Coinbase Vs Gate.io: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 2, 2026

This comparison examines Coinbase and Gate.io, two popular crypto exchanges, from the perspective of a Canadian user. From a Canadian perspective, the comparison is one-sided: Gate (rebranded to Gate.com in May 2025) has listed Canada as a restricted jurisdiction since April 2022 and is not available. Coinbase became the first international exchange to achieve restricted dealer registration in Canada in April 2024 and is fully available to Canadians in every province.

Coinbase Vs Gate.io: Which Is Better For Canadians?

Coinbase wins by default for Canadians. Gate.io is an offshore exchange that is not registered in Canada and lists Canada as a restricted location in its user agreement.

Coinbase logo9.8/10
CSA-registered (Restricted Dealer)

First-time buyers who want a regulated, simple app

Gate.io logo
Offshore, terms restrict Canada
Head To Head, Checked October 2026
CoinbaseGate.ioWinner
Canadian statusCSA-registered (Restricted Dealer)Offshore, terms restrict CanadaCoinbase
My ranking#1 of 10, 9.8/10Not in my top 10Coinbase

Still holding funds on Gate? Here is how to withdraw from Gate in Canada and move your coins to a registered Canadian exchange.

Not sure which fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

How Do Coinbase And Gate.io Compare, Fact By Fact?

Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.

Coinbase Vs Gate.io: Master Spec Table
CoinbaseGate.ioWinner
CompanyCoinbase Canada, Inc. (BC1279128), unit of Coinbase Global, Inc. (Nasdaq: COIN). Founded 2012, San Francisco, by Brian Armstrong and Fred Ehrsam. Public company. Staff not sourced.Launched 2013, rebranded from Gate.io to Gate.com in May 2025. Legal entity for Canada: none. Founder, HQ and funding not verified on a primary page.Depends
RegulationCSA Restricted Dealer in all provinces and territories (Decision 2024-04-03, amended 2026-04-01). FINTRAC MSB M22815925, expires 2027-03-06. Not a CIRO member. CIPF never covers crypto or cash here.Not on CSA authorized or banned list (2026-10-02). FINTRAC M20329002 (Gate Technology Corp.) expired 2023-05-31. No CIRO. No CIPF for crypto.Coinbase
Assets200+ assets on the Canadian site, order book on Coinbase Advanced. USDT, DAI and RAI not available to Canadians. No official Canadian coin list is published.2,053 base assets across 2,202 spot pairs (public API, 2026-10-02), none open to Canadians.Coinbase
PriceSimple buy: spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% (varies by payment method), 1% extra on simple limit orders. Advanced: no spread, Canadian maker/taker rates not published.Spot base fee 0.2% per pair in the public API (2026-10-02). Irrelevant to Canadians.Coinbase
CAD InFree: Interac e-Transfer and EFT. Wire, 3D Secure card and PayPal fees are not published.No CAD funding. Canada is a restricted location, so Canadians cannot fund an account.Coinbase
CAD OutInterac e-Transfer, EFT and PayPal cash-out supported. Fee not published ('may be charged a fee depending on the payment method').No CAD withdrawal to a Canadian bank is published.Coinbase
Crypto In And OutOn-chain sends and receives, Lightning sends (0.2% processing fee). Coinbase pays and passes on an estimated network fee at send time. USDT withdrawals carry 0.01% (max 20 USDT).Not applicable to Canadians. No new account can be opened from Canada.Coinbase
CustodyCustodial. Coinbase says it holds customer assets 1:1, in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company. No insurance figure or proof of reserves on the Canadian pages.Custodial exchange. Whatever Canadian-held balances remain are not covered by CIPF or any Canadian regulator.Coinbase
Verification (KYC)Government ID (Canadian licence, passport, PR card and others) plus a selfie, address must match the ID, status normally within 24 hours. A suitability questionnaire is mandatory. SIN not stated.Not applicable to Canadians. Account creation is barred for Canada under the terms.Depends
Account TypesPersonal account. Business and institutional accounts exist at Coinbase but Canadian availability is not verified. No TFSA or RRSP.Not publishedCoinbase
ProvincesAll provinces and territories incl. Quebec. Net purchase caps on non-major assets in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU, YT. French support not verified.0 of 13. The restriction names all of Canada, not a single province.Coinbase
Extra ProductsStaking (35% commission), USDC rewards, Coinbase One subscription, DEX trading, signup banner 'up to CA$200' (terms not verified). Derivatives only for qualified Canadian investors.Not applicable to Canadians.Coinbase
Tax ToolsCoinbase Taxes gives a gain/loss report and raw transaction history as CSV, plus Canadian annual performance and charges reports. No CRA-formatted report or Koinly link confirmed.Not verifiedCoinbase
AppiOS 4.56 (65,030 ratings, Canada store), Google Play 4.4 (about 929K reviews, global). Web app yes. 2FA yes, price alerts yes. French UI not verified.Not applicable. Gate says it has no Canadian service;Coinbase
Support24/7 live chat, phone and email per Coinbase pages, formal complaints process. Support quality described as inconsistent in our earlier test. French support not verified.Not verifiedCoinbase
Sources For This Table

