Netcoins and Kraken are among the top-tier names in the cryptocurrency exchange world, with the former catering primarily to Canadians, and the latter having a global footprint. Their differences range from user interface design to fee structures, making this comparison particularly useful for Canadian users.
Netcoins Vs Kraken: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, Kraken is the better choice (it wins on my ranking).
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
Netcoins Vs Kraken: Master Spec Table
Netcoins
Kraken
Winner
Company
Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.
Payward Canada Inc. (Kraken), part of Payward, Inc. Founded 2011 by Jesse Powell and co-founders. Private, IPO filing reported. HQ reported moved to Cheyenne, Wyoming (2025). Staff not sourced.
Depends
Regulation
CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.
CSA Restricted Dealer, OSC principal regulator (Decision 2025-04-01). FINTRAC MSB M19343731, expires 2028-08-25. Not a CIRO member. Client assets not covered by CIPF.
Tie
Assets
65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.
About 490 tickers for Canadians after Kraken's restriction list (derived estimate, not official). Order book on Kraken Pro. USDT, DAI, PYUSD, USDS, RLUSD, EURC, PAXG and 100+ more barred.
Kraken
Price
No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.
Pro spot 0.40% maker / 0.80% taker at the base tier, falling with volume or balances. Instant Buy 1% fee (1.5% custom orders) plus a spread. Kraken+ waives the fee up to USD 10,000 a month.
Depends
CAD In
Interac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.
Free: Interac e-Transfer (min CAD 5, max CAD 10,000) and domestic wire (min CAD 100). Debit card 0.25 CAD + 3.75%, SWIFT CAD 3, bill pay 0.25% (max CAD 30).
Tie
CAD Out
Interac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.
Interac e-Transfer withdrawal costs CAD 10 (max CAD 10,000 per transaction). Other CAD withdrawal methods and fees were not retrievable.
Netcoins
Crypto In And Out
On-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.
On-chain, Lightning (0 + 0.1%, min 0.00001 BTC), and many networks per asset. Bitcoin network fee 0.000015 BTC with a 0.000218 BTC minimum. Kraken sets the fee per coin.
Kraken
Custody
Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.
Custodial. Proof of Reserves by an independent accountant, snapshot 2026-06-30: BTC 102.9%, ETH 100.5%, SOL 100.6%, XRP 102.3%, ADA 100.3%. Not CIPF protected. Insurance figure not published.
Tie
Verification (KYC)
Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.
Name, DOB, phone, address, occupation, valid ID, plus proof of address or face photo where required. SSN or Tax ID is for US clients only. Investor questionnaire required. Clearing time not published.
Depends
Account Types
Personal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.
Personal account. Kraken has business, trust and IRA account types globally; Canadian availability of business accounts not verified. No TFSA or RRSP. Joint accounts are not offered.
Netcoins
Provinces
Registered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.
All provinces and territories, registered with the OSC and every provincial regulator. Net purchase caps outside AB, BC, MB, QC, SK. French UI not verified.
Tie
Extra Products
Not verified
Staking (not GRT, FLR, Opt-In Rewards or Babylon), recurring buys, Kraken+ subscription. No margin, derivatives, xStocks or USDG for Canadians.
Netcoins
Tax Tools
Not verified.
Ledger and trade history CSV export, plus a Koinly link (25% discount for all clients, Kraken+ gets a free report up to 800 transactions). Koinly can output the CRA Schedule 3.
Depends
App
iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.
iOS 4.62 (5,662 ratings, Canada store), Google Play 4.2 (about 55.1K reviews, global). Web app and Kraken Pro yes. 2FA yes. French UI not verified.
Netcoins
Support
Phone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.
24/7 messaging and email forms, with voice support in the app for select situations. Phone is not a general channel. French support not verified.
What Are The Key Differences Between Netcoins And Kraken?
Netcoins Vs Kraken: Side By Side
Netcoins
Kraken
Description
Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
Kraken is a Canada-friendly, US-based crypto exchange operating since 2011. In April 2025 it became a registered Restricted Dealer in Canada, valid in every province and territory. It has a strong reputation for security and offers a wide range of coins, with CAD trading pairs that spare Canadians foreign exchange fees.
