Netcoins Vs Coinbase: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 2, 2026

As the field of cryptocurrency trading expands, it becomes crucial to assess and compare leading platforms. In this comparison, we’re focusing on two major players, Netcoins and Coinbase. Both are well-regulated Canadian options, Netcoins as a CSA Restricted Dealer backed by publicly traded BIGG Digital Assets, and Coinbase as the first international exchange to achieve restricted dealer registration in Canada in April 2024 and the first crypto company in the S&P 500. The comparison comes down to fee structure, coin range, support model and which regulatory credibility story matters more to you.

Netcoins Vs Coinbase: Which Is Better For Canadians?

For most Canadians, Coinbase is the better choice (it wins on my ranking).

Coinbase logo9.8/10
CSA-registered (Restricted Dealer)

First-time buyers who want a regulated, simple app

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
NetcoinsCoinbaseWinner
Canadian statusCSA-registeredCSA-registered (Restricted Dealer)Tie
My rankingNot in my top 10#1 of 10, 9.8/10Coinbase
Published trading feeNo separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (spread percentage not published on the fee page)Up to 1.875% on simple buys, plus spreadDepends
CAD funding[{"method": "Interac e-Transfer", "fee": "free (deposit and cash withdrawal)"}, {"method": "Bank wire", "fee": "depositsFree Interac e-Transfer and EFTTie
Coins available65 coins listed on the official fee page (one, Bittensor, is trade-only)200+Depends

Not sure which fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

How Do Netcoins And Coinbase Compare, Fact By Fact?

Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.

Netcoins Vs Coinbase: Master Spec Table
NetcoinsCoinbaseWinner
CompanyNetcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.Coinbase Canada, Inc. (BC1279128), unit of Coinbase Global, Inc. (Nasdaq: COIN). Founded 2012, San Francisco, by Brian Armstrong and Fred Ehrsam. Public company. Staff not sourced.Depends
RegulationCSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.CSA Restricted Dealer in all provinces and territories (Decision 2024-04-03, amended 2026-04-01). FINTRAC MSB M22815925, expires 2027-03-06. Not a CIRO member. CIPF never covers crypto or cash here.Tie
Assets65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.200+ assets on the Canadian site, order book on Coinbase Advanced. USDT, DAI and RAI not available to Canadians. No official Canadian coin list is published.Coinbase
PriceNo separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.Simple buy: spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% (varies by payment method), 1% extra on simple limit orders. Advanced: no spread, Canadian maker/taker rates not published.Depends
CAD InInterac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.Free: Interac e-Transfer and EFT. Wire, 3D Secure card and PayPal fees are not published.Tie
CAD OutInterac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.Interac e-Transfer, EFT and PayPal cash-out supported. Fee not published ('may be charged a fee depending on the payment method').Depends
Crypto In And OutOn-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.On-chain sends and receives, Lightning sends (0.2% processing fee). Coinbase pays and passes on an estimated network fee at send time. USDT withdrawals carry 0.01% (max 20 USDT).Coinbase
CustodyCustodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.Custodial. Coinbase says it holds customer assets 1:1, in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company. No insurance figure or proof of reserves on the Canadian pages.Netcoins
Verification (KYC)Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.Government ID (Canadian licence, passport, PR card and others) plus a selfie, address must match the ID, status normally within 24 hours. A suitability questionnaire is mandatory. SIN not stated.Depends
Account TypesPersonal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.Personal account. Business and institutional accounts exist at Coinbase but Canadian availability is not verified. No TFSA or RRSP.Netcoins
ProvincesRegistered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.All provinces and territories incl. Quebec. Net purchase caps on non-major assets in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU, YT. French support not verified.Tie
Extra ProductsNot verifiedStaking (35% commission), USDC rewards, Coinbase One subscription, DEX trading, signup banner 'up to CA$200' (terms not verified). Derivatives only for qualified Canadian investors.Tie
Tax ToolsNot verified.Coinbase Taxes gives a gain/loss report and raw transaction history as CSV, plus Canadian annual performance and charges reports. No CRA-formatted report or Koinly link confirmed.Depends
AppiOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.iOS 4.56 (65,030 ratings, Canada store), Google Play 4.4 (about 929K reviews, global). Web app yes. 2FA yes, price alerts yes. French UI not verified.Netcoins
SupportPhone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.24/7 live chat, phone and email per Coinbase pages, formal complaints process. Support quality described as inconsistent in our earlier test. French support not verified.Coinbase
Sources For This Table

What Are The Key Differences Between Netcoins And Coinbase?