What Are The Key Differences Between Coinbase And Gate.io?

Coinbase Vs Gate.io: Side By Side
CoinbaseGate.io
DescriptionFounded in 2012, Coinbase is one of the world's best-known cryptocurrency exchanges. It is a public company (Nasdaq: COIN) and an S&P 500 component. In April 2024 it became the first international exchange registered with the CSA as a Restricted Dealer in Canada, and it offers a simple interface that makes it a popular starting point for beginners.Launched in 2013, Gate (formerly Gate.io, rebranded and moved to Gate.com in May 2025) is one of the largest cryptocurrency exchanges in the world. However, Canada is on the list of restricted locations in the Gate user agreement, alongside 30+ other jurisdictions. Gate has not served Canadians since earlier reports of Canadian accounts moving to withdrawal-only around April 2022, so we would not recommend trying to use it.
Coins200+ available to Canadians, including BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and LTC. USDT, DAI and RAI are not available to Canadians, in line with CSA stablecoin guidance.Past tense: 2,053 base assets across 2,202 tradable spot pairs (public API, 2026-10-02), none of them open to Canadians. USDT was never part of a Canadian offer.
FeesFree CAD deposits via Interac e-Transfer and EFT | Simple interface: a spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% (varies by payment method), the expensive way to buy | Simple limit orders add a separate 1% execution fee | Advanced: no spread because you trade against the order book, but the Canadian maker/taker rate table is not published on a public page | Coinbase One subscription waives the Coinbase fee on simple buys and sells (spread still applies, Advanced and the 1% limit fee excluded) | Staking commission 35%Past tense: spot base fee 0.2% per pair per the public API (2026-10-02), lower with volume. Free crypto deposits. CAD was never supported.
Pros
  • First international exchange registered as a Restricted Dealer in Canada, plus a FINTRAC MSB registration
  • Free Interac e-Transfer and EFT deposits
  • Simple, polished interface, great for beginners
  • Advanced has no spread, an order book and limit orders
  • Staking available, and USDC rewards
  • Publicly traded S&P 500 company with audited financials
  • 2FA is switched on automatically, with security key support
  • Thousands of altcoins were available
  • Advanced trading features and tools
  • Not available to Canadians, so none of this is usable
Cons
  • Simple interface fees are high, so use Advanced for anything sizeable
  • Staking commission is steep (35% of rewards)
  • Customer support quality is inconsistent
  • Strict name matching on payment methods can cause held or failed deposits
  • Crypto assets are not covered by CIPF or CDIC
  • No Canadian rate table for Advanced is published openly
  • Not allowed in Canada, and no Canadian entity
  • Mandatory KYC means Canadians cannot sign up, and VPN workarounds risk frozen funds
  • CAD was never supported
  • Not beginner-friendly
Security2FA auto-enrolled with security key support, multi-approval withdrawals in Coinbase Vault, a bug bounty program, and full KYC. Coinbase says it holds customer assets 1:1 and does not lend them without permission, and it publishes audited financials as a public company. Canadian pages publish no insurance dollar figure or cold storage percentage.that claim was not confirmed here. Gate's FINTRAC MSB registration M20329002 (Gate Technology Corp.) expired 2023-05-31.
Methods To BuyInterac e-Transfer (adds cash) | EFT bank transfer | 3D Secure debit or credit card | PayPal | Wire (adds cash)Canadians cannot buy crypto on Gate. Account creation requires KYC, and restrictions are enforced based on the country on your ID, so even a VPN won't get you a working account, just one that can be frozen with your funds inside.
AppiOS 4.56 on the Canadian App Store (65,030 ratings), Google Play 4.4 (about 929K reviews, global). Web app available. Price alerts and a loss-notification feature required by Canadian rules.Not applicable to Canadians.
Account LimitsNet purchase caps apply to assets other than BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, BCH and LTC: CAD 30,000 per rolling 12 months in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU and YT, no cap in AB, BC, MB, SK and QC. Answers to the onboarding questionnaire can instead cap a new account at CAD 1,000 per rolling 12 months until the profile is updated. BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, BCH and LTC are unlimited.No longer applicable. n/a for Canadians, since accounts cannot be opened from Canada.