Coins
60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
About 490 tickers after Kraken's own Canada restrictions list is removed (derived from its public API, not an official count). USDT, DAI, PYUSD, USDS, RLUSD, EURC and PAXG are among the assets Canadians cannot hold or trade. CAD pairs on the majors.
Fees
No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
Free Interac e-Transfer deposits, CAD 10 to withdraw by e-Transfer | Instant Buy: 1% trading fee on instant and recurring trades (1.5% on custom orders) plus a spread, the pricier way to buy | Kraken Pro: maker/taker 0.40% / 0.80% at the base tier, falling with 30-day volume or assets on platform, among the cheapest ways for Canadians to trade | Kraken+ waives the fee on Buy/Sell/Convert up to USD 10,000 a month, but spread still applies | Debit card deposits cost 0.25 CAD + 3.75%
Pros
Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
Free Interac funding and withdrawals
All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
Owned by a publicly traded company
OTC desk for large trades
Registered Restricted Dealer across all of Canada since April 2025
Free Interac e-Transfer deposits
CAD trading pairs, no FX fees on majors
Wide range of coins
Good for beginners via Instant Buy, with pro-grade tools on Kraken Pro
Staking available (ETH can be staked, with some exclusions)
Published proof of reserves with a third-party accountant
Never hacked in over a decade of operation
Cons
Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
Wire fees under the free thresholds
Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
Instant Buy fees are high, so use Kraken Pro for anything beyond small purchases
Client assets are not covered by the Canadian Investor Protection Fund, a condition every user must acknowledge
No margin, no derivatives and no xStocks for Canadians
Many altcoins and every USD stablecoin are restricted for Canadians
CAD 10 Interac withdrawal fee
Customer support can be slow at peak times
Security
Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
Cold storage and hot wallet infrastructure in secure cages with 24/7 surveillance, 2FA, and a Proof of Reserves review by an independent accountant (snapshot 2026-06-30, BTC reserve ratio 102.9%, ETH 100.5%). Kraken client assets are not covered by CIPF.
Methods To Buy
Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
Interac e-Transfer (free) | Domestic wire | Debit card | SWIFT | Bill pay (Apaylo) | Crypto deposits
App
Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
iOS 4.62 on the Canadian App Store (5,662 ratings), Google Play 4.2 (about 55.1K reviews, global). Web app and Kraken Pro available.
Account Limits
Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.
Net purchase limits apply to everything except BTC, ETH, LTC and BCH: CAD 30,000 per rolling 12 months for most clients, CAD 100,000 for an Eligible Investor, none for Permitted Clients or Accredited Investors. The limits do not apply in AB, BC, MB, QC and SK. Interac e-Transfer: CAD 10,000 per transaction, 30,000 weekly, 100,000 monthly.
How Do You Fund And Cash Out Netcoins And Kraken In Canada?
Netcoins: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not verified
Not published
typically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wire
Free over CAD 3,000; under that Not published
Not verified
Not published
Not published
Crypto deposit
Free
Not published
Not published
Network speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not published
Not published
Not published
Bank wire
CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000
Not published
Not published
Not published
Kraken: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
CAD 5
CAD 10,000 per transaction and daily, CAD 30,000 weekly, CAD 100,000 monthly
instant or 0 to 1 business days
Domestic wire (Credit Union Atlantic)
Free (an intermediary bank fee of 13.74 is noted)
CAD 100
Not published
1 to 5 business days
Debit card
0.25 CAD + 3.75%
CAD 10
Not published
near-instant
SWIFT (Bank Frick)
CAD 3
CAD 4
Not published
1 to 5 business days
Bill pay (Apaylo)
0.25% per transaction, max CAD 30
CAD 1
Not published
1 to 5 business days
Canada Post in-person cash and debit
Not published
Not published
Not published
Not published
Kraken: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
CAD 10
Not published
CAD 10,000 per transaction and daily, CAD 30,000 weekly, CAD 100,000 monthly
up to 1 business day
Domestic EFT
Not verified
Not published
Not published
Not published
Neither accepts: paypal.
