Netcoins Vs Uphold: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 2, 2026

Netcoins and Uphold are two notable cryptocurrency platforms with different approaches to the Canadian market. From a Canadian perspective, though, this comparison is largely one-sided: Uphold exited Canada on June 11, 2025, and is no longer available to new or existing Canadian users. Netcoins, a Vancouver-based platform owned by publicly traded BIGG Digital Assets, remains fully operational in Canada with a clean decade-long track record and a strong regulatory standing.

Netcoins Vs Uphold: Which Is Better For Canadians?

Netcoins wins by default for Canadians. Uphold stopped supporting accounts for Canadian residents on June 11, 2025 and says it hopes to return. Since Uphold no longer operates for Canadians, I recommend Coinbase (9.8/10, #1 on my list): open a Coinbase account.

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
NetcoinsUpholdWinner
Canadian statusCSA-registeredLeft CanadaNetcoins
My rankingNot in my top 10Not in my top 10Tie

Not sure which fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

How Do Netcoins And Uphold Compare, Fact By Fact?

Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.

Netcoins Vs Uphold: Master Spec Table
NetcoinsUpholdWinner
CompanyNetcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.Uphold Operating Canada Ltd. (FINTRAC). Uphold Worldwide Ltd. filed a pre-registration undertaking 2023-03-27 and withdrew it 2025-05-29. HQ, founder, funding: Not published.Depends
RegulationCSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.FINTRAC MSB M21639172 Expired 2026-01-27. CSA undertaking withdrawn 2025-05-29. Not on the CSA authorized or banned list.Netcoins
Assets65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.200+ coins plus metals and national currencies, not accessible from Canada.Netcoins
PriceNo separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.Spread, historically about 1.8% on crypto for Canadian users, more on metals.Netcoins
CAD InInterac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.No longer available to Canadians. Deposits ended.Netcoins
CAD OutInterac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.Interac only, CAD 10,000 per transaction, CAD 100,000 per day, for balances left after the deadline.Netcoins
Crypto In And OutOn-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.No longer available to CanadiansNetcoins
CustodyCustodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.Roughly 90% in cold storage with reserve information published, per old row. Remaining Canadian crypto was converted to CAD after 2025-09-08.Netcoins
Verification (KYC)Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.No longer available to CanadiansDepends
Account TypesPersonal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.No longer available to CanadiansNetcoins
ProvincesRegistered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.No longer available to CanadiansNetcoins
Extra ProductsNot verifiedNo longer available to CanadiansNetcoins
Tax ToolsNot verified.No longer available to CanadiansNetcoins
AppiOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.iOS about 4.6; Google Play Not verified. Login and CAD withdrawal only for Canadians.Netcoins
SupportPhone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.No longer available to CanadiansNetcoins
Sources For This Table

What Are The Key Differences Between Netcoins And Uphold?

Netcoins Vs Uphold: Side By Side
NetcoinsUphold
DescriptionNetcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.Uphold is a multi-asset platform offering 200+ cryptocurrencies, precious metals and national currencies, with its signature Anything to Anything trading. As of 2025-06-11 it stopped supporting Canadian accounts due to changes in its operating environment, and says it is working on plans to return in the future.
Coins60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.200+ cryptocurrencies, not accessible from Canada.
FeesNo separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).Uphold priced trades with spreads, historically around 1.8% on crypto for Canadian users and higher on metals, and its fees always ran high compared with dedicated crypto exchanges.
Pros
  • Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
  • Free Interac funding and withdrawals
  • All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
  • Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
  • Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
  • Owned by a publicly traded company
  • OTC desk for large trades
  • Wide range of cryptocurrencies, including lesser-known assets
  • Multi-asset trading across crypto, metals and currencies
  • Anything to Anything swaps in seconds
  • Recurring buy and sell orders
Cons
  • Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
  • Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
  • No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
  • Wire fees under the free thresholds
  • Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
  • Not available in Canada since 2025-06-11
  • High spreads compared to dedicated exchanges
  • Canadians who missed the 2025-09-08 withdrawal deadline had remaining crypto converted to CAD
SecurityMajority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.2FA required before transferring funds, roughly 90% of digital assets in cold storage, compliance with OFAC and Bank Secrecy Act requirements, published reserve information and regular audits.
Methods To BuyInterac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.Canadians cannot buy on Uphold. The withdrawal deadline was 2025-09-08 and remaining crypto was converted to CAD, which accounts with balances can withdraw by Interac. Do not leave it sitting there, since unclaimed funds may eventually be surrendered under unclaimed property laws. Vault users can withdraw through the Vault Recovery Site while they hold their private keys; Uphold keeps its Vault key for only 12 months after account closure.
AppNetcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.iOS app rated about 4.6. Google Play rating Not verified (our old rows disagree). For Canadians the app only serves to log in and withdraw CAD.
Account LimitsRestricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.New Canadian accounts cannot be opened. Existing accounts are CAD-withdrawal-only via Interac, with limits of CAD 10,000 per transaction and CAD 100,000 per day.

