In the growing world of cryptocurrencies in Canada, two exchanges emerge as strong contenders: Netcoins and VirgoCX. Both are fully legal and well-regulated Canadian options, Netcoins as a CSA Restricted Dealer backed by a publicly traded parent, VirgoCX as a FINTRAC-registered platform on the CSA’s authorized list that pivoted to a non-custodial model in April 2025. The comparison comes down to custody model, coin range, fee structure and support.
Netcoins Vs VirgoCX: Which Is Better For Canadians?
Netcoins wins by default for Canadians. The OSC lists VirgoCX's restricted dealer registration as suspended effective November 24, 2025, and the CSA list shows it under terms requiring a wind-down of its registrable business. It remains a FINTRAC-registered money services business. Since VirgoCX’s CSA dealer registration is suspended, I recommend Coinbase (9.8/10, #1 on my list): open a Coinbase account.
How Do Netcoins And VirgoCX Compare, Fact By Fact?
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
Netcoins Vs VirgoCX: Master Spec Table
Netcoins
VirgoCX
Winner
Company
Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.
VirgoCX Inc. and VirgoCX Direct Inc. (FINTRAC names), Toronto. Founding year, founders, funding and staff: Not published.
Depends
Regulation
CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.
CSA restricted dealer suspended effective 2025-11-24 (OSC list); CSA list shows wind-down terms. FINTRAC MSB M19955733 expiry 2027-10-21. No CIRO, no CIPF cover of crypto.
Netcoins
Assets
65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.
Not published.
Netcoins
Price
No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.
Not verified; the official fee page was blocked.
Netcoins
CAD In
Interac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.
Interac e-Transfer free (2021 article, not re-confirmed).
Netcoins
CAD Out
Interac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.
Not published.
Netcoins
Crypto In And Out
On-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.
Non-custodial: crypto goes to your own wallet. Details Not published.
Netcoins
Custody
Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.
Custodial accounts wound down from 2025-04-04; remaining assets were sold after the deadline.
Netcoins
Verification (KYC)
Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.
Not published.
Depends
Account Types
Personal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.
Not published.
Netcoins
Provinces
Registered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.
Not published.
Netcoins
Extra Products
Not verified
Not published.
Netcoins
Tax Tools
Not verified.
Not published.
Netcoins
App
iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.
iOS Canada 4.43 (395 ratings), 2026-10-03.
Netcoins
Support
Phone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.
Help centre on virgocx.zendesk.com; channels Not verified.
What Are The Key Differences Between Netcoins And VirgoCX?
Netcoins Vs VirgoCX: Side By Side
Netcoins
VirgoCX
Description
Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
VirgoCX was a Toronto-based platform that served Canadians as a CSA restricted dealer. In April 2025 it ended custodial accounts and moved to a non-custodial service, where crypto goes to your own wallet. The OSC lists its dealer registration as suspended effective November 24, 2025.
Coins
60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
It advertised 90+ coins including BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and USDC before the change. The current list is not published.
Fees
No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
Past tense: Oleg's table cited spreads of 0.95% on BTC and ETH and 1.6% on other assets, with volume tiers. The official fee page is behind a bot check, so this was not re-confirmed and is no longer current.
Pros
Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
Free Interac funding and withdrawals
All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
Owned by a publicly traded company
OTC desk for large trades
Was registered with the CSA as a restricted dealer until suspended
Non-custodial service from April 2025
OTC desk (VirgoCX Wealth)
Still a FINTRAC registered money services business
Cons
Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
Wire fees under the free thresholds
Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
Registration as a dealer suspended effective November 24, 2025
The non-custodial service is not offered under its securities registration, and no regulator has confirmed it is regulated under securities law
No securities-law investor protections for the non-custodial service
Custodial accounts ended; assets left after the deadline were sold
Fee page and coin list could not be verified
Security
Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
Past tense: VirgoCX stopped holding crypto for customers in 2025. No protections under securities law were confirmed for the non-custodial service, and CIPF never covered crypto.
