The Trezor Safe 5 is a USD 129 colour touchscreen with a long coin list, and the BitBox02 is a Swiss open-source device with a Bitcoin-only edition and iPhone support on the Nova.
Trezor Safe 5 Vs BitBox02: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, the Trezor Safe 5 is the better pick because it scores 8.3 against 8.2 on my list. My #1 wallet pick overall is the Trezor Safe 7 (9.6/10).
What Happens If You Lose Your Trezor Safe 5 Or BitBox02?
Trezor Safe 5: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).
BitBox02: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: Instant backup and restore with included microSD card; optionally display the 24 recovery words (BIP-39) for manual backup. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 2 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-10 (Brevo newsletter account abused).
How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?
Price And Shipping To Canada
Wallet
Official Price
Shipping To Canada
Trezor Safe 5
USD 129
not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller
BitBox02
BitBox02 Nova USD 197 (Multi or Bitcoin-only, US shop, 0% VAT shown); BitBox02 (original) USD 168 (US shop, 0% VAT shown). CAD price not shown to the page; shop currencies offered: BTC, CHF, EUR, GBP, USD
Canada shipping not stated
CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.
Which Is More Secure, Trezor Safe 5 Or BitBox02?
This is a mid-range, open-source face-off. The Trezor Safe 5 is USD 129 and sits between the Safe 3 (USD 59) and the Safe 7 (USD 249). The BitBox02 comes as the original at USD 168 or the newer Nova at USD 197, and each is sold as a Multi or a Bitcoin-only edition.
Both publish open-source firmware. The Safe 5 has a single certified EAL6+ secure element, which is the main difference from the Safe 7's three-chip design. The BitBox02 original pairs an ATECC608B chip with a microcontroller, while the Nova has an EAL6+ dual-chip design. BitBox's source has been independently audited. For backups, Trezor offers 12, 20 and 24 word backups plus Shamir multi-share, and BitBox backs up to a microSD card with an option to show 24 words. Both support a passphrase.
Record: the Safe 5 was not affected by Ledger Donjon's March 2025 voltage-glitch attack on the Safe 3, and not by the June 2026 TROPIC01 laser attack, which concerned the Safe 7. Trezor's shared 2026 problems were customer data incidents: ShipMonk (roughly 80,689 customers' order data) and a September Brevo breach that sent phishing from its address (Trezor on Brevo).
BitBox's own record has two 2026 items. On August 17, 2026 its Dixence update disclosed two severe firmware flaws found in internal audits (memory corruption on Multi-edition devices before wallet setup, and a silent-payments flaw that could lock funds to an unintended address), plus a worse impact for a bootloader flaw first fixed in July. They need a malicious host or app, nobody reported theft, the Bitcoin-only edition does not contain the memory flaw, and firmware 9.26.5 fixes them (BitBox post). On September 10, 2026 attackers abused BitBox's Brevo newsletter account to send two phishing campaigns and download the subscriber list; shop orders, apps and devices were not touched (BitBox notice).
Which Is Easier To Use?
The Safe 5 has a 1.54 inch colour touchscreen at 240 x 240 with haptic feedback, runs on USB-C only with no Bluetooth, and Trezor Suite on Android, Mac, Windows and Linux with limited iOS compatibility. The BitBox02 uses a 128 x 64 OLED with touch sliders, the BitBoxApp on Windows, macOS, Linux and Android, and the Nova adds iPhone and iPad through optional encrypted Bluetooth. If you use an iPhone, the Nova has the clearer answer, and the Safe 5 does not.
Which Supports More Coins?
Trezor lists 1000s of coins and tokens plus third-party apps. The BitBox02 Multi edition covers Bitcoin, Litecoin, Cardano, Ethereum, Chainlink, BAT and 1,500+ ERC20 tokens, and the Bitcoin-only edition does only Bitcoin. Trezor is the broader of the two. I keep my ETH, SOL and XRP on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card, and XRP is not on the BitBox list I could source.
Which Costs Less In Canada?
Trezor Safe 5 and BitBox02: price and buying in Canada
Item
Trezor Safe 5
BitBox02
Price As The Maker Shows It
USD 129
BitBox02 Nova USD 197; original BitBox02 USD 168 (US shop; CAD not shown)
Shipping To Canada
Not stated on the pages I could read
Not stated on the pages I could read
Canadian Resellers
Amazon Canada
No Canadian reseller listed
The Safe 5 is cheaper than either BitBox02 model. Trezor's listed Canadian reseller is Amazon Canada, and I could not read BitBox's Canadian shipping terms. BitBox's shop shows USD, CHF, EUR, GBP and BTC, so factor in the exchange rate and any carrier fees, and the CBSA's courier thresholds apply to either.
How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?
Both take deposits from any exchange. Bull Bitcoin pays Bitcoin out on-chain with no fee (minimum 0.001 BTC), which suits the Bitcoin-only BitBox. NDAX asks "Who are you sending to?" above CA$1,000, and "Sending to myself" needs nothing more. See my Trezor Safe 5 review for the device itself.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose the Safe 5 if you want a colour touchscreen, a lower price and a wide coin list, and you do not need iPhone support.
: Trezor disclosed that Ledger Donjon bypassed supply-chain countermeasures on the Safe 3; the Safe 5 was not affected.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Trezor Model Is Best?
I rank the Trezor Safe 7 first. The Safe 5 at USD 129 is the mid-range pick with a colour touchscreen and a single EAL6+ chip, and the Safe 3 at USD 59 is the entry model. See my Safe 5 review.
What Are The Top 3 Crypto Wallets?
My top three are the Trezor Safe 7, Tangem Wallet and Ledger Flex. The Safe 5 and BitBox02 are outside my ranked top seven.
Is Bitbox Any Good?
Yes. It has open-source, audited firmware, a Swiss maker and a Bitcoin-only edition. BitBox disclosed firmware flaws in August 2026, fixed in 9.26.5, and had a September newsletter phishing incident.
Can XRP Be Stored On Trezor?
I keep my ETH, SOL and XRP on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card. Trezor says it supports 1000s of coins and tokens, but XRP is not named on the pages I sourced, so check its list. XRP is not on the BitBox02 Multi list I sourced.
Which Is Cheaper, The Trezor Safe 5 Or The BitBox02?
Trezor Safe 5: USD 129. BitBox02: BitBox02 Nova USD 197 (Multi or Bitcoin-only, US shop, 0% VAT shown); BitBox02 (original) USD 168 (US shop, 0% VAT shown). CAD price not shown to the page; shop currencies offered: BTC, CHF, EUR, GBP, USD.
Is The Trezor Safe 5 Or The BitBox02 Open Source?
Trezor Safe 5: yes: 'Open-source security', transparent public code. BitBox02: yes: firmware is fully open-source (both Nova and original); source independently audited.
Do The Trezor Safe 5 And The BitBox02 Ship To Canada?
Trezor Safe 5: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller. BitBox02: Canada shipping not stated.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.