee applies and is shown first. Lightning, Liquid: not offered/Not verified.
Tie
Custody
Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.
Custodial, same custody as before the move (CCML, BitGo for staking). Crime insurance claimed, amount Not published. No proof of reserves found.
Tie
Verification (KYC)
Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.
Existing Bitbuy or Coinsquare KYC carries over; new users: Not verified. SIN, selfie, clearing time Not verified.
Depends
Account Types
Personal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.
Personal; corporate and wealth clients are handled by a relationship manager. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.
Netcoins
Provinces
Registered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.
Limits table covers all provinces and territories; BC, AB, MB and QC have no cap for Retail and Eligible investors. French UI Not verified.
Tie
Extra Products
Not verified
Staking on ETH and SOL 'coming soon' (from about CAD 1). USD via OTC desk. Referral: Not verified.
Netcoins
Tax Tools
Not verified.
Statements and annual tax documents downloadable; CSV and cost basis Not verified.
Depends
App
iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.
iOS Canada 2.90 (97 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web, French UI, price alerts: price alerts exist in the help centre.
Netcoins
Support
Phone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.
Email support@robinhood.com, advertised 24/7 support. Phone and French Not verified.
What Are The Key Differences Between Netcoins And Robinhood?
Netcoins Vs Robinhood: Side By Side
Netcoins
Robinhood
Description
Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
Robinhood Canada is the Canadian crypto service of Robinhood Markets, built on the platform of Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd. after Robinhood closed its WonderFi purchase on June 1, 2026. Former Bitbuy and Coinsquare customers are being moved into the Robinhood app.
Coins
60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
50+ cryptocurrencies, including BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL, DOGE, ADA, AVAX, XLM, LINK, SHIB, LTC, PEPE, AAVE, BONK and WIF. A few former Bitbuy and Coinsquare coins were not carried over at launch.
Fees
No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
0.50% of the CAD trade value on every buy and sell, minimum CAD 0.01, through October 31, 2026, then 0.95% from November 1, 2026. Robinhood says it receives none of the spread. No Robinhood fee on Interac e-Transfer deposits or withdrawals, or on crypto transfers (network fees apply).
Pros
Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
Free Interac funding and withdrawals
All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
Owned by a publicly traded company
OTC desk for large trades
CIRO-registered investment dealer (Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd.)
Flat percentage fee with no hidden Robinhood spread
Free Interac e-Transfer with Robinhood (bank may charge)
Send and receive crypto to external wallets with no Robinhood fee
No inactivity or account maintenance fees
CAD balances covered by CIPF within limits
Cons
Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
Wire fees under the free thresholds
Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
Fee rises from 0.50% to 0.95% on November 1, 2026
Market orders only at launch; no limit orders, no coin-to-coin swaps
Staking was announced as coming soon, not yet live
Crypto is not covered by CIPF
Robinhood Canada iOS app rated 2.9 from only 97 ratings
Reddit reports of slow Interac funding and support (lead, not verified)
Security
Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
Custodial storage with crime insurance against theft and cyber breaches (amount not published), and Robinhood says it does not lend or leverage customer crypto. CAD held in segregated accounts at a Canadian bank and covered by CIPF within limits. CIPF does not cover crypto.
Methods To Buy
Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
Interac e-Transfer (minutes) and domestic CAD wire (1 to 3 business days), plus crypto deposits. USD only through the OTC desk at launch.
App
Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
Robinhood: Buy and Sell Crypto on Apple Canada rated 2.90 from 97 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play Not verified.
Account Limits
Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.
Net purchase limits on restricted coins over a rolling 12 months: Basic investor CAD 5,000; Retail CAD 30,000 (none in BC, AB, MB, QC); Eligible CAD 100,000 (none in BC, AB, MB, QC); Accredited none. BTC, ETH, LTC, BCH, SOL and USDC are exempt.
How Do You Fund And Cash Out Netcoins And Robinhood In Canada?