Not verified Fund by Interac for free, trade on Kraken Pro, and expect to pay CAD 10 to take Canadian dollars back out by e-Transfer. Wire deposits can lose a 13.74 intermediary fee. Kraken has been reported to delay new account checks at busy times.
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins And Kraken?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
Netcoins Buy
Netcoins Round Trip
Kraken Buy
Kraken Round Trip
CAD 100
Not published
Not published
$0.40 to $1.00
$0.80 to $2.00
CAD 500
Not published
Not published
$2.00 to $5.00
$4.00 to $10.00
CAD 1,000
Not published
Not published
$4.00 to $10.00
$8.00 to $20.00
CAD 10,000
Not published
Not published
$40.00 to $100.00
$80.00 to $200.00
Netcoins:Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Kraken: Kraken Pro base tier 0.40% maker / 0.80% taker (Tier 1, USD 0 volume), checked 2026-10-03. The high end is the 1% Instant Buy fee, which is charged on top of a spread Kraken does not publish. Custom orders are 1.5%. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do Netcoins And Kraken Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
Netcoins Only
Staking:Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.
Kraken Only
Kraken Pro: Order book trading with maker/taker fees from 0.40% / 0.80%, down to 0.0% / 0.10% at USD 10M monthly volume. Tiers can also be reached by holding assets on the platform (USD 20K for Tier 3).
Staking: Flexible staking with an on-chain unbonding period carries a 20% commission. Canadians cannot stake GRT or FLR, use Opt-In Rewards, or use Babylon Bitcoin staking, and ETH2.S cannot be traded.
Kraken+: Subscription giving zero trading fees on up to USD 10,000 (or CAD equivalent) a month in Buy, Sell and Convert, with spreads and card fees still applying. The subscription price was not retrieved.
Recurring buys: Recurring trades are charged the 1% Instant Buy fee plus a spread.
What Happens To Your Money If Netcoins Or Kraken Fails?
Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.
Kraken: Kraken is a CSA Restricted Dealer, which brings regulator oversight, loss notifications and purchase caps, but its client assets are not covered by CIPF and Kraken says so. Kraken publishes third-party proof of reserves (June 2026 ratios 100.3% to 102.9% for the five largest assets), which shows assets were held at the snapshot but is not insurance, and no insurance amount is published. Residual risks are exchange hacks, an insolvency where you are an unsecured creditor, and restrictions that can force you to withdraw coins Kraken later removes for Canada.
How Are Netcoins And Kraken Treated For Tax In Canada?
Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.
Kraken: Selling, converting one coin to another and staking rewards are taxable events. Kraken exports ledger and trade history as CSV and links to Koinly, which can produce a CRA Schedule 3 report; Kraken does not produce a CRA-ready report itself.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, Netcoins Or Kraken?
Choose Netcoins If
You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices
Choose Kraken If
You want the widest coin list available to Canadians and a real order book.
You will use Kraken Pro rather than Instant Buy to keep trading costs near 0.4% to 0.8%.
You value published proof of reserves over a CIRO dealer.
What Are The Main Differences Between Netcoins And Kraken?
Netcoins is a Canadian crypto platform run by Netcoins Inc., with the BC Securities Commission as its principal regulator. It is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer and FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as a registered money services business through October 2027. It pitches itself at beginners who want to buy, sell and hold crypto in CAD without learning an order book.
Kraken in Canada is Payward Canada Inc., a Restricted Dealer registered with the Ontario Securities Commission and the securities regulators of every province and territory (CSA Decision April 1, 2025). It is also a FINTRAC-registered MSB, approved since 2019. It is the choice for people who start simple and want to move to cheaper, more serious trading later.
The short version: choose Netcoins for a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration, and Kraken for the widest altcoin menu and low maker and taker fees on Kraken Pro. The sections below show where each one wins and where it does not, using the numbers I could verify.