How Do You Fund And Cash Out Netcoins And Uphold In Canada?

Netcoins: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot verifiedNot publishedtypically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wireFree over CAD 3,000; under that Not publishedNot verifiedNot publishedNot published
Crypto depositFreeNot publishedNot publishedNetwork speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Bank wireCAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000Not publishedNot publishedNot published
Uphold: CAD Withdrawals (When It Operated)
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferNot publishedNot publishedCAD 10,000 per transaction, CAD 100,000 per dayNot published

Not verified Canadian crypto remaining after 2025-09-08 was converted to CAD. Withdraw by logging in. Unclaimed funds may eventually be surrendered under unclaimed property laws.

What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins?

Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
AmountNetcoins BuyNetcoins Round Trip
CAD 100Not publishedNot published
CAD 500Not publishedNot published
CAD 1,000Not publishedNot published
CAD 10,000Not publishedNot published

Netcoins: Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Neither publishes a maker and taker schedule because there is no order book: the spread is the fee. If cost matters most, NDAX (flat 0.20%) or Kraken Pro are cheaper places to buy in Canada. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.

What Do Netcoins And Uphold Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?

Netcoins Only

  • Staking: Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
  • Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
  • OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
  • Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.

Uphold Only

  • Anything to Anything: One-step swaps between crypto, metals and currencies. Not available to Canadians.
  • Vault: Self-held Vault accounts can be recovered through the Vault Recovery Site while you hold your private keys; Uphold keeps its Vault key 12 months after closure.

What Happens To Your Money If Netcoins Or Uphold Fails?

Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.

Uphold: Uphold's pre-registration undertaking was withdrawn and its Canadian MSB registration expired, so no Canadian regulator covers a leftover balance. Crypto left after 2025-09-08 was converted to CAD and can still be withdrawn by Interac; do not leave it there, because unclaimed funds may be surrendered under unclaimed property laws. Vault users must act within the 12-month key window. Uphold says it hopes to return, but no date exists.

How Are Netcoins And Uphold Treated For Tax In Canada?

Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.

Uphold: The forced conversion to CAD after 2025-09-08 was a disposition, and trades on Uphold were dispositions for CRA purposes. Export your full history while you can still log in. Export formats: Not published.

Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Should You Choose, Netcoins Or Uphold?

Choose Netcoins If

  • You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
  • You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
  • You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices

Choose Uphold If

  • You want a registered platform that serves Canadians today: Coinbase is our number one replacement, with free Interac e-Transfer funding and a Canadian restricted dealer registration.

What Happened To Uphold?

Uphold stopped supporting accounts for Canadian residents on June 11, 2025 and says it hopes to return. It gave no reason beyond "recent changes in our operating environment".

The timeline: Uphold filed a Pre-Registration Undertaking on March 27, 2023 and delivered a notice of withdrawal on May 29, 2025, per the CSA's crypto undertakings page. Canadians had until September 8, 2025 to withdraw. After that deadline, remaining crypto was converted to CAD. Accounts that still hold a balance are CAD-withdrawal-only through Interac, with limits of $10,000 per transaction and $100,000 per day.

FINTRAC lists Uphold Operating Canada Ltd.'s MSB registration as expired on January 27, 2026.

Uphold Status Summary
DetailStatus
PlatformUphold
Key DateJun 11, 2025
Status For CanadiansNo longer available to Canadians
Sign-Up LinkNone. I do not link to platforms Canadians cannot use.

What Is The Timeline For Uphold?

  • May 29, 2025: Uphold delivered its notice of withdrawal to the CSA.
  • Jun 11, 2025: Uphold stopped supporting accounts for Canadian residents.
  • Sep 8, 2025: The deadline passed. Remaining crypto in Canadian accounts was converted to CAD.

Uphold was a multi-asset app that let you hold currencies, crypto and metals in one place.

What Should Uphold Users Use Instead?