Netcoins: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not verified
Not published
typically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wire
Free over CAD 3,000; under that Not published
Not verified
Not published
Not published
Crypto deposit
Free
Not published
Not published
Network speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not published
Not published
Not published
Bank wire
CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000
Not published
Not published
Not published
Robinhood: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free from Robinhood (bank may charge)
Shown in app
Shown in app
typically within minutes
Domestic CAD wire
Shown in app
Shown in app
Shown in app
1 to 3 business days
Robinhood: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free from Robinhood (bank may charge)
Shown in app
Shown in app
typically within minutes
Domestic CAD wire
Shown in app
Shown in app
Shown in app
1 to 3 business days
Neither accepts: paypal.
Not verified Fees, minimums and maximums are shown only inside the app. Bank limits apply.
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins And Robinhood?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
Netcoins Buy
Netcoins Round Trip
Robinhood Buy
Robinhood Round Trip
CAD 100
Not published
Not published
$0.50 to $0.95
$1.00 to $1.90
CAD 500
Not published
Not published
$2.50 to $4.75
$5.00 to $9.50
CAD 1,000
Not published
Not published
$5.00 to $9.50
$10.00 to $19.00
CAD 10,000
Not published
Not published
$50.00 to $95.00
$100.00 to $190.00
Netcoins:Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Robinhood: 0.50% per order through Oct 31, 2026, 0.95% from Nov 1, 2026 (CCML fee schedule effective 2026-10-01); Robinhood says it keeps no spread. Slippage within 1% on buys and 5% on sells passes to the client. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do Netcoins And Robinhood Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
Netcoins Only
Staking:Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.
Robinhood Only
Staking (announced): ETH and SOL staking from about CAD 1, listed as coming soon; CCML's schedule shows a staking fee of up to 30% of rewards on the former Coinsquare platform.
OTC desk: USD deposits and large trades go through the OTC desk at launch, with a quoted spread of 0.5% to 1.85%.
Coinsquare Trade: Request-for-quote product on the Coinsquare platform with a disclosed spread of 0.5% to 1.85%.
What Happens To Your Money If Netcoins Or Robinhood Fails?
Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.
Robinhood: Robinhood Canada runs on Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd., a CIRO investment dealer, so it is under dealer rules and CIRO supervision. CIPF covers CAD balances within limits but never crypto. Customer crypto stays in CCML's custody arrangement with crime insurance of an unpublished amount, and no proof of reserves was found. If the firm failed or was hacked, uninsured crypto would be an unsecured claim. The platform is in a migration, so features such as limit orders and swaps are still missing.
How Are Netcoins And Robinhood Treated For Tax In Canada?
Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.
Robinhood: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling for CAD is, and so is any later swap or spend. Robinhood gives statements and annual tax documents for past Bitbuy and Coinsquare activity; CSV and CRA-ready exports were not verified.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, Netcoins Or Robinhood?
Choose Netcoins If
You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices
Choose Robinhood If
You want one flat percentage fee and no Robinhood spread (0.50% to Oct 31, 2026, then 0.95%)
You are a former Bitbuy or Coinsquare customer moving to the new app
You are fine with market orders only for now
Is Netcoins Or Robinhood Better For Canadians In 2026?
Neither is in my top 10, so this is a close call on facts alone. I lean Robinhood if you want to see your fee before you buy, and Netcoins if you want a longer-registered dealer with a support line. In my ranking the closest registered alternative to Netcoins is Newton, sixth at 7.9 and a CIRO dealer since March 2026. My Netcoins review and Robinhood review give more on each.
Which Costs Less When You Actually Trade?
Robinhood is the only one of the two where I can write a number. It charges 0.50% through October 31 (CAD 5 on CAD 1,000) and 0.95% from November 1 (CAD 9.50). It says it keeps no spread. Netcoins says no separate fee, and the price it quotes includes a spread it does not publish, so I cannot honestly put a dollar figure on a CAD 1,000 trade there.
Funding is free by Interac at both. Netcoins also takes free bank wires over CAD 3,000 and charges CAD 50 for a wire out under CAD 25,000. Robinhood's wire fees are shown in the app. My advice is to compare the preview screens before confirming on either, and to treat an unpublished spread as a cost until you have seen it.
Is An Unpublished Spread Worse Than A Published Fee Rise?
It depends on your habits. A fee rise from 0.50% to 0.95% is annoying, but it is public, it is dated and you can plan around it. An unpublished spread can be better or worse than 0.95% depending on the coin and the day, and you only learn the number after the fact. For a frequent trader the transparency is worth something.