Netcoins Vs Kraken At A Glance
Detail
Netcoins
Kraken
Trading Cost
No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published)
Kraken Pro 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker at the entry tier; Instant Buy 1% plus spread
CAD Deposits
Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published)
Interac e-Transfer free ($5 minimum, $10,000 per transaction); wire free; debit card 0.25 plus 3.75%
CAD Withdrawals
Interac e-Transfer free (cash withdrawal), bank wire $50 under $25,000
Interac e-Transfer withdrawal $10
Coins
65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only)
CSA Restricted Dealer (Decision April 1, 2025), FINTRAC MSB
Staking
Not verified in my sources
Yes, with exceptions (no Opt-in Rewards, no GRT or FLR staking)
App Ratings (Canada)
Not checked
Apple 4.62 (5,662 ratings), Google Play 4.2
Sign-Up Bonus
No sign-up bonus on file
No sign-up bonus on file
How Do Netcoins And Kraken Compare On Fees?
Netcoins Fees
Netcoins does not add a separate trading fee. Its fee page says the price you are quoted already includes Netcoins' spread, and it does not publish what that spread is. That makes the real cost hard to compare with a flat-fee platform, because you only see it by comparing the quote against a market price at the moment you trade. My advice is simple: price the same coin and amount on two platforms before you buy. On the cash side, Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Bank wire deposits are free over $3,000, and wire withdrawals under $25,000 carry a $50 processing fee.
Kraken Fees
Kraken Pro is where the cheap trading lives: 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker at the entry tier, dropping to 0.30% and 0.60% above $2,500 of 30-day volume and 0.22% and 0.38% above $10,000. The simple Instant Buy costs 1% on instant and recurring trades and 1.5% on custom orders, plus a spread, and Convert Small Balances has a 3% fixed fee. Kraken Plus offers zero trading fees on up to US $10,000 of monthly volume for buy, sell and convert, though spread and card fees still apply. Bitcoin withdrawals cost 0.000015 BTC on the network.
I cannot declare a fee winner here. Netcoins does not publish a single comparable trading cost, so the honest answer is to check a live quote on both apps for the same coin and amount before you buy.
Which Is Better For Funding And Withdrawing CAD?
Netcoins
Interac e-Transfer is free both ways, which covers most Canadians. Wires are the expensive route: deposits are free over $3,000 (I could not verify the fee under that amount) and withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50. If you move small amounts, stay on Interac. If you move large amounts, the wire fee is a rounding error and the speed can be worth it.
Kraken
Interac e-Transfer deposits are free with a $5 minimum and limits of $10,000 per transaction and per day, $30,000 a week and $100,000 a month. Wires are free, with a $13.74 intermediary bank fee noted, and take one to five business days. Debit cards cost 0.25 plus 3.75%, so avoid them. Withdrawing by Interac e-Transfer costs $10 under the same limits, which is the most expensive cash-out here.
Both take free Interac e-Transfer deposits, but Netcoins is cheaper on the way out: free against $10. If you cash out often, that gap adds up.
Which Has More Coins?
Netcoins Coins
Netcoins lists 65 coins on its official fee page, and one of them, Bittensor, is trade-only. That is a mid-sized menu: wider than the Bitcoin-and-Ethereum apps, narrower than the biggest global exchanges. Its restricted dealer terms also apply an investment limit over a rolling 12 months to certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for lower-risk assets listed in the decision. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so check your own limit in the app.
Kraken Coins
Kraken does not publish a Canada-specific count. I derived about 490 tickers from its public API after removing the 135 tickers its own Canada restrictions list bars, so treat it as an estimate. Even so, it has by far the widest menu in this comparison. Canadians cannot trade margin or derivatives, and xStocks are not available. Net purchase limits of $30,000 over a rolling 12 months apply to most clients for assets other than BTC, ETH, LTC and BCH, and do not apply in AB, BC, MB, QC and SK.
Kraken has the bigger menu. Kraken: About 490 (derived estimate). Netcoins: 65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only). If you want altcoins, that settles it.
Which Is Safer?
Netcoins Safety
Netcoins is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer, with amended decisions dated September 16, 2026, September 29, 2025, October 6, 2023 and March 24, 2022 after its original decision of September 29, 2021. It is not on the banned list. FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as registered with an expiry of October 15, 2027. The September 2026 amendment added Solana to the assets exempt from the investment limit. I did not find a verified custody or insurance dollar figure, so I do not quote one.