Methods To Buy
Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
Past tense: Interac e-Transfer (free, 2021 help article, not re-confirmed after the 2025 switch).
App
Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
Apple Canada app 'Virgo: Buy Bitcoin, XRP and More' rated 4.43 from 395 ratings (2026-10-03).
Account Limits
Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.
Not published. Custodial accounts ended in 2025; customers must hold crypto in their own wallets.
How Do You Fund And Cash Out Netcoins And VirgoCX In Canada?
Netcoins: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not verified
Not published
typically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wire
Free over CAD 3,000; under that Not published
Not verified
Not published
Not published
Crypto deposit
Free
Not published
Not published
Network speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not published
Not published
Not published
Bank wire
CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000
Not published
Not published
Not published
VirgoCX: CAD Deposits (When It Operated)
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free, no funding minimum (2021 article, not re-confirmed)
None stated
Not published
Not published
Not verified VirgoCX is no longer a registered dealer in Canada; do not treat these methods as current.
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
Netcoins Buy
Netcoins Round Trip
CAD 100
Not published
Not published
CAD 500
Not published
Not published
CAD 1,000
Not published
Not published
CAD 10,000
Not published
Not published
Netcoins:Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Neither publishes a maker and taker schedule because there is no order book: the spread is the fee. If cost matters most, NDAX (flat 0.20%) or Kraken Pro are cheaper places to buy in Canada. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do Netcoins And VirgoCX Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
Netcoins Only
Staking:Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.
What Happens To Your Money If Netcoins Or VirgoCX Fails?
Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.
VirgoCX: The OSC lists VirgoCX's restricted dealer registration as suspended since November 24, 2025, and the CSA list shows terms requiring a wind-down of its registrable business. It stopped holding customer crypto in 2025, so the remaining service is non-custodial and sits outside securities-law investor protections. A FINTRAC MSB registration covers anti-money-laundering rules only. CIPF never covered crypto. Use this platform only if you accept those gaps, or move to a registered dealer.
How Are Netcoins And VirgoCX Treated For Tax In Canada?
Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.
VirgoCX: Past activity on VirgoCX followed the usual rules: selling, swapping or spending crypto are dispositions reportable to the CRA. Check your old statements for cost basis; export tools are Not published.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, Netcoins Or VirgoCX?
Choose Netcoins If
You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices
Choose VirgoCX If
You already hold a VirgoCX history and need to check records
You are looking only for registered Canadian dealers: pick another platform
What Happened To VirgoCX?
VirgoCX is still on the CSA list, but under terms requiring it to wind down its registrable business. It stopped holding crypto for customers in 2025 and now offers only a non-custodial buy-and-sell service that it says is not offered under its securities dealer registration.
The timeline: the CSA issued an amended decision on January 30, 2025, and the custodial wind-down began on April 4, 2025. The transition deadline in VirgoCX's own support article is June 16, 2025 (an earlier announced date was July 3, 2025). Assets remaining after the deadline were force-sold, and customers must hold crypto in their own wallets.
FINTRAC still lists VirgoCX Inc. as registered through October 21, 2027. I could not read VirgoCX's fee page, which sits behind a bot check, so its current spread and coin count are unknown, and I do not use third-party figures. I could not confirm that any securities-law investor protections apply to the non-custodial service.
VirgoCX Status Summary
Detail
Status
Platform
VirgoCX
Key Date
Jun 16, 2025
Status For Canadians
Wound down its custodial service
Sign-Up Link
None. I do not link to platforms Canadians cannot use.
What Is The Timeline For VirgoCX?
Jan 30, 2025: The CSA issued an amended decision requiring VirgoCX to wind down its registrable business.
Apr 4, 2025: VirgoCX's custodial wind-down began.
Jun 16, 2025: The transition deadline in VirgoCX's support article. Remaining assets after it were force-sold.
VirgoCX used to be a custodial exchange that held crypto for its customers. That model is gone.
What Should VirgoCX Users Use Instead?
