SafePal Vs Trezor: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 3, 2026

SafePal is the budget, air-gapped option and Trezor is the open-source flagship. Both had customer data incidents in 2026, and the real choice is how much you want to spend and how much polish you want.

SafePal Vs Trezor: Which Is Better For Canadians?

For most Canadians, the Trezor Safe 7 is the better pick because it scores 9.6 against 8.8 on my list.

SafePal S1

8.8/10#5 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada

Trezor Safe 7

9.6/10#1 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
SafePal S1Trezor Safe 7
My Standing8.8 /10 #5 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada9.6 /10 #1 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada
PriceS1 USD 49.99; X1 USD 69.99; S1 Pro USD 89.99USD 249
Secure ElementCC EAL6+ chipTROPIC01 (auditable) plus NDA-free EAL6+ Optiga secure element plus STM32U5 microcontroller: three chips from three vendors
Screen1.3 inch IPS full-colour screen, 320 x 320, buttons2.5 inch colour touchscreen, 520 x 380, 700 nits, Gorilla Glass 3, haptic feedback
Connectionair-gapped: QR codes only, no Bluetooth, WiFi or NFCBluetooth (open-source encrypted), USB-C to USB-C cable, Qi2 wireless charging
Open Sourcepartial: 'essential aspects of the code for private key generation and other important features are open source'yes: Trezor lists 'Open-source security'; firmware changelog and signed binaries published on GitHub
Backupseed phrase; passphrase supported; Cypher metal backup sold separately12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir)
Coins200+ blockchains1000s of coins and tokens; 30+ third-party wallet apps; 70k+ dApps via third-party

See my top 7 crypto wallets for Canadians for the full ranking.

How Do The SafePal S1 And Trezor Safe 7 Compare, Spec By Spec?

Every row comes from the makers’ own pages and published security records, checked October 2026. Where there is no fair winner, the row says so.

SafePal S1 Vs Trezor Safe 7: Master Spec Table
SafePal S1Trezor Safe 7Winner
MakerSafePalSatoshiLabs (Trezor)Depends
My Score And Rank8.8/10, #5 on my list9.6/10, #1 on my listTrezor Safe 7
PriceS1 USD 49.99; X1 USD 69.99; S1 Pro USD 89.99USD 249SafePal S1
Buying In CanadaShips to Canada; Canadian reseller: Kantor LTD.not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised resellerDepends
Secure ElementCC EAL6+ chipTROPIC01 (auditable) plus NDA-free EAL6+ Optiga secure element plus STM32U5 microcontroller: three chips from three vendorsDepends
Open Sourcepartial: 'essential aspects of the code for private key generation and other important features are open source'yes: Trezor lists 'Open-source security'; firmware changelog and signed binaries published on GitHubTrezor Safe 7
Screen And Input1.3 inch IPS full-colour screen, 320 x 320, buttons2.5 inch colour touchscreen, 520 x 380, 700 nits, Gorilla Glass 3, haptic feedbackDepends
Connectionair-gapped: QR codes only, no Bluetooth, WiFi or NFCBluetooth (open-source encrypted), USB-C to USB-C cable, Qi2 wireless chargingDepends
Backup And Recoveryseed phrase; passphrase supported; Cypher metal backup sold separately12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir)Depends
Passphraseyes (PIN & Passphrase)yesDepends
Coins200+ blockchains1000s of coins and tokens; 30+ third-party wallet apps; 70k+ dApps via third-partyTrezor Safe 7
AppSafePal App (also a software wallet and browser extension)Trezor Suite (Android, Mac, Windows, Linux; full iOS compatibility on Safe 7)Depends
Bitcoin-Only Optionno (not offered)Not publishedDepends
Batterybuilt-in rechargeable battery; 400 mAh figure on page may refer to S1 ProLiFePO4, 3.2 V, 330 mAh, overheat protection; Qi2 wireless chargingDepends
Security Record2 documented; latest 2026-08-16: Customer order information accessed6 documented; latest 2026-09-09: Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's addressDepends
Sources For This Table

What Happens If You Lose Your SafePal S1 Or Trezor Safe 7?

SafePal S1: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: seed phrase; passphrase supported; Cypher metal backup sold separately. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 2 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-08-16 (Customer order information accessed).

Trezor Safe 7: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir). Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).

How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?

Price And Shipping To Canada
WalletOfficial PriceShipping To Canada
SafePal S1S1 USD 49.99; X1 USD 69.99; S1 Pro USD 89.99Ships to Canada; Canadian reseller: Kantor LTD.
Trezor Safe 7USD 249not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller

CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.

Which Is More Secure, SafePal Or Trezor?

This is a budget-versus-flagship pairing: the SafePal S1 at USD 49.99 against the Trezor Safe 7 at USD 249. SafePal also sells the X1 (USD 69.99) and the S1 Pro (USD 89.99). Trezor sells the Safe 5 at USD 129 and the Safe 3 at USD 59, and the Safe 3 is the closer match on price.

The S1 is fully air-gapped: QR codes only, with no Bluetooth, WiFi or NFC, and an EAL6+ chip. SafePal says only the essential code for key generation and a few other key features is open source, so the firmware is partly open. The Safe 7 stacks three chips from three vendors (TROPIC01, an EAL6+ Optiga element and an STM32U5), and Trezor publishes its firmware changelog and signed binaries. Air-gapping is a real advantage for the S1, since nothing wireless can be attacked, while the Safe 7 has Bluetooth that Trezor describes as open-source and encrypted.

On records, SafePal had two matters I can source. In February 2021 Kraken Security Labs reported a firmware downgrade attack and tamper-detection weaknesses on the S1, which needed physical access, and SafePal shipped firmware V1.0.24 for the downgrade issue (Kraken's report). On August 16, 2026 SafePal disclosed that an order-tracking plugin flaw exposed name, email, address, phone and purchase data for about 39,798 customers, though not seed phrases, keys or payment data (SafePal's notice).