Kraken Safety
Kraken is a Restricted Dealer, not a CIRO member (press reports say it intends to apply). Its Proof of Reserves snapshot for June 30, 2026 shows reserve ratios of 102.9% for BTC, 100.5% for ETH, 100.6% for SOL, 102.3% for XRP and 100.3% for ADA. That is one of the better transparency signals among the platforms here. Crypto is not covered by CIPF or CDIC.
On regulation the two sit in the same tier: both are a CSA-registered restricted dealer. That means safety comes down to custody practice and your own habits, such as two-factor authentication and not leaving large balances on an exchange.
Which App Is Easier To Use?
Netcoins App And Support
Netcoins keeps the experience simple: pick a coin, see a quote, buy. That suits beginners, although it gives you no charts or order book to work with. I have not run a support test on Netcoins that I would stand behind in print, so I will not rank it on support here.
Kraken App And Support
The Kraken app is the easy way in and Kraken Pro is the serious interface with order types and depth. The app rates 4.62 on the Canadian App Store from 5,662 ratings and 4.2 on Google Play. Support runs through live chat. I do not have a support test result for Kraken that I would quote.
I cannot compare store ratings, because I have no verified Canadian rating for Netcoins. Try both onboarding flows, which take a few minutes, and keep the one that feels clearer.
What Does A $1,000 Purchase Cost On Netcoins And Kraken?
This is plain arithmetic on the published percentages above, not a quote. Real prices move with the market, and platforms that build the spread into the price add a cost you only see by comparing quotes.
Cost Of A $1,000 Buy (From Published Fees)
Platform
Published Cost On $1,000
Netcoins
not calculable, because the spread is built into the quote and is not published
Kraken
$4.00 as a Kraken Pro maker (0.40%) or $8.00 as a taker (0.80%), $10.00 on Instant Buy (1%) plus spread
How Do Netcoins And Kraken Compare On Limits And Restrictions?
Netcoins Limits
Netcoins applies a rolling 12-month investment limit on purchases and sales for certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for assets listed in the CSA decision. Solana joined the exception list on September 16, 2026. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so your own limit is shown in the app. Bank wires under $25,000 cost $50 to withdraw.
Kraken Limits
Kraken publishes Interac limits of $10,000 per transaction and per day, $30,000 a week and $100,000 a month. Canadian net purchase limits of $30,000 over a rolling 12 months ($100,000 for eligible investors) apply to assets other than BTC, ETH, LTC and BCH, but not in AB, BC, MB, QC and SK. Margin and derivatives are not available to Canadians.
What Extras Do Netcoins And Kraken Offer?
Netcoins Extras
Netcoins is a simple buy, sell and hold service. I could not verify staking, cards or bonuses on its official pages, so I do not credit it with any. If a feature matters to you, confirm it in the app first.
Kraken Extras
Kraken lets most Canadians stake, with exceptions: no Opt-in Rewards, no GRT or FLR staking and no Babylon Bitcoin staking. Kraken Plus offers zero trading fees on up to US $10,000 monthly volume. No sign-up bonus is on file.
Can You Use Both Netcoins And Kraken?
Yes, and plenty of Canadians do. Nothing stops you holding an account on each. A common setup is to buy on whichever platform quotes the better price for the coin you want, then move long-term holdings to a wallet you control. If you split money across platforms, keep a simple record of every buy, sell and transfer. The CRA treats crypto as a commodity, whether your gains count as business income or capital gains depends on your situation, and clean records make tax time far easier. Transfers between your own accounts are not sales, but the fees on them can still matter.
What Are The Pros And Cons Of Netcoins And Kraken?
Netcoins Pros And Cons
Pros
On the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer
Free Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals
65 coins on the official fee page
No separate trading fee, just a spread inside the quote
FINTRAC MSB registration valid to October 2027
Cons
Spread percentage is not published
Wire withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50
Rolling 12-month investment limit applies to certain investors
No advanced trading tools
Kraken Pros And Cons
Pros
Widest coin menu here at about 490
Cheap Kraken Pro maker and taker fees
Free Interac e-Transfer deposits
Proof of Reserves published
Staking available for most Canadians
CSA Restricted Dealer
Cons
Interac cash-out costs $10
Instant Buy at 1% plus spread is not cheap
No margin or derivatives for Canadians
12-month purchase limit applies in some provinces
Kraken Pro takes time to learn
Who Wins Each Category Between Netcoins And Kraken?