If you still hold an Uphold balance, it should be in CAD and you can withdraw it by Interac. For a replacement, the registry points to Wealthsimple Crypto, a registered mainstream platform with simple CAD funding for a casual multi-asset buyer.

Wealthsimple Crypto: The Registry Pick

Wealthsimple Crypto is run by Wealthsimple Investments Inc., a registered investment dealer and CIRO member that operates a crypto asset trading platform. It was approved with a CSA decision in December 2023 and amended on December 22, 2025. It sits inside the same app as Wealthsimple's investing accounts, which is its biggest draw.

Wealthsimple charges a flat 0.5% Baseline Trading Fee on every order, and market orders add a price spread on top. Its own example is 0.50% fee plus 1.00% spread, or 1.50%. Limit orders carry no spread. Active Trader status removes the spread: the fee is 0.5% under $10,000 of 30-day volume, 0.35% from $10,000 to $100,000, 0.25% to $500,000, 0.15% to $1M, 0.10% to $10M, 0.05% to $15M and 0% above that. Any order under $100 carries a $1 surcharge. Staking rewards are shared 70/30 for Core and Premium clients, or 85/15 for Generation.

Interac e-Transfer is free to fund, up to $10,000 per transfer or your bank's sending limit. You can also use a linked debit card or move money from a Wealthsimple chequing account, though I could not verify those fees. Crypto withdrawals are capped at about $10,000 a day and $25,000 a week across all coins, per a summary of the help centre, and the network fee is shown before you send.

Wealthsimple Investments Inc. appears on CIRO's list of dealers with membership terms (imposed January 1, 2024) and on the CSA list. Its crypto page says insurance is held by Wealthsimple and its custodial partners, who have over $75M each in cold storage coverage, and that crypto is held in trust. Cash is covered by CIPF while crypto is not.

Visit Wealthsimple Crypto Read My Wealthsimple Crypto Review

Netcoins: The Other Side Of This Comparison

Netcoins is a Canadian crypto platform run by Netcoins Inc., with the BC Securities Commission as its principal regulator. It is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer and FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as a registered money services business through October 2027. It pitches itself at beginners who want to buy, sell and hold crypto in CAD without learning an order book.

Netcoins And Wealthsimple Crypto Verified Facts
DetailNetcoinsWealthsimple Crypto
Trading CostNo separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published)0.5% flat fee plus a spread on market orders; Active Trader tiers from 0.5% down to 0%
CAD DepositsInterac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published)Interac e-Transfer free (up to $10,000 per transfer or your bank's limit)
CAD WithdrawalsInterac e-Transfer free (cash withdrawal), bank wire $50 under $25,000CAD withdrawal fee not retrieved; crypto withdrawals up to $10,000 daily and $25,000 weekly
Coins65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only)170+ coins
RegulationCSA list, restricted dealer (latest amended decision September 16, 2026), FINTRAC MSBCSA list, CIRO investment dealer member, FINTRAC MSB
StakingNot verified in my sourcesYes, up to 5% per year, fee 30% (Core and Premium) or 15% (Generation)
App Ratings (Canada)Not checkedApple 4.62 (129,832 ratings), Google Play 4.1
Sign-Up BonusNo sign-up bonus on fileNo bonus confirmed

How Does Netcoins Handle Fees, Funding And Coins?

Fees

Netcoins does not add a separate trading fee. Its fee page says the price you are quoted already includes Netcoins' spread, and it does not publish what that spread is. That makes the real cost hard to compare with a flat-fee platform, because you only see it by comparing the quote against a market price at the moment you trade. My advice is simple: price the same coin and amount on two platforms before you buy. On the cash side, Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Bank wire deposits are free over $3,000, and wire withdrawals under $25,000 carry a $50 processing fee.

Funding

Interac e-Transfer is free both ways, which covers most Canadians. Wires are the expensive route: deposits are free over $3,000 (I could not verify the fee under that amount) and withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50. If you move small amounts, stay on Interac. If you move large amounts, the wire fee is a rounding error and the speed can be worth it.

Coins

Netcoins lists 65 coins on its official fee page, and one of them, Bittensor, is trade-only. That is a mid-sized menu: wider than the Bitcoin-and-Ethereum apps, narrower than the biggest global exchanges. Its restricted dealer terms also apply an investment limit over a rolling 12 months to certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for lower-risk assets listed in the decision. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so check your own limit in the app.

Is Netcoins Safe And Easy To Use?