How Do You Fund And Cash Out Coinbase And Gate.io In Canada?

Coinbase: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedNot publishedup to 5 minutes
Bank account (EFT)FreeNot publishedNot publishedcredited instantly
Wire transferNot publishedNot publishedNot published1 to 3 business days
3D Secure cardNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant
PayPalNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant
Coinbase: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedup to 5 minutes
Bank account (EFT)Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant
PayPalNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant

Coinbase publishes no minimums, maximums or cash-out fees for Canada, so the bank-side limit is the practical cap. Payment method name must match the Coinbase account name or the deposit goes to manual review for one to three business days. No CAD funding exists. Canada is a Restricted Location in user agreement clause 2.5. Whether any legacy Canadian account can still withdraw crypto is not stated on an official Gate page, so contact Gate support.

What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Coinbase?

Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
AmountCoinbase BuyCoinbase Round Trip
CAD 100$0.00 to $1.88$0.00 to $3.75
CAD 500$0.00 to $9.38$0.00 to $18.75
CAD 1,000$0.00 to $18.75$0.00 to $37.50
CAD 10,000$0.00 to $187.50$0.00 to $375.00

Coinbase: High end is the Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% on simple buys and sells (varies by payment method), checked 2026-10-03, with a spread on top that is shown only in the order preview and a separate 1% on simple limit orders. Low end is the 0% maker rate Coinbase advertises for Advanced, but the Canadian rate table is not public. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.

What Do Coinbase And Gate.io Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?

Coinbase Only

  • Coinbase Advanced: Order book trading with no spread, limit orders and charting. The Canadian maker/taker table is shown only after signing in, so the rate is not published here.
  • Staking: Standard commission 35% of rewards for ADA, ATOM, AVAX, DOT, ETH, MATIC, SOL and XTZ, lower for Coinbase One tiers (31.75%, 28.5%, 25.25%). Canadians must pass a staking appropriateness questionnaire, repeated every 12 months.
  • Coinbase One: Subscription that waives the Coinbase fee on simple buys and sells, with a spread still included. It excludes Advanced and the 1% limit order fee. Subscription price not retrieved.
  • USDC rewards: Rewards on USDC balances, not guaranteed and not covered by CIPF or CDIC. The advertised rate (up to 3.75% APY) was seen on the navigation menu only.
  • Derivatives for eligible investors: Futures through Coinbase Financial Markets launched 2026-09-02 for eligible Canadian investors only, not retail.

What Happens To Your Money If Coinbase Or Gate.io Fails?

Coinbase: The CSA Restricted Dealer decision gives regulator oversight, a suitability questionnaire, loss notifications and purchase caps, but it is not deposit insurance. Coinbase says fiat and crypto are not protected by CIPF or CDIC. Customer assets sit in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company, and the Canadian pages publish no insurance figure or proof of reserves, so the 1:1 holding promise rests on Coinbase's own statement and public-company audits. Account holds on mismatched names or EFT deposits can lock funds for days.

Gate.io: Gate does not serve Canada, is not on the CSA list, holds no current FINTRAC registration and is not a CIRO member. CIPF never covers crypto. A Canadian with a balance left on Gate has no regulator to appeal to, and the user agreement tells users in restricted locations to stop using the services and lets Gate restrict or close accounts at its discretion. Opening an account through a VPN risks a freeze.

How Are Coinbase And Gate.io Treated For Tax In Canada?

Coinbase: Buying crypto with CAD is not a disposition, but selling, converting one coin to another, spending, and staking rewards are taxable events. Coinbase Taxes gives a gain/loss report and a transaction history as CSV; you still file the Schedule 3 yourself.

Gate.io: Any earlier trades or sales on Gate are dispositions for CRA purposes. Keep or export your full trade and transfer history while you still have access, because a restricted account may be closed.

Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Should You Choose, Coinbase Or Gate.io?

