BTCC is an offshore futures exchange with a Toronto arm registered only for anti-money-laundering. Crypto.com is a CSA restricted dealer with a CAD account. They barely overlap, and the fee data is thinner than I would like.
BTCC Vs Crypto.com: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, BTCC is the better choice (it wins on my ranking). Crypto.com still comes out ahead on canadian status. Crypto.com is best for A broad app with a crypto card.
BTCC is offshore: not registered with the Canadian Securities Administrators, and its terms restrict Canadian residents. No Canadian investor protection applies.
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
BTCC Vs Crypto.com: Master Spec Table
BTCC
Crypto.com
Winner
Company
BTCC Canada Limited, federal corporation, Toronto (FINTRAC M20713346). Terms of Use are with BTCC Limited, Hong Kong (CR 1956541). Operating since 2011.
Foris DAX CAN ULC, an Alberta unlimited liability corporation (Crypto.com Canada). Global brand says trusted since 2016. HQ city, founders, funding, staff: Not published for the Canadian entity.
Depends
Regulation
FINTRAC MSB M20713346, Registered, approved 2020-05-27, expires 2027-10-15. Not on CSA list or banned list. No CIRO. No CIPF for crypto.
CSA restricted dealer (CSA decision May 8, 2025). FINTRAC MSB C100000094, expiry 2027-06-30. Not a CIRO member. AMF: Not verified. CIPF: none for crypto.
Crypto.com
Assets
112 spot-enabled assets; 352 enabled markets including perpetual-only. Order book exchange.
417 spot base assets on the global Exchange; the Canadian app list is narrower and not published. USDT not available to Canadians.
Depends
Price
Spot taker 0.3% and maker 0.2% at VIP0; futures taker 0.055% and maker 0.03%. VIP discounts. Not a spread model.
Canadian app fee schedule Not published. Canada marketing: maker/taker from 0.08%/0.18%. App buys include a spread. Global Exchange L1 0.25%/0.50%.
Depends
CAD In
Not verified. No CAD or Interac funding found.
Interac e-Transfer, free from Crypto.com (CAD 20 to 25,000 per deposit). Other CAD methods Not verified.
Crypto.com
CAD Out
Not verified.
Sell to the CAD Account, then Interac Standard Transfer back. Needs one prior CAD deposit; internal review up to 1-3 business days. Fee Not verified.
Depends
Crypto In And Out
Crypto deposit and withdrawal with network selection and a security review step. Network fees vary, no fixed amounts published.
On-chain deposits and withdrawals supported; networks, minimums and fees Not verified for Canada.
Depends
Custody
Custodial. Claims asset segregation and multi-signature cold wallets (company's own words). Proof of reserves not verified here. Held funds, not self-custody.
Custodial. Cold storage share, insurance and proof of reserves Not verified on a Canadian page.
Tie
Verification (KYC)
KYC and AML checks apply. Time to clear and SIN handling not published.
Government ID and identity verification required before CAD deposits; selfie, address, SIN and clearing time Not verified.
Depends
Account Types
Not published
Personal account confirmed; a business offering exists globally. Joint, TFSA and RRSP Not verified.
Depends
Provinces
11 of 13. Per BTCC's Canadian guide, Ontario and Quebec are restricted. The Terms page itself does not name them. Territories not stated.
Serves Canada via the restricted dealer decision; per-province list and French support Not verified.
Depends
Extra Products
Futures copy trading, demo trading, VIP program, referral rewards. Staking and savings not verified.
Visa prepaid card, staking, Earn, tokenized stocks, prediction markets and perpetuals are advertised globally; Canadian availability Not verified.
Depends
Tax Tools
Not verified.
Not verified for Canada.
Depends
App
iOS 4.32 (1,010 ratings, Canadian store). Android 4.3 (18K reviews, global). Mobile apps and web. French UI not verified.
iOS Canada 4.63 (66,198 ratings); Google Play 4.4 (692K reviews, global total). Web app yes.
Crypto.com
Support
Support Centre exists. Chat, phone, hours and French not verified.
In-app chat and help centre. Phone, hours and French support Not verified.
What Are The Key Differences Between BTCC And Crypto.com?
BTCC Vs Crypto.com: Side By Side
BTCC
Crypto.com
Description
BTCC is a futures-focused crypto exchange operating since 2011. It has a Canadian arm, BTCC Canada Limited, registered with FINTRAC as a money services business, but it is not on the CSA list of platforms authorized to serve Canadians and its own Canadian guide says Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted.
