BTCC Vs Netcoins: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 4, 2026

Netcoins is a Vancouver broker app registered with the CSA, built for buying and holding. BTCC is an offshore futures exchange with a FINTRAC-registered Canadian arm. The products barely overlap.

BTCC Vs Netcoins: Which Is Better For Canadians?

For most Canadians, BTCC is the better choice (it wins on my ranking). Netcoins still comes out ahead on canadian status.

BTCC logo7.0/10
Offshore, not CSA-registered

Offshore futures traders

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
BTCCNetcoinsWinner
Canadian statusOffshore, not CSA-registeredCSA-registeredNetcoins
My ranking#8 of 10, 7.0/10Not in my top 10BTCC
Published trading fee0.2% maker / 0.3% takerNo separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (spread percentage not published on the fee page)Depends
CAD fundingNot verified[{"method": "Interac e-Transfer", "fee": "free (deposit and cash withdrawal)"}, {"method": "Bank wire", "fee": "depositsTie
Coins available112 spot assets65 coins listed on the official fee page (one, Bittensor, is trade-only)Depends

BTCC is offshore: not registered with the Canadian Securities Administrators, and its terms restrict Canadian residents. No Canadian investor protection applies.

Not sure which fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

How Do BTCC And Netcoins Compare, Fact By Fact?

Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.

BTCC Vs Netcoins: Master Spec Table
BTCCNetcoinsWinner
CompanyBTCC Canada Limited, federal corporation, Toronto (FINTRAC M20713346). Terms of Use are with BTCC Limited, Hong Kong (CR 1956541). Operating since 2011.Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.Depends
RegulationFINTRAC MSB M20713346, Registered, approved 2020-05-27, expires 2027-10-15. Not on CSA list or banned list. No CIRO. No CIPF for crypto.CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.Netcoins
Assets112 spot-enabled assets; 352 enabled markets including perpetual-only. Order book exchange.65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.BTCC
PriceSpot taker 0.3% and maker 0.2% at VIP0; futures taker 0.055% and maker 0.03%. VIP discounts. Not a spread model.No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.Depends
CAD InNot verified. No CAD or Interac funding found.Interac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.Netcoins
CAD OutNot verified.Interac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.Netcoins
Crypto In And OutCrypto deposit and withdrawal with network selection and a security review step. Network fees vary, no fixed amounts published.On-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.Tie
CustodyCustodial. Claims asset segregation and multi-signature cold wallets (company's own words). Proof of reserves not verified here. Held funds, not self-custody.Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.Netcoins
Verification (KYC)KYC and AML checks apply. Time to clear and SIN handling not published.Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.Depends
Account TypesNot publishedPersonal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.Depends
Provinces11 of 13. Per BTCC's Canadian guide, Ontario and Quebec are restricted. The Terms page itself does not name them. Territories not stated.Registered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.Netcoins
Extra ProductsFutures copy trading, demo trading, VIP program, referral rewards. Staking and savings not verified.Not verifiedNetcoins
Tax ToolsNot verified.Not verified.Depends
AppiOS 4.32 (1,010 ratings, Canadian store). Android 4.3 (18K reviews, global). Mobile apps and web. French UI not verified.iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.Netcoins
SupportSupport Centre exists. Chat, phone, hours and French not verified.Phone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.Depends
Sources For This Table

What Are The Key Differences Between BTCC And Netcoins?

BTCC Vs Netcoins: Side By Side
BTCCNetcoins
DescriptionBTCC is a futures-focused crypto exchange operating since 2011. It has a Canadian arm, BTCC Canada Limited, registered with FINTRAC as a money services business, but it is not on the CSA list of platforms authorized to serve Canadians and its own Canadian guide says Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted.Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
Coins112 spot-enabled assets and 352 enabled markets including perpetual-only (front-end market list, 2026-10-01).60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
FeesSpot 0.3% taker and 0.2% maker, futures 0.055% taker and 0.03% maker at VIP0. Leverage up to 500x on selected contracts. CAD funding not verified.No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
Pros
  • Operating since 2011
  • Canadian entity with an active FINTRAC MSB registration (expires 2027-10-15)
  • Copy trading and demo trading
  • Futures with high leverage
  • VIP fee discounts
  • Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
  • Free Interac funding and withdrawals
  • All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
  • Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
  • Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
  • Owned by a publicly traded company
  • OTC desk for large trades
Cons
  • Not on the CSA list and no CIRO membership
  • FINTRAC registration is anti-money-laundering only, not securities protection
  • Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted
  • CAD funding, withdrawal fees and proof of reserves were not verified
  • Mixed user feedback on withdrawals and account reviews
  • Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
  • Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
  • No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
  • Wire fees under the free thresholds
  • Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
SecurityBTCC states it uses asset segregation, multi-signature cold wallets, one-to-one asset storage and 2FA. These are the company's own statements, not independent audits, and no CIPF or regulator protection applies to crypto.Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
Methods To BuyCrypto deposits are supported. CAD funding methods such as Interac were not verified.Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
AppiOS 4.32 across 1,010 ratings (Canadian App Store), Android 4.3 across 18K reviews (global Google Play total).Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
Account LimitsNot published. Higher withdrawal limits come with VIP levels.Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.