Choose Coinbase If

  • You want a large public company with a simple app and a CSA-registered Canadian entity.
  • You are comfortable using Advanced rather than the simple buy screen, which costs far more.
  • You want free Interac e-Transfer or EFT funding and a wide altcoin list.

Choose Gate.io If

  • You want an altcoin-heavy exchange: Gate does not serve Canadians, so pick a registered Canadian platform with a deep coin list, such as Kraken.

What Happened To Gate.io?

Gate.io is an offshore exchange that is not registered in Canada, and its user agreement lists Canada among its Restricted Locations. That means Canadians cannot use it under its own terms.

Its FINTRAC registration (Gate Technology Corp.) expired on May 31, 2023, and I found no current one. Gate.io is on neither the CSA authorized list nor the banned list. Its public API shows a 0.2% base spot fee and 2,053 base assets, which explains the appeal, but the size of the menu does not matter when the terms bar you.

Gate.io Status Record
ItemDetail
StatusOffshore, not registered in Canada
Canada in its termsListed as a Restricted Location
FINTRACExpired May 31, 2023
CAD fundingNone found

What Should Gate.io Users Use Instead?

Coinbase is the platform in this matchup that Canadians can actually use, so it wins by default. That is not the same as saying it is right for everyone, so here is how it stacks up.

For Gate.io users, the closest replacement is Kraken. Kraken is registered in Canada with a deep altcoin list, the practical replacement for a Gate-style menu.

Registered Options Compared
PlatformStatusFeesCAD FundingCoins
CoinbaseCSA-registered Restricted DealerUp to 1.875% on simple buys, plus spreadFree Interac e-Transfer and EFT200+
KrakenCSA-registered Restricted DealerKraken Pro 0.40% maker / 0.80% taker; Instant Buy 1%Free Interac e-Transfer depositsAbout 490 (derived)

Coinbase: Fees, Funding And Safety

Coinbase prices a simple buy as a spread plus a Coinbase fee that its Canadian fee disclosure puts at up to 1.875%, depending on the payment method. Simple limit orders carry a separate 1% execution fee. The Canadian Advanced Trade maker and taker rates were not published on the page I checked, so I do not quote them.

Adding cash by Interac e-Transfer or EFT is free, and cashing out by Interac or EFT is supported. Coinbase does not publish a withdrawal fee, only a note that a fee may apply depending on the payment method. Coinbase says you can trade 200+ assets on its Canadian site.

Coinbase Canada is a CSA Restricted Dealer in all provinces and territories (decision of April 3, 2024, amended April 1, 2026) and a FINTRAC-registered money services business. It is not a CIRO member, and its user agreement says Canadian fiat balances are not protected by CIPF. It states that it holds customer assets 1:1.

It suits the easiest regulated start for a first-time buyer, with a polished app (4.56 stars from 65,030 ratings on the Canadian App Store).

Pros

  • Registered in every province and territory
  • Free Interac e-Transfer and EFT funding
  • Simple app for a first purchase
  • Staking on several coins

Cons

  • Simple buys cost up to 1.875% plus spread
  • Fiat balances are not covered by CIPF
  • Canadian Advanced Trade fees are not published

Kraken: Fees, Funding And Safety

Kraken Pro starts at 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker at the entry tier and drops to 0.30% and 0.60% from CAD 2,500 of 30-day volume. Instant Buy and recurring buys cost 1% plus a spread, and custom orders cost 1.5%.

Interac e-Transfer deposits are free (minimum CAD 5, up to CAD 10,000 per transaction). Withdrawing by Interac costs CAD 10. Wire deposits are free, with an intermediary bank fee noted at 13.74. Kraken publishes no Canadian coin count. Taking its public pair list and removing the tickers its own Canada restrictions page bars gives roughly 490, which is a derived figure, not an official one.

Payward Canada Inc. (Kraken) is a CSA Restricted Dealer (decision of April 1, 2025) and a FINTRAC-registered money services business. It is not a CIRO member. Its Proof of Reserves snapshot of June 30, 2026 showed reserve ratios of 102.9% for BTC and 100.5% for ETH. Canadians cannot use margin or derivatives on Kraken.

It suits someone who wants a wide coin list and cheaper trading on Kraken Pro once past the first purchase.