Netcoins Vs Coinbase: Side By Side
NetcoinsCoinbase
DescriptionNetcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.Founded in 2012, Coinbase is one of the world's best-known cryptocurrency exchanges. It is a public company (Nasdaq: COIN) and an S&P 500 component. In April 2024 it became the first international exchange registered with the CSA as a Restricted Dealer in Canada, and it offers a simple interface that makes it a popular starting point for beginners.
Coins60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.200+ available to Canadians, including BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and LTC. USDT, DAI and RAI are not available to Canadians, in line with CSA stablecoin guidance.
FeesNo separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).Free CAD deposits via Interac e-Transfer and EFT | Simple interface: a spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% (varies by payment method), the expensive way to buy | Simple limit orders add a separate 1% execution fee | Advanced: no spread because you trade against the order book, but the Canadian maker/taker rate table is not published on a public page | Coinbase One subscription waives the Coinbase fee on simple buys and sells (spread still applies, Advanced and the 1% limit fee excluded) | Staking commission 35%
Pros
  • Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
  • Free Interac funding and withdrawals
  • All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
  • Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
  • Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
  • Owned by a publicly traded company
  • OTC desk for large trades
  • First international exchange registered as a Restricted Dealer in Canada, plus a FINTRAC MSB registration
  • Free Interac e-Transfer and EFT deposits
  • Simple, polished interface, great for beginners
  • Advanced has no spread, an order book and limit orders
  • Staking available, and USDC rewards
  • Publicly traded S&P 500 company with audited financials
  • 2FA is switched on automatically, with security key support
Cons
  • Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
  • Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
  • No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
  • Wire fees under the free thresholds
  • Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
  • Simple interface fees are high, so use Advanced for anything sizeable
  • Staking commission is steep (35% of rewards)
  • Customer support quality is inconsistent
  • Strict name matching on payment methods can cause held or failed deposits
  • Crypto assets are not covered by CIPF or CDIC
  • No Canadian rate table for Advanced is published openly
SecurityMajority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.2FA auto-enrolled with security key support, multi-approval withdrawals in Coinbase Vault, a bug bounty program, and full KYC. Coinbase says it holds customer assets 1:1 and does not lend them without permission, and it publishes audited financials as a public company. Canadian pages publish no insurance dollar figure or cold storage percentage.
Methods To BuyInterac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.Interac e-Transfer (adds cash) | EFT bank transfer | 3D Secure debit or credit card | PayPal | Wire (adds cash)
AppNetcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.iOS 4.56 on the Canadian App Store (65,030 ratings), Google Play 4.4 (about 929K reviews, global). Web app available. Price alerts and a loss-notification feature required by Canadian rules.
Account LimitsRestricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.Net purchase caps apply to assets other than BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, BCH and LTC: CAD 30,000 per rolling 12 months in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU and YT, no cap in AB, BC, MB, SK and QC. Answers to the onboarding questionnaire can instead cap a new account at CAD 1,000 per rolling 12 months until the profile is updated. BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, BCH and LTC are unlimited.

How Do You Fund And Cash Out Netcoins And Coinbase In Canada?

Netcoins: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot verifiedNot publishedtypically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wireFree over CAD 3,000; under that Not publishedNot verifiedNot publishedNot published
Crypto depositFreeNot publishedNot publishedNetwork speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Bank wireCAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000Not publishedNot publishedNot published
Coinbase: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedNot publishedup to 5 minutes
Bank account (EFT)FreeNot publishedNot publishedcredited instantly
Wire transferNot publishedNot publishedNot published1 to 3 business days
3D Secure cardNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant
PayPalNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant
Coinbase: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedup to 5 minutes
Bank account (EFT)Not publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant
PayPalNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedinstant

Not verified Coinbase publishes no minimums, maximums or cash-out fees for Canada, so the bank-side limit is the practical cap. Payment method name must match the Coinbase account name or the deposit goes to manual review for one to three business days.

What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins And Coinbase?

Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
AmountNetcoins BuyNetcoins Round TripCoinbase BuyCoinbase Round Trip
CAD 100Not publishedNot published$0.00 to $1.88$0.00 to $3.75
CAD 500Not publishedNot published$0.00 to $9.38$0.00 to $18.75
CAD 1,000Not publishedNot published$0.00 to $18.75$0.00 to $37.50
CAD 10,000Not publishedNot published$0.00 to $187.50$0.00 to $375.00

Netcoins: Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Coinbase: High end is the Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% on simple buys and sells (varies by payment method), checked 2026-10-03, with a spread on top that is shown only in the order preview and a separate 1% on simple limit orders. Low end is the 0% maker rate Coinbase advertises for Advanced, but the Canadian rate table is not public. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.

What Do Netcoins And Coinbase Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?

Netcoins Only

  • Staking: Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
  • Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
  • OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
  • Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.

Coinbase Only

  • Coinbase Advanced: Order book trading with no spread, limit orders and charting. The Canadian maker/taker table is shown only after signing in, so the rate is not published here.
  • Staking: Standard commission 35% of rewards for ADA, ATOM, AVAX, DOT, ETH, MATIC, SOL and XTZ, lower for Coinbase One tiers (31.75%, 28.5%, 25.25%). Canadians must pass a staking appropriateness questionnaire, repeated every 12 months.
  • Coinbase One: Subscription that waives the Coinbase fee on simple buys and sells, with a spread still included. It excludes Advanced and the 1% limit order fee. Subscription price not retrieved.
  • USDC rewards: Rewards on USDC balances, not guaranteed and not covered by CIPF or CDIC. The advertised rate (up to 3.75% APY) was seen on the navigation menu only.
  • Derivatives for eligible investors: Futures through Coinbase Financial Markets launched 2026-09-02 for eligible Canadian investors only, not retail.

What Happens To Your Money If Netcoins Or Coinbase Fails?

Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.

Coinbase: The CSA Restricted Dealer decision gives regulator oversight, a suitability questionnaire, loss notifications and purchase caps, but it is not deposit insurance. Coinbase says fiat and crypto are not protected by CIPF or CDIC. Customer assets sit in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company, and the Canadian pages publish no insurance figure or proof of reserves, so the 1:1 holding promise rests on Coinbase's own statement and public-company audits. Account holds on mismatched names or EFT deposits can lock funds for days.

How Are Netcoins And Coinbase Treated For Tax In Canada?

Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.

Coinbase: Buying crypto with CAD is not a disposition, but selling, converting one coin to another, spending, and staking rewards are taxable events. Coinbase Taxes gives a gain/loss report and a transaction history as CSV; you still file the Schedule 3 yourself.

Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Should You Choose, Netcoins Or Coinbase?

Choose Netcoins If

  • You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
  • You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
  • You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices

Choose Coinbase If

  • You want a large public company with a simple app and a CSA-registered Canadian entity.
  • You are comfortable using Advanced rather than the simple buy screen, which costs far more.
  • You want free Interac e-Transfer or EFT funding and a wide altcoin list.

What Are The Main Differences Between Netcoins And Coinbase?

Netcoins is a Canadian crypto platform run by Netcoins Inc., with the BC Securities Commission as its principal regulator. It is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer and FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as a registered money services business through October 2027. It pitches itself at beginners who want to buy, sell and hold crypto in CAD without learning an order book.

Coinbase Canada, Inc. is the Canadian arm of the best-known crypto exchange in the world. It is a CSA Restricted Dealer in every province and territory, with a Decision dated April 3, 2024 and an Amended Decision dated April 1, 2026, and it is registered with FINTRAC as an MSB. For beginners it is the easiest on-ramp in the country.

The short version: choose Netcoins for a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration, and Coinbase for the biggest coin menu and the most polished beginner app. The sections below show where each one wins and where it does not, using the numbers I could verify.