Crypto.com is one of the world's largest crypto platforms and one of the few global exchanges registered to operate in Canada, through Foris DAX CAN ULC as a restricted dealer. It offers its own coin (CRO), staking, a Visa prepaid crypto card with cashback, and an all-in-one app.
Coins
112 spot-enabled assets and 352 enabled markets including perpetual-only (front-end market list, 2026-10-01).
400+ on its global exchange, though the list for Canadians is smaller because registered platforms must restrict certain assets. USDT has not been available to Canadians since 2023-01-31. The exact Canadian app list is not published.
Fees
Spot 0.3% taker and 0.2% maker, futures 0.055% taker and 0.03% maker at VIP0. Leverage up to 500x on selected contracts. CAD funding not verified.
The Canadian app fee schedule is not published. Canada marketing says maker and taker fees from 0.08% and 0.18%; the global Exchange starts at 0.25% maker and 0.50% taker (Level 1). App purchases carry a spread. CAD deposits by Interac e-Transfer are free.
Pros
Operating since 2011
Canadian entity with an active FINTRAC MSB registration (expires 2027-10-15)
Copy trading and demo trading
Futures with high leverage
VIP fee discounts
One of only two major global exchanges registered as a restricted dealer in Canada
Wide range of coins
Suitable for beginners and pro traders
Interac e-Transfer with free deposits
Staking available (assets and rates not verified)
Cons
Not on the CSA list and no CIRO membership
FINTRAC registration is anti-money-laundering only, not securities protection
Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted
CAD funding, withdrawal fees and proof of reserves were not verified
Mixed user feedback on withdrawals and account reviews
Only CAD is accepted for the Canadian CAD Account, no credit or debit card for CAD funding verified
Coin selection in Canada is smaller than the global exchange
App pricing includes a spread on top of quoted fees
USDT delisted for Canadians, and no margin or leverage under restricted dealer conditions
Some altcoins carry annual purchase limits outside BC, AB, MB and QC (see Account Limits)
Customer service is a common complaint, chat-based and often slow (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
Security
BTCC states it uses asset segregation, multi-signature cold wallets, one-to-one asset storage and 2FA. These are the company's own statements, not independent audits, and no CIPF or regulator protection applies to crypto.
Crypto.com describes cold storage and security certifications, but a Canadian page with cold storage share, insurance amount or proof of reserves was not found. Treat those claims as unverified. Crypto.com's own FAQ says nothing about CIPF covering crypto, and CIPF never covers crypto.
Methods To Buy
Crypto deposits are supported. CAD funding methods such as Interac were not verified.
Interac e-Transfer (CAD Account), crypto deposits. Cards and other methods were not verified for Canada.
App
iOS 4.32 across 1,010 ratings (Canadian App Store), Android 4.3 across 18K reviews (global Google Play total).
Apple Canada 4.63 (66,198 ratings), Google Play 4.4 (692K reviews, global store total), checked 2026-10-01.
Account Limits
Not published. Higher withdrawal limits come with VIP levels.
CAD Account deposits CAD 20 to 25,000 each, balance cap CAD 100,000. As a restricted dealer, Crypto.com applies regulator-set net purchase limits on non-major assets;
How Do You Fund And Cash Out BTCC And Crypto.com In Canada?
Crypto.com: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer (Standard Transfer or Request Money)
Free by Standard Transfer (bank may charge); Request Money was reported at 1% capped at CAD 10, not
CAD 20
CAD 25,000 per deposit
Not published on the help page
Crypto.com: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac Standard Transfer
Not published
Not published
Not published
Internal review up to 1-3 business days, then usually instant, up to 30 minutes
CAD funding and withdrawal methods were not verified on any BTCC page. Crypto deposits and withdrawals are documented. Treat BTCC as crypto-funded until a CAD route is shown. Bank-side Interac limits also apply. Per-method fees for withdrawals and card or wire funding were not retrievable.
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On BTCC And Crypto.com?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
BTCC Buy
BTCC Round Trip
Crypto.com Buy
Crypto.com Round Trip
CAD 100
$0.20 to $0.30
$0.40 to $0.60
Not published
Not published
CAD 500
$1.00 to $1.50
$2.00 to $3.00
Not published
Not published
CAD 1,000
$2.00 to $3.00
$4.00 to $6.00
Not published
Not published
CAD 10,000
$20.00 to $30.00
$40.00 to $60.00
Not published
Not published
BTCC: Spot maker 0.2% and taker 0.3% at VIP0 per the BTCC VIP fee table, checked 2026-10-01. Crypto.com: Canadian app fee schedule and spread not published on a fetched page (2026-10-03). Do not compute an all-in cost. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do BTCC And Crypto.com Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
BTCC Only
USDT-M and Coin-M perpetual futures: Leverage up to 500x on selected contracts. Futures fees at VIP0 are 0.055% taker and 0.03% maker. Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted.
