Netcoins is a Vancouver broker app registered with the CSA, and its price includes a spread it does not publish. BloFin lists a clear 0.1% fee, but its terms treat Canada as a restricted location.
BloFin Vs Netcoins: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, BloFin is the better choice (it wins on my ranking). Netcoins still comes out ahead on canadian status.
9.6/10
Offshore, terms prohibit Canada
Experienced traders after low fees on altcoins and futures
65 coins listed on the official fee page (one, Bittensor, is trade-only)
Depends
BloFin is offshore: not registered with the Canadian Securities Administrators, and its terms restrict Canadian residents. No Canadian investor protection applies.
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
BloFin Vs Netcoins: Master Spec Table
BloFin
Netcoins
Winner
Company
Operating entity not named in the Terms of Use. Founder, year founded, HQ and funding not published on a primary page we could verify. Arbitration seat is Hong Kong.
Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.
Depends
Regulation
Not on the CSA list or banned list (list updated 2026-09-18). No CIRO membership. No FINTRAC MSB match (8,662 rows checked 2026-10-01). No CIPF.
CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.
Netcoins
Assets
235 spot assets across 242 live spot pairs; 495 perpetual-swap base assets. Order book exchange. Spot market launched Jan 2024.
65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.
BloFin
Price
Spot 0.1% maker and taker; futures 0.02% maker and 0.06% taker (Regular tier). Not a spread model. No CAD route.
No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.
Depends
CAD In
None. Crypto-funded; fiat only via third-party Buy Crypto providers, unavailable to Canadians.
Interac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.
Netcoins
CAD Out
None published.
Interac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.
Netcoins
Crypto In And Out
On-chain deposits and withdrawals. No platform withdrawal fee, only the network fee shown on screen. No fixed BTC amount published.
On-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.
Tie
Custody
Custodial. Insurance, proof of reserves and cold storage share not verified. If the company fails, a Canadian has no regulator claim.
Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.
Netcoins
Verification (KYC)
Identity verification required before use per the Terms of Use. Time to clear and SIN handling not published. Canadians barred.
Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.
Depends
Account Types
Personal and legal-entity accounts allowed per the Terms. No TFSA or RRSP.
Personal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.
Netcoins
Provinces
0 of 13. Canada is a Restricted Location. No French or Quebec support verified.
Registered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.
Netcoins
Extra Products
Perpetual swaps, copy trading, referral and welcome bonus pages. Staking and savings not verified. Bonuses do not apply to Canadians.
Not verified
Netcoins
Tax Tools
Not verified. No CRA-ready report found.
Not verified.
Depends
App
iOS 4.86 (156 ratings, Canadian store). Android 4.7 (2.84K reviews, global). Web app yes. French UI not verified.
iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.
BloFin
Support
Not verified on a primary page (chat, phone, hours, French).
Phone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.
What Are The Key Differences Between BloFin And Netcoins?
BloFin Vs Netcoins: Side By Side
BloFin
Netcoins
Description
BloFin is a crypto-funded derivatives and spot exchange built for active traders, with perpetual swaps, copy trading and a small spot market. It is not registered in Canada and its Terms of Use name Canada as a Restricted Location, so it is not available to Canadians.
Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
Coins
235 spot assets across 242 live spot pairs and 495 perpetual-swap base assets (public API, 2026-10-01).
60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
Fees
Spot 0.1% maker and 0.1% taker at the base tier. Futures 0.02% maker and 0.06% taker at the Regular tier. No platform withdrawal fee, only the network fee. No CAD funding.
No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
Pros
Low base trading fees
Perpetual swaps with leverage up to 150x per the public API
Copy trading
Highly rated app (4.86 on the Canadian App Store, 4.7 on Google Play)
Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
Free Interac funding and withdrawals
All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
Owned by a publicly traded company
OTC desk for large trades
Cons
Canada is a Restricted Location in the Terms of Use
Not on the CSA list, not a CIRO member, no FINTRAC registration found
No CAD funding, crypto-funded only
No Canadian entity and no CIPF coverage
Proof of reserves, insurance and cold storage share not published on a page we could verify
Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
Wire fees under the free thresholds
Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
Security
Custody, insurance and proof-of-reserves details were not verified on an official page. As an unregistered offshore exchange it gives Canadians no regulator protection.
Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
Methods To Buy
No CAD deposits. BloFin is crypto-funded and fiat goes through third-party Buy Crypto providers. Canadians cannot use it under the Terms of Use.
Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
App
iOS 4.86 across 156 ratings (Canadian App Store), Android 4.7 across 2.84K reviews (global Google Play total).
Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
Account Limits
Not applicable to Canadians. Not published for restricted locations.
Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.
How Do You Fund And Cash Out BloFin And Netcoins In Canada?
Netcoins: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not verified
Not published
typically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wire
Free over CAD 3,000; under that Not published
Not verified
Not published
Not published
Crypto deposit
Free
Not published
Not published
Network speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not published
Not published
Not published
Bank wire
CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000
Not published
Not published
Not published
BloFin is crypto-funded. Fiat goes through third-party providers, and Canada is a Restricted Location, so no Canadian funding route exists under the Terms of Use. Not verified
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On BloFin And Netcoins?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
BloFin Buy
BloFin Round Trip
Netcoins Buy
Netcoins Round Trip
CAD 100
$0.10
$0.20
Not published
Not published
CAD 500
$0.50
$1.00
Not published
Not published
CAD 1,000
$1.00
$2.00
Not published
Not published
CAD 10,000
$10.00
$20.00
Not published
Not published
BloFin: Base-tier spot maker/taker 0.1% each per BloFin help centre (Oct 29 2024) and fee page, checked 2026-10-01. Not usable from Canada. Netcoins:Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do BloFin And Netcoins Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
BloFin Only
Perpetual swaps: 495 base assets (519 swap instruments) with maximum leverage up to 150x per the public API. Futures base fees are 0.02% maker and 0.06% taker. Not available to Canadians.
Copy trading: Listed as a service in the Terms of Use alongside futures and spot trading.
Netcoins Only
Staking:Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.
What Happens To Your Money If BloFin Or Netcoins Fails?
BloFin: BloFin is not registered with the CSA, is not a CIRO member and has no FINTRAC MSB registration, so no Canadian regulator oversees it. CIPF never covers crypto and BloFin is not a member anyway. Because Canada is a Restricted Location, an account opened from Canada through a VPN or false address can be frozen, with funds inside. We could not verify insurance, proof of reserves or cold storage shares. If the exchange fails or is hacked, a Canadian has no regulator to complain to.
Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.
How Are BloFin And Netcoins Treated For Tax In Canada?
BloFin: Spot sales, crypto-to-crypto trades and futures settlement are dispositions for CRA purposes. No tax export or CRA-ready report was verified, so Canadians would have to rebuild records from trade history.
Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, BloFin Or Netcoins?
Choose BloFin If
You want a regulated route: pick a CSA-registered platform instead, BloFin does not serve Canadians.
You wanted perpetual swaps: BloFin is not an option from Canada, so check a registered dealer's derivatives offer.
Choose Netcoins If
You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices
Is BloFin Or Netcoins Better For Canadians In 2026?
Netcoins is the one a Canadian can actually use. BloFin sits at #2 on my ranked list at 9.6. Netcoins is not in my top 10 and has no score from me. That ordering reflects trading cost and range, not eligibility: BloFin's Terms of Use list Canada as a Restricted Location, it is not on the CSA list, it has no CIRO membership, and I found no FINTRAC MSB match.
Netcoins Inc. is a CSA restricted dealer with the BCSC as principal regulator, registered in all provinces plus Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories, and holds FINTRAC MSB M15560893 through October 15, 2027. It is owned by Surge Digital Inc. (TSXV: SRGE), which changed its name from BIGG Digital Assets in 2026. It is not a CIRO member, and CIPF never covers crypto.
What Does An Unpublished Spread Cost Compared To A Published Fee?