Robinhood has its own hidden cost. Slippage within 1% on buys and 5% on sells passes to the client, and only market orders are available for now. Netcoins offers no advanced charting or pro order types either, per the original notes I have not retested.
Which Is Safer For Canadians?
Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer with the BCSC as principal regulator, and its latest amended decision is dated 16 September 2026. It holds FINTRAC MSB registration M15560893 to 15 October 2027. It is not a CIRO member, and CIPF never covers crypto. Most crypto sits in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks hot wallets and multi-sig, insured at an unpublished amount, and no proof of reserves was found.
Robinhood Canada runs on Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd., a CIRO investment dealer. CIPF covers CAD balances within limits and never crypto. Crime insurance is claimed at an unpublished amount. On structure Robinhood has the stronger regulatory layer, while Netcoins has the longer history in Canada.
Which Has More Coins And Services?
Netcoins lists 65 coins on its fee page, one of them trade-only, and added Solana to its permitted list on 16 September 2026. Robinhood lists 50+ coins against CAD only with no swaps. Netcoins adds staking, lending and an OTC desk. Robinhood has staking on ETH and SOL listed as coming soon.
Netcoins Vs Robinhood: Dated Records
Date
Record
Where It Comes From
11 Oct 2024
Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd.: CSA decision
CSA authorized list
1 Jul 2026
Robinhood crypto trading launches in Canada
The Logic
16 Sep 2026
Netcoins: amended CSA decision, Solana added to the permitted list
CSA authorized list
1 Nov 2026
Robinhood Canada fee moves from 0.50% to 0.95%
CCML fee schedule
Who Should Choose Netcoins, And Who Should Choose Robinhood?
Choose Netcoins if you want a broker app with 60-plus coins, free Interac funding, phone support and a long-registered dealer, and you can accept an unpublished spread. Open a Netcoins account if that is you. Choose Robinhood if you want a flat fee with no spread, a CIRO dealer and you can live with market orders only. I have no sign-up link for Robinhood.
What Has Happened With Netcoins And Robinhood?
: Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd. received its CSA decision.
: Robinhood crypto trading launched in Canada.
: Netcoins received an amended CSA decision and Solana was added to its permitted list.
: CCML's fee schedule took effect, showing 0.50% through October 31 and 0.95% from November 1.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did Netcoins Drop Its 0.5% Fee?
Yes. Netcoins now states no separate trading fee and an all-in price. The spread percentage is not published on its fee page, and the old 0.5% flat fee is gone.
What Does Netcoins Charge To Withdraw Crypto?
Flat per-coin fees, 0.00014 BTC and 0.003 ETH among them, with minimums of twice the fee. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free, and a bank wire out costs CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.
Is Netcoins Owned By A Public Company?
Yes. Netcoins Inc. is owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets, which changed its name in 2026. Netcoins was founded in 2014 and is based in Vancouver.
Does Netcoins Offer Staking Or Lending?
Staking is offered on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins. Crypto lending lets you borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding, though rates and loan-to-value were not verified.
What Customer Support Does Each Offer?
Netcoins offers phone, email and chat support seven days a week. Robinhood Canada has a help centre, and Reddit reports of slow Interac funding and support are a lead I could not verify.
Do Netcoins And Robinhood Have Limit Orders?
Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested). Robinhood: No; market orders in CAD pairs only at launch.
Which Coins Can You Buy On Netcoins And Robinhood?
Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee. Robinhood: Robinhood says it keeps no spread, so the stated 0.50% (0.95% from Nov 1, 2026) is its fee.
Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On Netcoins Or Robinhood?
Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto. Robinhood: CIPF covers CAD balances within limits, never crypto.
Are Netcoins And Robinhood Available In Every Province?
Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories. Robinhood: Available across provinces and territories, with net purchase limits that vary by province.
Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On Netcoins And Robinhood?
Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes. Robinhood: Not verified; Interac e-Transfer is typically available within minutes.
What Is The Minimum Buy On Netcoins And Robinhood?
Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10. Robinhood: Minimum fee CAD 0.01 per order; minimum buy Not published.
Can A Business Use Netcoins Or Robinhood?
Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered. Robinhood: Corporate and wealth clients are served through a relationship manager.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.