VirgoCX customers who still need to leave should withdraw to a wallet they control. The registry's pick is Bitcoin Well, a Canadian company that delivers Bitcoin to your own wallet, the same non-custodial model VirgoCX now uses. If you want a platform that still holds coins for you under full securities rules, choose a CSA-registered one instead.
Bitcoin Well: The Registry Pick
Bitcoin Well is an Edmonton, Alberta company (Bitcoin Well Canada Ltd., owned by the TSX Venture-listed Bitcoin Well Inc.) that sells Bitcoin and only Bitcoin. You can buy online by Interac e-Transfer or with cash at its Bitcoin ATMs, and every purchase goes straight to your own wallet. It never holds your coins, which is the point of using it.
Bitcoin Well charges a spread and no separate fees. On the online portal, verified accounts pay 1.5% to buy and 2.0% to sell when funding by Interac e-Transfer. Lite Accounts, which use cash vouchers, pay 4.0% on both sides, and the Lite buy limit is up to $4,950 a day (its buy page also says up to $3,000 a day). ATM and OTC prices are set separately, and ATM fees are shown before you confirm. Withdrawals are free: the rates page says there are no withdrawal fees, account fees or hidden fees.
You fund Bitcoin Well three ways. The online portal takes Interac e-Transfer with no separate fee beyond the spread. More than 160 Bitcoin ATMs take cash. Cash vouchers work with a Lite Account at the higher 4.0% spread. The cash options matter if you want to buy without linking a bank account, though cash costs more than the online route. Selling goes to your bank with no withdrawal fee.
Bitcoin Well Canada Ltd. is a FINTRAC-registered MSB, but it is not on the CSA list of authorized crypto platforms and it is not on the banned list either. The safety story is the model: because Bitcoin goes to your own wallet, there is no pool of customer funds on the platform to be lost. The trade-off is that no securities-regulator investor protections apply, and wallet security becomes your job.
Netcoins is a Canadian crypto platform run by Netcoins Inc., with the BC Securities Commission as its principal regulator. It is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer and FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as a registered money services business through October 2027. It pitches itself at beginners who want to buy, sell and hold crypto in CAD without learning an order book.
Netcoins And Bitcoin Well Verified Facts
Detail
Netcoins
Bitcoin Well
Trading Cost
No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published)
1.5% spread to buy and 2.0% to sell online (verified accounts); 4.0% on Lite Accounts
CAD Deposits
Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published)
Interac e-Transfer with no separate fee (spread applies); cash at 160+ ATMs; cash vouchers on Lite Accounts
CAD Withdrawals
Interac e-Transfer free (cash withdrawal), bank wire $50 under $25,000
Sells to your bank with no withdrawal fees stated; Bitcoin delivered on-chain or by Lightning with no withdrawal fee
Coins
65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only)
Points program (redeem for sats), no cash sign-up bonus found
How Does Netcoins Handle Fees, Funding And Coins?
Fees
Netcoins does not add a separate trading fee. Its fee page says the price you are quoted already includes Netcoins' spread, and it does not publish what that spread is. That makes the real cost hard to compare with a flat-fee platform, because you only see it by comparing the quote against a market price at the moment you trade. My advice is simple: price the same coin and amount on two platforms before you buy. On the cash side, Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Bank wire deposits are free over $3,000, and wire withdrawals under $25,000 carry a $50 processing fee.
Funding
Interac e-Transfer is free both ways, which covers most Canadians. Wires are the expensive route: deposits are free over $3,000 (I could not verify the fee under that amount) and withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50. If you move small amounts, stay on Interac. If you move large amounts, the wire fee is a rounding error and the speed can be worth it.
Coins
Netcoins lists 65 coins on its official fee page, and one of them, Bittensor, is trade-only. That is a mid-sized menu: wider than the Bitcoin-and-Ethereum apps, narrower than the biggest global exchanges. Its restricted dealer terms also apply an investment limit over a rolling 12 months to certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for lower-risk assets listed in the decision. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so check your own limit in the app.
Is Netcoins Safe And Easy To Use?