This is the honest hard part. BloFin's base spot fee is 0.1% maker and taker, so CAD 1 on CAD 1,000. Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price, and it does not publish the spread percentage. The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. I cannot calculate your cost on Netcoins from a document, and I will not guess one.
What you can do: open the buy screen, look at the quoted price against a live market price, and work out the gap yourself before you confirm. Do that on two dealers and you will see the real difference. The rest of Netcoins' costs are published. Interac e-Transfer deposits and withdrawals are free, wires in are free over CAD 3,000, and a wire out under CAD 25,000 costs CAD 50. On-chain withdrawals are flat per coin, such as 0.00014 BTC or 0.003 ETH, with a minimum of twice the fee.
BloFin has no CAD funding at all, so its 0.1% only applies once you bring in crypto from somewhere else.
Which Is Safer For Canadians?
Netcoins keeps the majority of customer crypto in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks hot wallets and multi-signature controls. It says it is insured, without naming the amount or the insurer, and I found no proof of reserves. If it failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and be an unsecured creditor for the rest.
BloFin is custodial too, with no verifiable insurance, proof of reserves or cold storage share, and no Canadian regulator behind it. With Canada a restricted location, an account opened from here can be frozen with funds inside. Netcoins carries real risks. BloFin carries the same ones and removes the regulator.
Which App Is Easier To Use From Canada?
Netcoins has an iOS rating of 4.53 across 753 Canadian ratings, a web app, and a phone line open seven days a week, 8 am to 2 pm Pacific, plus email and a contact form. It also offers staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM, crypto lending against CAD, an OTC desk and a referral program. Its coin list is 65 coins on the fee page, with Solana added to the permitted list on September 16, 2026.
BloFin is built around perpetual swaps (495 base assets), copy trading and 235 spot assets, and I could not verify its support channels. Bonuses on its pages do not apply to Canadians.
Who Should Choose BloFin And Who Should Choose Netcoins?
My short answer: use a registered broker, then decide whether the spread suits you.
Choose Netcoins if you want a registered broker app. You want 60-plus coins, free Interac funding and cash-out, phone support seven days a week, and you accept an unpublished spread for simple all-in prices.
BloFin is not something I can recommend to Canadians. Its terms restrict Canada and it has no CAD route. The 0.1% fee only matters if you can legally use it, and you cannot.
The CSA issued an amended decision for Netcoins, and Solana was added to its permitted list.
BloFin listed 11 new USDC spot pairs, a spot market it launched in January 2024.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can Canadians Use BloFin?
BloFin's Terms of Use list Canada as a Restricted Location, so Canadians are not permitted to use it. It has no CSA registration, no CIRO membership and no FINTRAC MSB match.
Does Netcoins Publish Its Spread?
No. Netcoins states there is no separate trading fee and that the quoted price includes its spread, but the percentage is not published on the fee page. Compare the quote with a live market price before you buy.
How Do I Contact Netcoins Support?
By phone at +1 844 515 2646, seven days a week, 8 am to 2 pm Pacific, or by email and contact form, seven days, 6 am to 8 pm Pacific. French support was not verified.
Who Owns Netcoins?
Netcoins Inc. of Vancouver, founded in 2014, is owned by Surge Digital Inc. (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets, which changed its name in 2026.
Do BloFin And Netcoins Have Limit Orders?
BloFin: Not verified for Canadians, who cannot use the platform. Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested).
BloFin: BloFin charges maker/taker fees, not a spread. Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee.
Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On BloFin Or Netcoins?
BloFin: CIPF never covers crypto, and BloFin is not a CIPF member. Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto.
Are BloFin And Netcoins Available In Every Province?
BloFin: None, Canada is a Restricted Location in the Terms of Use. Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories.
Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On BloFin And Netcoins?
BloFin: No Interac e-Transfer exists on BloFin. Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes.
What Is The Minimum Buy On BloFin And Netcoins?
BloFin: Not applicable, Canadians cannot fund an account. Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10.
Can A Business Use BloFin Or Netcoins?
BloFin: Legal-entity accounts exist per the Terms, but Canadian entities are barred as residents of Canada. Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.