Netcoins Vs Coinbase At A Glance
DetailNetcoinsCoinbase
Trading CostNo separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published)Simple buy: spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875%; Advanced Canada rate table not verified
CAD DepositsInterac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published)Interac e-Transfer free, EFT free, card and PayPal also available
CAD WithdrawalsInterac e-Transfer free (cash withdrawal), bank wire $50 under $25,000Cash out by Interac e-Transfer and EFT; fee not published
Coins65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only)200+ assets
RegulationCSA list, restricted dealer (latest amended decision September 16, 2026), FINTRAC MSBCSA Restricted Dealer (Amended Decision April 1, 2026), FINTRAC MSB
StakingNot verified in my sourcesYes, ETH, ADA, SOL, ATOM and XTZ up to 10% APY, standard commission 35%
App Ratings (Canada)Not checkedApple 4.56 (65,030 ratings), Google Play 4.4
Sign-Up BonusNo sign-up bonus on fileBanner says up to $200 for getting started; terms not verified

How Do Netcoins And Coinbase Compare On Fees?

Netcoins Fees

Netcoins does not add a separate trading fee. Its fee page says the price you are quoted already includes Netcoins' spread, and it does not publish what that spread is. That makes the real cost hard to compare with a flat-fee platform, because you only see it by comparing the quote against a market price at the moment you trade. My advice is simple: price the same coin and amount on two platforms before you buy. On the cash side, Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Bank wire deposits are free over $3,000, and wire withdrawals under $25,000 carry a $50 processing fee.

Coinbase Fees

Coinbase has two ways to trade and they cost very different amounts. The simple buy screen charges a spread shown in the order preview plus a Coinbase fee that its Canadian disclosure puts at up to 1.875%, varying by payment method, and simple limit orders carry a separate 1% execution fee. Coinbase Advanced is the cheaper route and its page advertises fees as low as 0% maker, but the Canadian rate table sits behind a help page I could not load, so I will not quote a percentage. My rule: if you buy on Coinbase, use Advanced. Staking has a standard 35% commission.

I cannot declare a fee winner here. Netcoins does not publish a single comparable trading cost, so the honest answer is to check a live quote on both apps for the same coin and amount before you buy.

Which Is Better For Funding And Withdrawing CAD?

Netcoins

Interac e-Transfer is free both ways, which covers most Canadians. Wires are the expensive route: deposits are free over $3,000 (I could not verify the fee under that amount) and withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50. If you move small amounts, stay on Interac. If you move large amounts, the wire fee is a rounding error and the speed can be worth it.

Coinbase

Funding is strong. Interac e-Transfer and EFT are free to add cash, an EFT bank transfer credits instantly and can buy directly, and a 3D Secure card, PayPal and wires are also supported. Coinbase does not publish minimums, and your bank's limits apply. Cashing out works by Interac e-Transfer and EFT, but the fee is not published: Coinbase's disclosure only says you may be charged a fee depending on the payment method.

Funding is close, since both support Interac e-Transfer in some form, but I cannot rank the cash-out side because Coinbase does not publish a comparable withdrawal fee.

Which Has More Coins?

Netcoins Coins

Netcoins lists 65 coins on its official fee page, and one of them, Bittensor, is trade-only. That is a mid-sized menu: wider than the Bitcoin-and-Ethereum apps, narrower than the biggest global exchanges. Its restricted dealer terms also apply an investment limit over a rolling 12 months to certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for lower-risk assets listed in the decision. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so check your own limit in the app.

Coinbase Coins

Coinbase's Canadian site says you can trade 200+ assets, which is the largest menu among the Canadian-regulated platforms in this comparison. The machine-readable list I hold is global (406 online products) and not filtered for Canada, so I use the 200+ figure from the Canadian page. Under its restricted dealer terms, some altcoins carry annual purchase limits outside certain provinces, and newer investors can face a limit until their profile changes. Majors like Bitcoin and Ethereum are not capped.

Coinbase has the bigger menu. Coinbase: 200+ assets. Netcoins: 65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only). If you want altcoins, that settles it.

Which Is Safer?

Netcoins Safety

Netcoins is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer, with amended decisions dated September 16, 2026, September 29, 2025, October 6, 2023 and March 24, 2022 after its original decision of September 29, 2021. It is not on the banned list. FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as registered with an expiry of October 15, 2027. The September 2026 amendment added Solana to the assets exempt from the investment limit. I did not find a verified custody or insurance dollar figure, so I do not quote one.

Coinbase Safety

Coinbase Canada is a Restricted Dealer rather than a CIRO member, and its user agreement says Canadian fiat balances are not protected by CIPF. Its security page says customer assets are held 1:1 and not lent without permission, in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company. I could not find an insurance dollar figure on the Canadian pages. Coinbase, Inc. was also registered with FINTRAC in December 2025.