How Do You Fund And Cash Out BTCC And Netcoins In Canada?

Netcoins: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot verifiedNot publishedtypically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wireFree over CAD 3,000; under that Not publishedNot verifiedNot publishedNot published
Crypto depositFreeNot publishedNot publishedNetwork speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Bank wireCAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000Not publishedNot publishedNot published

CAD funding and withdrawal methods were not verified on any BTCC page. Crypto deposits and withdrawals are documented. Treat BTCC as crypto-funded until a CAD route is shown. Not verified

What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On BTCC And Netcoins?

Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
AmountBTCC BuyBTCC Round TripNetcoins BuyNetcoins Round Trip
CAD 100$0.20 to $0.30$0.40 to $0.60Not publishedNot published
CAD 500$1.00 to $1.50$2.00 to $3.00Not publishedNot published
CAD 1,000$2.00 to $3.00$4.00 to $6.00Not publishedNot published
CAD 10,000$20.00 to $30.00$40.00 to $60.00Not publishedNot published

BTCC: Spot maker 0.2% and taker 0.3% at VIP0 per the BTCC VIP fee table, checked 2026-10-01. Netcoins: Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.

What Do BTCC And Netcoins Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?

BTCC Only

  • USDT-M and Coin-M perpetual futures: Leverage up to 500x on selected contracts. Futures fees at VIP0 are 0.055% taker and 0.03% maker. Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted.
  • Copy trading and demo trading: Futures copy trading and a demo account are offered.
  • VIP program: Fee discounts, priority support and higher withdrawal limits by VIP level.

Netcoins Only

  • Staking: Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
  • Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
  • OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
  • Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.

What Happens To Your Money If BTCC Or Netcoins Fails?

BTCC: BTCC Canada Limited is registered with FINTRAC, which is an anti-money-laundering registration, not a securities registration or investor protection. BTCC is not on the CSA list, is not a CIRO member and CIPF never covers crypto. If BTCC fails or freezes your account you have no regulator-backed claim. Its own guide notes some withdrawals face risk or compliance review, and public feedback mentions withdrawal and account-review complaints. High leverage futures can liquidate a position quickly.

Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.

How Are BTCC And Netcoins Treated For Tax In Canada?

BTCC: Spot sales, crypto-to-crypto trades and futures settlement are dispositions for CRA purposes. No tax export or CRA-ready report was verified, so keep your own records of trades, fees and transfers.

Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.

Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Should You Choose, BTCC Or Netcoins?

Choose BTCC If

  • You live outside Ontario and Quebec and want offshore futures: BTCC is the one in this group with a Canadian FINTRAC-registered arm.
  • You want regulator protection or CAD funding: use a CSA-registered platform instead.

Choose Netcoins If

  • You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
  • You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
  • You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices

Is BTCC Or Netcoins Better For Canadians In 2026?

Netcoins, for anyone who is not specifically hunting for futures. BTCC is #8 on my ranked list at 7.0 with an offshore label. Netcoins has no score from me because it is outside my top 10. Netcoins Inc. is a CSA restricted dealer with the BCSC as principal regulator, with FINTRAC MSB M15560893 through October 15, 2027. BTCC Canada Limited holds a FINTRAC registration of its own (M20713346), but BTCC is not on the CSA list and its Canadian guide says Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted.

Netcoins is not a CIRO member, and CIPF never covers crypto at either one. The difference is that Netcoins answers to a securities regulator and BTCC does not.

What Do You Give Up Without A CAD Route?

BTCC publishes spot fees of 0.2% maker and 0.3% taker at VIP0, which is CAD 2 to CAD 3 on a CAD 1,000 trade. That is a clean, checkable number. I could not verify any CAD or Interac funding on BTCC, so it works as a crypto-funded exchange. You need coins from somewhere else first.