Copy trading and demo trading: Futures copy trading and a demo account are offered.
VIP program: Fee discounts, priority support and higher withdrawal limits by VIP level.
Crypto.com Only
CAD Account: Hold CAD, deposit by Interac, balance cap CAD 100,000 (higher for Prime). Sell crypto to CAD and withdraw to your bank.
Welcome Bonus: Canada keeps the legacy milestone-based Welcome Bonus after KYC; the amount was not verified.
What Happens To Your Money If BTCC Or Crypto.com Fails?
BTCC: BTCC Canada Limited is registered with FINTRAC, which is an anti-money-laundering registration, not a securities registration or investor protection. BTCC is not on the CSA list, is not a CIRO member and CIPF never covers crypto. If BTCC fails or freezes your account you have no regulator-backed claim. Its own guide notes some withdrawals face risk or compliance review, and public feedback mentions withdrawal and account-review complaints. High leverage futures can liquidate a position quickly.
Crypto.com:Crypto.com in Canada is a restricted dealer under the CSA, so it must hold client assets with conditions set by regulators, but CIPF never covers crypto. A third-party insurance figure, cold storage share and proof of reserves were not found on a Canadian page, so none can be relied on here. Coins are held by the company until you withdraw. If the company failed or was hacked, you would be an unsecured claimant for anything not recovered, and withdrawals could be paused.
How Are BTCC And Crypto.com Treated For Tax In Canada?
BTCC: Spot sales, crypto-to-crypto trades and futures settlement are dispositions for CRA purposes. No tax export or CRA-ready report was verified, so keep your own records of trades, fees and transfers.
Crypto.com: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling for CAD, swapping one coin for another and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA. Export formats and any CRA-ready report were not verified.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, BTCC Or Crypto.com?
Choose BTCC If
You live outside Ontario and Quebec and want offshore futures: BTCC is the one in this group with a Canadian FINTRAC-registered arm.
You want regulator protection or CAD funding: use a CSA-registered platform instead.
Choose Crypto.com If
You want a mainstream app with a wide coin list and are fine with spread-based pricing
You are not buying on fee transparency alone, since the Canadian fee schedule is not published
BTCC: Offshore Status
Offshore Not registered with the Canadian Securities Administrators, and BTCC's own Canadian guide says Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted. No Canadian investor protection applies. It is the offshore futures venue here with a FINTRAC-registered Canadian arm, which is an anti-money-laundering registration and not a securities one.
Is BTCC Or Crypto.com Better For Canadians In 2026?
Crypto.com, if you want a platform with a regulator behind it. I rank BTCC eighth at 7.0 and leave Crypto.com unranked, so the score does not settle this one. What settles it is the legal footing: Crypto.com holds a CSA restricted dealer decision, and BTCC does not.
BTCC suits a narrow group, offshore futures traders outside Ontario and Quebec who accept no investor protection. Crypto.com suits people who want a broad app, a CAD account and a card ecosystem. Read my Crypto.com review or the BTCC review for the detail.
Which Costs Less When You Actually Trade?
BTCC prices spot at 0.2% maker and 0.3% taker at its entry VIP level, so CAD 1,000 costs CAD 2 to CAD 3. Futures are 0.03% maker and 0.055% taker. These are exchange-style fees with no spread, and VIP levels discount them.
Crypto.com is the opposite problem. Its Canadian fee schedule is not published on a page I could fetch, buys carry a spread, and the headline maker and taker rates apply to the exchange, not to the simple app. I will not put a dollar figure on CAD 1,000 there. What I can say is that its Interac deposits are free by Standard Transfer, and BTCC has no CAD route that I could verify at all.
Which Is Safer For Canadians?
Crypto.com's Canadian entity, Foris DAX CAN ULC, received its CSA restricted dealer decision on 8 May 2025 and holds FINTRAC MSB C100000094 to 30 June 2027. It is not a CIRO member, and CIPF never covers crypto. Cold storage share, insurance and proof of reserves were not verified on a Canadian page.
BTCC's position is easy to misread. BTCC Canada Limited holds FINTRAC MSB M20713346, approved 27 May 2020 and valid to 15 October 2027. But FINTRAC registration is an anti-money-laundering check, not a securities registration, and no investor protection follows from it. BTCC is not on the CSA list, and its own guide notes some withdrawals face compliance review.