Netcoins is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer, with amended decisions dated September 16, 2026, September 29, 2025, October 6, 2023 and March 24, 2022 after its original decision of September 29, 2021. It is not on the banned list. FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as registered with an expiry of October 15, 2027. The September 2026 amendment added Solana to the assets exempt from the investment limit. I did not find a verified custody or insurance dollar figure, so I do not quote one.

Netcoins keeps the experience simple: pick a coin, see a quote, buy. That suits beginners, although it gives you no charts or order book to work with. I have not run a support test on Netcoins that I would stand behind in print, so I will not rank it on support here.

What Limits And Extras Does Netcoins Have?

Netcoins applies a rolling 12-month investment limit on purchases and sales for certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for assets listed in the CSA decision. Solana joined the exception list on September 16, 2026. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so your own limit is shown in the app. Bank wires under $25,000 cost $50 to withdraw.

Netcoins is a simple buy, sell and hold service. I could not verify staking, cards or bonuses on its official pages, so I do not credit it with any. If a feature matters to you, confirm it in the app first.

On a $1,000 buy at Netcoins, the cost is not calculable, because the spread is built into the quote and is not published.

How Do You Check A Platform Before Moving Money?

Do four things before you send a dollar to any platform. First, look it up on the CSA list of crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians and on the banned list. Second, search the FINTRAC money services business registry for the legal entity, and read the status and expiry date. Third, read the terms for any clause that restricts Canadian residents. Fourth, send a small test deposit and a small test withdrawal before you move real money. A platform that fails any one of the four is not worth the risk, however good its fees look.

What Are The Pros And Cons Of Netcoins?

Pros

  • On the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer
  • Free Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals
  • 65 coins on the official fee page
  • No separate trading fee, just a spread inside the quote
  • FINTRAC MSB registration valid to October 2027

Cons

  • Spread percentage is not published
  • Wire withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50
  • Rolling 12-month investment limit applies to certain investors
  • No advanced trading tools

Should You Open An Account With Netcoins?

Choose Netcoins if you want a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer, and it is open to new Canadian accounts today.

Visit Netcoins Read My Netcoins Review

Not sure which platform fits you? The exchange quiz takes a minute, and my ranked list of the best crypto exchanges in Canada shows every option I have tested.

What Changed For Uphold And Netcoins In October 2026?

  • The CSA amended Netcoins' decision, adding Solana to the assets exempt from the rolling investment limit.
  • The CSA issued an earlier amended decision for Netcoins.
  • The deadline passed. Remaining crypto in Canadian accounts was converted to CAD.
  • Uphold stopped supporting accounts for Canadian residents.
  • Uphold delivered its notice of withdrawal to the CSA.

Frequently Asked Questions

Did Uphold Leave Canada?

Yes. Uphold stopped supporting accounts for Canadian residents on June 11, 2025 and says it hopes to return.

Can I Still Withdraw From Uphold In Canada?

Accounts with balances are CAD-withdrawal-only by Interac, with limits of $10,000 per transaction and $100,000 per day.

What Replaces Uphold For Canadians?

Wealthsimple Crypto is the registry's pick for a casual multi-asset buyer, with simple CAD funding and CIRO investment dealer status.

Is Netcoins Better Than Uphold Today?

Netcoins is available to Canadians and Uphold is no longer available to Canadians, so for a new account the answer is Netcoins.

What Does Netcoins Cost To Trade On?

No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published). Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published).

Is Netcoins Regulated In Canada?

Netcoins: CSA list, restricted dealer (latest amended decision September 16, 2026), FINTRAC MSB.

Do Netcoins And Uphold Have Limit Orders?

Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested). Uphold: Not applicable.

Which Coins Can You Buy On Netcoins And Uphold?

Netcoins: 60+ coins incl. BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, USDC Uphold: 200+ globally, none for Canadians

Is The Spread The Fee On Netcoins And Uphold?

Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee. Uphold: No longer applicable.

Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On Netcoins Or Uphold?

Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto. Uphold: CIPF never covers crypto, and this platform no longer serves Canadians.

Are Netcoins And Uphold Available In Every Province?

Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories. Uphold: No longer available in any province.

Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On Netcoins And Uphold?

Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes. Uphold: No longer applicable.

What Is The Minimum Buy On Netcoins And Uphold?

Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10. Uphold: No longer applicable.

Can A Business Use Netcoins Or Uphold?

Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered. Uphold: No longer applicable.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!