Netcoins is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer, with amended decisions dated September 16, 2026, September 29, 2025, October 6, 2023 and March 24, 2022 after its original decision of September 29, 2021. It is not on the banned list. FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as registered with an expiry of October 15, 2027. The September 2026 amendment added Solana to the assets exempt from the investment limit. I did not find a verified custody or insurance dollar figure, so I do not quote one.
Netcoins keeps the experience simple: pick a coin, see a quote, buy. That suits beginners, although it gives you no charts or order book to work with. I have not run a support test on Netcoins that I would stand behind in print, so I will not rank it on support here.
What Limits And Extras Does Netcoins Have?
Netcoins applies a rolling 12-month investment limit on purchases and sales for certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for assets listed in the CSA decision. Solana joined the exception list on September 16, 2026. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so your own limit is shown in the app. Bank wires under $25,000 cost $50 to withdraw.
Netcoins is a simple buy, sell and hold service. I could not verify staking, cards or bonuses on its official pages, so I do not credit it with any. If a feature matters to you, confirm it in the app first.
On a $1,000 buy at Netcoins, the cost is not calculable, because the spread is built into the quote and is not published.
How Do You Check A Platform Before Moving Money?
Do four things before you send a dollar to any platform. First, look it up on the CSA list of crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians and on the banned list. Second, search the FINTRAC money services business registry for the legal entity, and read the status and expiry date. Third, read the terms for any clause that restricts Canadian residents. Fourth, send a small test deposit and a small test withdrawal before you move real money. A platform that fails any one of the four is not worth the risk, however good its fees look.
What Are The Pros And Cons Of Netcoins?
Pros
On the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer
Free Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals
65 coins on the official fee page
No separate trading fee, just a spread inside the quote
FINTRAC MSB registration valid to October 2027
Cons
Spread percentage is not published
Wire withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50
Rolling 12-month investment limit applies to certain investors
No advanced trading tools
Should You Open An Account With Netcoins?
Choose Netcoins if you want a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer, and it is open to new Canadian accounts today.
What Changed For VirgoCX And Netcoins In October 2026?
The CSA amended Netcoins' decision, adding Solana to the assets exempt from the rolling investment limit.
The CSA issued an earlier amended decision for Netcoins.
The transition deadline in VirgoCX's support article. Remaining assets after it were force-sold.
VirgoCX's custodial wind-down began.
The CSA issued an amended decision requiring VirgoCX to wind down its registrable business.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is VirgoCX Still Operating?
Only as a non-custodial buy-and-sell service. Its custodial business was wound down in 2025 under CSA terms.
Does VirgoCX Still Hold My Crypto?
No. It stopped holding crypto for customers, and assets remaining after the June 16, 2025 deadline were force-sold.
What Replaces VirgoCX?
Bitcoin Well delivers Bitcoin to your own wallet, the same non-custodial model, and is the registry's pick.
Is Netcoins Better Than VirgoCX Today?
Netcoins is available to Canadians and VirgoCX is wound down its custodial service, so for a new account the answer is Netcoins.
What Does Netcoins Cost To Trade On?
No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published). Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published).
Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested). VirgoCX: Not published.
Which Coins Can You Buy On Netcoins And VirgoCX?
Netcoins: 60+ coins incl. BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, USDC VirgoCX: Not published (90+ advertised before 2025)
Is The Spread The Fee On Netcoins And VirgoCX?
Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee. VirgoCX: Not verified; spreads of 0.95% to 1.6% were reported historically.
Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On Netcoins Or VirgoCX?
Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto. VirgoCX: CIPF never covers crypto.
Are Netcoins And VirgoCX Available In Every Province?
Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories. VirgoCX: Not published.
Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On Netcoins And VirgoCX?
Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes. VirgoCX: Not published.
What Is The Minimum Buy On Netcoins And VirgoCX?
Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10. VirgoCX: Not published.
Can A Business Use Netcoins Or VirgoCX?
Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered. VirgoCX: VirgoCX Wealth OTC existed; current status Not verified.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.