Does A FINTRAC Registration Count The Same As A CSA Decision?
No, and this is the heart of the pair. FINTRAC asks whether a company has an anti-money-laundering programme. A CSA restricted dealer decision sets conditions on how client assets are held, how risks are disclosed and how much a retail client can buy. BTCC has the first. Crypto.com has both, plus the FINTRAC registration.
BTCC Vs Crypto.com: Dated Records
Date
Record
Where It Comes From
27 May 2020
BTCC Canada Limited: FINTRAC MSB approved
FINTRAC registry
8 May 2025
Crypto.com: CSA restricted dealer decision, Foris DAX CAN ULC
CSA authorized list
18 Sep 2026
CSA lists updated: Crypto.com authorized, BTCC on neither list
CSA website
15 Oct 2027
BTCC: FINTRAC registration valid until
FINTRAC registry
Who Should Choose BTCC, And Who Should Choose Crypto.com?
Choose Crypto.com if you want a registered app, free Interac deposits and a CAD account, and you can accept a spread you cannot see in advance. Open a Crypto.com account to compare quotes in the order preview first.
Choose BTCC only if you live outside Ontario and Quebec, understand it is offshore, and want leveraged futures. Everyone else is better off on the ranking page. One more practical point on BTCC: its fee table is published and flat, which is more than I can say for Crypto.com's Canadian app, so a reader who values knowing the cost before pressing buy has a real reason to like it. That reason is outweighed by the missing CAD route, the Ontario and Quebec carve-out and the absence of any investor protection.
What Has Happened With BTCC And Crypto.com?
: BTCC Canada Limited was approved on the FINTRAC MSB registry.
: Crypto.com received its CSA restricted dealer decision for Foris DAX CAN ULC.
: The CSA authorized and banned lists were updated. Crypto.com is on the authorized list. BTCC is on neither list.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Crypto.com Charge A Spread In Its App?
Yes. The Canadian app fee schedule was not published on any page I could fetch, but app buys include a spread on top of quoted fees. Canadian marketing mentions maker and taker fees from 0.08% and 0.18%. I would not compute an all-in cost without seeing the order preview.
Can Canadians Use BTCC From Every Province?
Per BTCC's own Canadian guide, Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted, which leaves 11 of 13 provinces and territories on paper. The Terms page itself does not name them, and territories are not stated.
How Does A CAD Account Work On Crypto.com?
You deposit by Interac e-Transfer from CAD 20 to CAD 25,000 per deposit, sell crypto to the CAD Account, and withdraw back to your bank by Interac Standard Transfer. A prior CAD deposit is needed first, and the account balance cap is CAD 100,000.
What Leverage Does BTCC Offer?
BTCC shows leverage up to 500x on selected perpetual contracts. Futures fees at its entry level are 0.055% taker and 0.03% maker. Ontario and Quebec residents are restricted.
Which Has Better Customer Support?
Crypto.com support in Canada is chat-based, and slow replies are a common complaint, which I have not retested. BTCC support was not verified on a primary page, and public feedback mentions withdrawal and account-review complaints.
Do BTCC And Crypto.com Have Limit Orders?
BTCC: Not verified for Canadians. Crypto.com: Not verified for the Canadian app; the global Exchange has an order book.
Which Coins Can You Buy On BTCC And Crypto.com?
BTCC: 112 spot assets Crypto.com: Several hundred globally; Canadian list not published
Is The Spread The Fee On BTCC And Crypto.com?
BTCC: BTCC charges maker/taker fees, not a spread. Crypto.com: App purchases carry a spread on top of any stated fee, so the quoted price is the real cost.
Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On BTCC Or Crypto.com?
BTCC: CIPF never covers crypto, and BTCC is not a CIPF member. Crypto.com: CIPF never covers crypto, and Crypto.com is not a CIRO member.
Are BTCC And Crypto.com Available In Every Province?
BTCC: Ontario and Quebec are restricted per BTCC's own guide; other provinces not named. Crypto.com: Served under a CSA restricted dealer decision; province list not verified.
Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On BTCC And Crypto.com?
BTCC: No Interac e-Transfer verified on BTCC. Crypto.com: Not verified; Interac runs 24/7 but Crypto.com's internal review for withdrawals takes business days.
What Is The Minimum Buy On BTCC And Crypto.com?
BTCC: Not published. Crypto.com: Deposit minimum CAD 20; minimum buy Not published.
Can A Business Use BTCC Or Crypto.com?
BTCC: Not verified. Crypto.com: A business offering exists globally; Canadian business onboarding Not verified.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.