Trezor's 2026 record is not clean either: Ledger Donjon's June laser attack on the TROPIC01 chip needs the device in hand and lab gear, and Trezor also reported the ShipMonk and Brevo customer data incidents (ShipMonk).

So both brands have had customer data exposure in 2026. That makes phishing the practical threat for owners of either: neither company will ever ask for your seed phrase. My ranking puts the Safe 7 first and the S1 fifth.

Which Is Easier To Use?

The S1 has a 1.3 inch IPS colour screen at 320 x 320 and buttons, a built-in rechargeable battery, and works with the SafePal app, which is also a software wallet and browser extension. Air-gapped QR signing means you scan back and forth with your phone camera, which is slower but simple once learned.

The Safe 7 has a 2.5 inch colour touchscreen at 520 x 380 with haptic feedback, plus Bluetooth, USB-C and Qi2 charging. Trezor Suite runs on Android, Mac, Windows and Linux, with full iOS compatibility for the Safe 7. Day to day it is the smoother device, and it should be for five times the price.

Which Supports More Coins?

SafePal says the S1 handles 200+ blockchains, and offers no Bitcoin-only firmware. Trezor says 1000s of coins and tokens through Suite and more than 30 third-party wallets, with 70,000+ dApps reachable that way. SafePal's chain count is a count of networks, not tokens, so the two numbers are not directly comparable. I keep my ETH, SOL and XRP on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card, so that mix works there.

Which Costs Less In Canada?

SafePal and Trezor: price and buying in Canada
ItemSafePalTrezor
Price As The Maker Shows ItUSD 49.99USD 249 (CAD price not shown to my fetch)
Shipping To CanadaCanada 5 to 8 business days, USD 13, free on 2 or more devicesTrezor says it ships to 200+ countries and any country in its checkout list; Canada is not named on the page
Canadian ResellersKantor LTD. (kantor.ca/cryptocurrency)Amazon Canada

SafePal's price is a fifth of the Safe 7's. It ships to Canada in 5 to 8 business days for USD 13, free on two or more devices, and Kantor LTD. is a listed Canadian reseller. SafePal's metal Cypher backup is sold separately (USD 44.99 per my existing review, which I did not re-fetch). I could not find a SafePal ownership statement on an official page, so I will not guess who owns it.

How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?

Both receive from any exchange. Kraken shows a Travel Rule pop-up on withdrawals of CA$1,000 or more, and Newton requires you to save each external address in its Address Book and confirm it with MFA first. Moving coins between wallets you own is not a taxable disposition per the CRA. My Newton review and Kraken review cover each step.

Which Should You Choose?

Choose SafePal if budget decides it, you like air-gapped QR signing and you hold many different chains. It is a cheap way to get coins off an exchange.

Visit SafePal S1 Read My SafePal S1 Review

Choose Trezor if you want open firmware, a better screen and the strongest ecosystem. For a cheaper Trezor, the Safe 5 and Safe 3 sit between the two.

Visit Trezor Safe 7

The best crypto wallets in Canada page ranks both, and Ledger against SafePal is another useful comparison.

What Has Happened With SafePal And Trezor?

  • : Trezor released Safe 7 firmware 2.12.5.
  • : Trezor's Brevo account was abused to send a fake security alert; Trezor took the domain down within 20 minutes.
  • : SafePal disclosed that about 39,798 customers' order details were exposed; it fixed the flaw and notified customers.
  • : Kraken Security Labs published its findings on the SafePal S1; SafePal released firmware V1.0.24.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is SafePal A Safe Wallet?

The S1 is an air-gapped device with an EAL6+ chip, and a physical-access firmware downgrade issue found by Kraken in 2021 was fixed. In August 2026 SafePal disclosed that about 39,798 customers' order details were exposed, though not seeds, keys or payment data. The wallet itself is sound for modest holdings, but expect phishing attempts.

What Is The Most Trusted Cold Wallet?

Nobody has a spotless record. I judge on openness and how fast problems get fixed, and I rank the Trezor Safe 7 first, Tangem second, Ledger Flex third and SafePal S1 fifth. That is my own ranking after testing, not a lab score.

Can A Trezor Wallet Be Hacked?

Researchers have attacked Trezor devices in labs, most recently Ledger Donjon's June 2026 laser attack on the TROPIC01 chip, which needs physical possession, chip decapsulation and lab gear. Trezor says PIN, funds and backup are not exposed because that chip is one of three layers. Use a passphrase for extra safety.

Who Is SafePal Owned By?

I could not find an ownership statement on an official SafePal page, so I will not name an owner. Check SafePal's own about and legal pages and the company's published terms if ownership matters to you.

Does SafePal Ship To Canada?

Yes. SafePal's shipping page lists Canada at 5 to 8 business days for USD 13, free when you buy two or more devices, and Kantor LTD. is a listed Canadian reseller.

Which Is Cheaper, The SafePal S1 Or The Trezor Safe 7?

SafePal S1: S1 USD 49.99; X1 USD 69.99; S1 Pro USD 89.99. Trezor Safe 7: USD 249.

Is The SafePal S1 Or The Trezor Safe 7 Open Source?

SafePal S1: partial: 'essential aspects of the code for private key generation and other important features are open source'. Trezor Safe 7: yes: Trezor lists 'Open-source security'; firmware changelog and signed binaries published on GitHub.

Do The SafePal S1 And The Trezor Safe 7 Ship To Canada?

SafePal S1: Ships to Canada; Canadian reseller: Kantor LTD.. Trezor Safe 7: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!