On regulation the two sit in the same tier: both are a CSA-registered restricted dealer. That means safety comes down to custody practice and your own habits, such as two-factor authentication and not leaving large balances on an exchange.

Which App Is Easier To Use?

Netcoins App And Support

Netcoins keeps the experience simple: pick a coin, see a quote, buy. That suits beginners, although it gives you no charts or order book to work with. I have not run a support test on Netcoins that I would stand behind in print, so I will not rank it on support here.

Coinbase App And Support

Coinbase's app is the benchmark for beginner design: buy in a few taps on the simple screen, then graduate to Advanced when you care about fees. It rates 4.56 on the Canadian App Store from 65,030 ratings and 4.4 on Google Play. Support is the weak spot. Reaching a human who understands Canadian banking took patience: my own test took four days to get a real person. The help centre is fine for routine questions.

I cannot compare store ratings, because I have no verified Canadian rating for Netcoins. Try both onboarding flows, which take a few minutes, and keep the one that feels clearer.

What Does A $1,000 Purchase Cost On Netcoins And Coinbase?

This is plain arithmetic on the published percentages above, not a quote. Real prices move with the market, and platforms that build the spread into the price add a cost you only see by comparing quotes.

Cost Of A $1,000 Buy (From Published Fees)
PlatformPublished Cost On $1,000
Netcoinsnot calculable, because the spread is built into the quote and is not published
Coinbaseup to $18.75 in Coinbase fee on a simple buy (1.875%), plus the spread shown in the order preview

How Do Netcoins And Coinbase Compare On Limits And Restrictions?

Netcoins Limits

Netcoins applies a rolling 12-month investment limit on purchases and sales for certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for assets listed in the CSA decision. Solana joined the exception list on September 16, 2026. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so your own limit is shown in the app. Bank wires under $25,000 cost $50 to withdraw.

Coinbase Limits

Coinbase does not publish minimum or maximum funding limits, so your bank's limits apply. As a restricted dealer, it applies annual net purchase caps to some altcoins outside certain provinces, and newer investors may face an annual limit until their profile changes. Derivatives launched for eligible Canadian investors on September 2, 2026 are aimed at qualified clients, not ordinary retail accounts.

What Extras Do Netcoins And Coinbase Offer?

Netcoins Extras

Netcoins is a simple buy, sell and hold service. I could not verify staking, cards or bonuses on its official pages, so I do not credit it with any. If a feature matters to you, confirm it in the app first.

Coinbase Extras

Coinbase offers staking on ETH, ADA, SOL, ATOM and XTZ (up to 10% APY shown, with a standard 35% commission), recurring buys and a learn library. Its banner advertises up to $200 for getting started, but the qualifying action and the real average payout are not verified, so I do not promise it.

Can You Use Both Netcoins And Coinbase?

Yes, and plenty of Canadians do. Nothing stops you holding an account on each. A common setup is to buy on whichever platform quotes the better price for the coin you want, then move long-term holdings to a wallet you control. If you split money across platforms, keep a simple record of every buy, sell and transfer. The CRA treats crypto as a commodity, whether your gains count as business income or capital gains depends on your situation, and clean records make tax time far easier. Transfers between your own accounts are not sales, but the fees on them can still matter.

What Are The Pros And Cons Of Netcoins And Coinbase?

Netcoins Pros And Cons

Pros

  • On the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer
  • Free Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals
  • 65 coins on the official fee page
  • No separate trading fee, just a spread inside the quote
  • FINTRAC MSB registration valid to October 2027

Cons

  • Spread percentage is not published
  • Wire withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50
  • Rolling 12-month investment limit applies to certain investors
  • No advanced trading tools

Coinbase Pros And Cons

Pros

  • Largest coin menu here at 200+
  • Free Interac e-Transfer and EFT deposits
  • CSA Restricted Dealer in all provinces
  • Polished beginner app rated 4.56
  • Advanced screen offers a cheaper way to trade
  • Learn content for beginners

Cons

  • Simple buy costs up to 1.875% plus spread
  • Support can take days to reach a human
  • Fiat balances not covered by CIPF
  • Staking commission of 35%
  • Altcoin purchase limits may apply

Who Wins Each Category Between Netcoins And Coinbase?