Here is the scorecard in one place. A winner is named only when both sides have a comparable verified number. Where one side does not publish it, the answer is Depends, and where the gap is too small to matter, it is a Tie.
Category Winners
Category
Winner
Headline Trading Cost
Depends
CAD Cash-Out Cost
Netcoins
Coin Menu
Kraken
Regulation Tier
Tie
Canadian App Store Rating
Depends
What Should You Do Next?
Decide what matters most to you: lowest cost, the widest coin menu, the strongest regulation or the simplest app.
Open the platform that wins your category and read its fee page in full before you deposit.
Start with a small first buy and a small test withdrawal, so you learn the flow with little at risk.
Turn on two-factor authentication, and move long-term holdings to a wallet you control.
Who Should Choose Netcoins, And Who Should Choose Kraken?
Choose Netcoins if you want a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer. Its strongest point: on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer.
Choose Kraken if you want the widest altcoin menu and low maker and taker fees on Kraken Pro. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer. Its strongest point: widest coin menu here at about 490.
What Changed For Netcoins And Kraken In October 2026?
Kraken republished its fee schedule page, showing Pro spot fees of 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker at the entry tier.
The CSA amended Netcoins' decision, adding Solana to the assets exempt from the rolling investment limit.
The CSA issued an earlier amended decision for Netcoins.
The CSA issued its Restricted Dealer decision for Payward Canada Inc. (Kraken), and Kraken announced free Interac e-Transfer deposits.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Netcoins Or Kraken Better For Beginners?
I cannot compare store ratings, because I have no verified Canadian rating for Netcoins. Try both onboarding flows, which take a few minutes, and keep the one that feels clearer.
Beginners should also weigh regulation and cash-out costs, covered above.
Which Is Cheaper, Netcoins Or Kraken?
I cannot declare a fee winner here. Netcoins does not publish a single comparable trading cost, so the honest answer is to check a live quote on both apps for the same coin and amount before you buy.
Kraken: CSA Restricted Dealer (Decision April 1, 2025), FINTRAC MSB.
Does Netcoins Or Kraken Have More Coins?
Kraken has the bigger menu. Kraken: About 490 (derived estimate). Netcoins: 65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only). If you want altcoins, that settles it.
Can I Fund Netcoins And Kraken With Interac E-Transfer?
Netcoins: Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published).
Kraken: Interac e-Transfer free ($5 minimum, $10,000 per transaction); wire free; debit card 0.25 plus 3.75%.
Which Should I Pick, Netcoins Or Kraken?
Pick Netcoins for a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. Pick Kraken for the widest altcoin menu and low maker and taker fees on Kraken Pro.
Do Netcoins And Kraken Have Limit Orders?
Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested). Kraken: Yes, on Kraken Pro with maker fees from 0.40%.
Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee. Kraken: Yes, Instant Buy adds a spread on top of the 1% fee; Pro has no spread but charges maker/taker fees.
Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On Netcoins Or Kraken?
Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto. Kraken: CIPF never covers crypto, and Kraken makes users acknowledge that its client assets are not covered.
Are Netcoins And Kraken Available In Every Province?
Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories. Kraken: All provinces and territories, with CAD 30,000 net caps outside AB, BC, MB, QC and SK on assets other than BTC, ETH, LTC and BCH.
Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On Netcoins And Kraken?
Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes. Kraken: Kraken says e-Transfer takes 0 to 1 business days or arrives instantly; no weekend rule is published.
What Is The Minimum Buy On Netcoins And Kraken?
Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10. Kraken: Interac deposits start at CAD 5; the minimum order size varies by pair and was not verified.
Can A Business Use Netcoins Or Kraken?
Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered. Kraken: Kraken offers business accounts globally; Canadian availability is not verified.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.