Netcoins is the reverse. Its fees are not a clean number: no separate trading fee, a spread inside the price, and the percentage not published. But the on and off ramps are cheap and clear. Interac e-Transfer in and out is free, a wire in is free over CAD 3,000, and a wire out under CAD 25,000 costs CAD 50. Withdrawals on-chain are flat per coin, such as 0.00014 BTC or 0.003 ETH.

The test is simple. On Netcoins, compare the buy screen quote with the live market price and you will see your real cost in seconds. On BTCC, add the cost of getting crypto there to the 0.3%.

Which Is Safer For Canadians?

Netcoins holds the majority of customer crypto in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks hot wallets and multi-signature controls, says it is insured without giving the amount, and shows no proof of reserves. As a CSA restricted dealer it follows custody, disclosure and limit conditions.

BTCC says it segregates assets and uses multi-signature cold wallets, in its own words, and I could not verify proof of reserves. A FINTRAC registration is an anti-money-laundering listing, not investor protection. If BTCC freezes an account or fails, there is no regulator-backed claim, and its guide notes some withdrawals face compliance review.

Futures Traders Or Buy-And-Hold Buyers?

BTCC is built for the first group. It offers USDT-M and Coin-M perpetuals with leverage up to 500x on selected contracts, copy trading and a demo account, with 112 spot assets and 352 enabled markets. Futures fees at VIP0 are 0.03% maker and 0.055% taker.

Netcoins is for the second. It has 65 coins on its fee page, with Solana added to the permitted list on September 16, 2026, plus staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM and a crypto-backed loan product that pays out CAD the same day (rates not verified). It also runs an OTC desk and a referral program. Phone support is open seven days a week, which is rare enough to mention.

Who Should Choose BTCC And Who Should Choose Netcoins?

My short version: a broker app for buying and holding, and a venue for leverage.

Choose Netcoins if you want to buy and hold with a registered dealer. You want free Interac in and out, 60-plus coins and phone support seven days a week, and you are happy to check the spread yourself.

Read My BTCC Review

Choose BTCC only if you want offshore futures and live outside Ontario and Quebec. You already hold crypto to deposit and accept no regulator-backed claim on your balance.

Visit Netcoins Read My Netcoins Review

BTCC Vs Netcoins: Which One Fits Which Job
If You WantPick
A CSA-registered brokerNetcoins
CAD funding by InteracNetcoins
Perpetual futuresBTCC
A published spot feeBTCC
Phone supportNetcoins

The exchange quiz narrows it down in a minute, and my ranked list of the best crypto exchanges in Canada shows where both sit.

What Has Happened With BTCC And Netcoins?

  • The CSA issued an amended decision for Netcoins, and Solana was added to its permitted list.
  • BTCC Canada Limited's FINTRAC registration was approved. It expires October 15, 2027.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Netcoins Have A Spread?

Yes. Netcoins states there is no separate trading fee and that the price includes its spread, but it does not publish the percentage. The old 0.5% flat fee is gone.

Can I Use BTCC In Quebec?

BTCC's own Canadian guide says Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted. BTCC is not on the CSA list of authorized platforms.

Does Netcoins Offer Loans?

Netcoins offers borrowing of CAD against crypto with same-day funding. I could not verify its rates or loan-to-value ratios, so read the terms before borrowing.

Is Netcoins Owned By A Public Company?

Yes. Netcoins Inc. is owned by Surge Digital Inc. (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets, which changed its name in 2026.

Do BTCC And Netcoins Have Limit Orders?

BTCC: Not verified for Canadians. Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested).

Which Coins Can You Buy On BTCC And Netcoins?

BTCC: 112 spot assets Netcoins: 60+ coins incl. BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, USDC

Is The Spread The Fee On BTCC And Netcoins?

BTCC: BTCC charges maker/taker fees, not a spread. Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee.

Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On BTCC Or Netcoins?

BTCC: CIPF never covers crypto, and BTCC is not a CIPF member. Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto.

Are BTCC And Netcoins Available In Every Province?

BTCC: Ontario and Quebec are restricted per BTCC's own guide; other provinces not named. Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories.

Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On BTCC And Netcoins?

BTCC: No Interac e-Transfer verified on BTCC. Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes.

What Is The Minimum Buy On BTCC And Netcoins?

BTCC: Not published. Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10.

Can A Business Use BTCC Or Netcoins?

BTCC: Not verified. Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!