Pros

  • Wide coin list for Canadians
  • Kraken Pro maker and taker pricing
  • Free Interac e-Transfer deposits
  • Published Proof of Reserves

Cons

  • Interac withdrawals cost CAD 10
  • No margin or derivatives for Canadians
  • Purchase limits on many non-major coins

Who Should Choose What In 2026?

  • Coinbase: the easiest regulated start for a first-time buyer, with a polished app (4.56 stars from 65,030 ratings on the Canadian App Store).
  • Kraken: someone who wants a wide coin list and cheaper trading on Kraken Pro once past the first purchase.

If you are still deciding, my 60-second quiz narrows it down, and my full ranking shows all ten picks with scores.

How Can You Check Whether An Exchange Is Allowed In Canada?

Do it before you deposit a dollar, because the status of a platform can change in months. Four checks take about ten minutes.

  1. Look for the platform on the CSA list of crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians.
  2. Search the CSA banned crypto platforms list, which includes entities ordered out by the Ontario Securities Commission and reciprocated by other provinces.
  3. Search the FINTRAC money services business registry for the legal entity, and read the status column, because "Expired", "Ceased" and "Revoked" all mean the registration is gone.
  4. Read the platform's own terms for a list of restricted locations. If Canada, or your province, is named, you are not allowed to use it, and a registered regulator cannot help you if something goes wrong.

Registration is also not the same as insurance. Crypto held at any Canadian platform is not covered by CIPF, so a registered dealer lowers the risk but does not remove it.

What Changed For Coinbase Vs Gate.io In October 2026?

  • : Gate.io's user agreement, read this month, still lists Canada as a Restricted Location.
  • : Coinbase launched regulated crypto derivatives for eligible Canadian investors through Coinbase Financial Markets. Press reports limit it to qualified clients, so it does not change what a retail buyer sees.
  • : The CSA amended its April 2024 decision for Coinbase Canada Inc.
  • : Gate Technology Corp.'s FINTRAC registration expired.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Gate.io Legal For Canadians?

Gate.io is not registered in Canada, and its own user agreement lists Canada as a Restricted Location. Using it would break its terms, and no Canadian investor protection would apply.

Which Is Better For Canadians, Coinbase Or Gate.io?

Coinbase, because Gate.io is not a usable option for Canadians. Its status: CSA-registered Restricted Dealer.

What Does Coinbase Cost?

Coinbase prices a simple buy as a spread plus a Coinbase fee that its Canadian fee disclosure puts at up to 1.875%, depending on the payment method. Simple limit orders carry a separate 1% execution fee. The Canadian Advanced Trade maker and taker rates were not published on the page I checked, so I do not quote them.

How Do I Check If A Crypto Exchange Is Registered In Canada?

Check the CSA authorized list and the CSA banned list, search the FINTRAC money services business registry for the legal entity, and read the platform's own terms for restricted locations. Treat "Expired", "Ceased" and "Revoked" as meaning the registration is gone.

Do Coinbase And Gate.io Have Limit Orders?

Coinbase: Yes, on Coinbase Advanced with no spread; simple limit orders carry a 1% execution fee. Gate.io: Not applicable, Canadians cannot use Gate.

Which Coins Can You Buy On Coinbase And Gate.io?

Coinbase: 200+ Gate.io: 2,053 base assets, none open to Canadians

Is The Spread The Fee On Coinbase And Gate.io?

Coinbase: Yes, simple buys include a spread on top of the Coinbase fee, shown in the order preview. Gate.io: Not applicable.

Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On Coinbase Or Gate.io?

Coinbase: CIPF never covers crypto, and Coinbase says Canadian fiat wallets are not covered either. Gate.io: CIPF never covers crypto, and Gate is not a CIPF member.

Are Coinbase And Gate.io Available In Every Province?

Coinbase: All provinces and territories, with CAD 30,000 caps on non-major coins in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU and YT. Gate.io: None, Canada is a Restricted Location.

Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On Coinbase And Gate.io?

Coinbase: Coinbase says Interac arrives in up to 5 minutes, but it publishes no weekend rule; bank-side limits apply. Gate.io: No Interac e-Transfer, CAD was never supported.

What Is The Minimum Buy On Coinbase And Gate.io?

Coinbase: Not published for Canada. Gate.io: Not applicable.

Can A Business Use Coinbase Or Gate.io?

Coinbase: Business and institutional products exist at Coinbase, but Canadian business accounts are not verified. Gate.io: Not applicable, Canada is a Restricted Location.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!