Here is the scorecard in one place. A winner is named only when both sides have a comparable verified number. Where one side does not publish it, the answer is Depends, and where the gap is too small to matter, it is a Tie.

Category Winners
CategoryWinner
Headline Trading CostDepends
CAD Cash-Out CostDepends
Coin MenuCoinbase
Regulation TierTie
Canadian App Store RatingDepends

What Should You Do Next?

  1. Decide what matters most to you: lowest cost, the widest coin menu, the strongest regulation or the simplest app.
  2. Open the platform that wins your category and read its fee page in full before you deposit.
  3. Start with a small first buy and a small test withdrawal, so you learn the flow with little at risk.
  4. Turn on two-factor authentication, and move long-term holdings to a wallet you control.

Who Should Choose Netcoins, And Who Should Choose Coinbase?

Choose Netcoins if you want a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer. Its strongest point: on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer.

Visit Netcoins Read My Netcoins Review

Choose Coinbase if you want the biggest coin menu and the most polished beginner app. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer. Its strongest point: largest coin menu here at 200+.

Visit Coinbase Read My Coinbase Review

Still undecided? The exchange quiz narrows it down in a minute, and my ranked list of the best crypto exchanges in Canada shows where both sit.

What Changed For Netcoins And Coinbase In October 2026?

  • The CSA amended Netcoins' decision, adding Solana to the assets exempt from the rolling investment limit.
  • Coinbase launched regulated crypto derivatives for eligible Canadian investors through Coinbase Financial Markets. Retail clients are not the target.
  • The CSA issued an Amended Decision for Coinbase Canada Inc.
  • The CSA issued an earlier amended decision for Netcoins.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Netcoins Or Coinbase Better For Beginners?

I cannot compare store ratings, because I have no verified Canadian rating for Netcoins. Try both onboarding flows, which take a few minutes, and keep the one that feels clearer.

Beginners should also weigh regulation and cash-out costs, covered above.

Which Is Cheaper, Netcoins Or Coinbase?

I cannot declare a fee winner here. Netcoins does not publish a single comparable trading cost, so the honest answer is to check a live quote on both apps for the same coin and amount before you buy.

Are Netcoins And Coinbase Regulated In Canada?

Netcoins: CSA list, restricted dealer (latest amended decision September 16, 2026), FINTRAC MSB.

Coinbase: CSA Restricted Dealer (Amended Decision April 1, 2026), FINTRAC MSB.

Does Netcoins Or Coinbase Have More Coins?

Coinbase has the bigger menu. Coinbase: 200+ assets. Netcoins: 65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only). If you want altcoins, that settles it.

Can I Fund Netcoins And Coinbase With Interac E-Transfer?

Netcoins: Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published).

Coinbase: Interac e-Transfer free, EFT free, card and PayPal also available.

Which Should I Pick, Netcoins Or Coinbase?

Pick Netcoins for a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. Pick Coinbase for the biggest coin menu and the most polished beginner app.

Do Netcoins And Coinbase Have Limit Orders?

Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested). Coinbase: Yes, on Coinbase Advanced with no spread; simple limit orders carry a 1% execution fee.

Which Coins Can You Buy On Netcoins And Coinbase?

Netcoins: 60+ coins incl. BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, USDC Coinbase: 200+

Is The Spread The Fee On Netcoins And Coinbase?

Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee. Coinbase: Yes, simple buys include a spread on top of the Coinbase fee, shown in the order preview.

Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On Netcoins Or Coinbase?

Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto. Coinbase: CIPF never covers crypto, and Coinbase says Canadian fiat wallets are not covered either.

Are Netcoins And Coinbase Available In Every Province?

Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories. Coinbase: All provinces and territories, with CAD 30,000 caps on non-major coins in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU and YT.

Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On Netcoins And Coinbase?

Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes. Coinbase: Coinbase says Interac arrives in up to 5 minutes, but it publishes no weekend rule; bank-side limits apply.

What Is The Minimum Buy On Netcoins And Coinbase?

Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10. Coinbase: Not published for Canada.

Can A Business Use Netcoins Or Coinbase?

Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered. Coinbase: Business and institutional products exist at Coinbase, but Canadian business accounts are not verified.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!