Netcoins and BitMEX are both reputable cryptocurrency exchanges. From a Canadian perspective, the comparison is one-sided: BitMEX has listed all of Canada as a restricted jurisdiction since late 2023 and is not available. Netcoins is a Vancouver-based CSA Restricted Dealer, fully available to Canadians in every province.
Netcoins Vs BitMEX: Which Is Better For Canadians?
Netcoins wins by default for Canadians. BitMEX shut down its exchange on September 23, 2026, so no one, including Canadians, can trade there any more and only withdrawals remain. Since BitMEX no longer operates for Canadians, I recommend Coinbase (9.8/10, #1 on my list): open a Coinbase account.
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
Netcoins Vs BitMEX: Master Spec Table
Netcoins
BitMEX
Winner
Company
Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.
Operator: HDR Global Trading Limited (Seychelles). Founded, founders, funding: Not published. Ceased all exchange operations 2026-09-23.
Depends
Regulation
CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.
Not registered in Canada. No FINTRAC, CSA or CIRO entry found as of 2026-10-02.
Netcoins
Assets
65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.
Perpetual and futures contracts only; no spot. Not available to Canadians.
Netcoins
Price
No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.
Tiered maker/taker fees on derivatives, rates Not published. Closed.
Netcoins
CAD In
Interac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
CAD Out
Interac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
Crypto In And Out
On-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.
Crypto-only funding; website withdrawals stay open, API withdrawals ended 2026-09-28, monthly fee on balances, per CoinDesk.
Netcoins
Custody
Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.
All BTC in cold storage with multi-signature wallets, per BitMEX's old claims. Operator wound down trading; withdrawals only.
Netcoins
Verification (KYC)
Government ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.
No longer available to Canadians
Depends
Account Types
Personal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
Provinces
Registered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
Extra Products
Not verified
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
Tax Tools
Not verified.
No longer available to Canadians
Netcoins
App
iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.
Apps closed with the exchange.
Netcoins
Support
Phone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.
What Are The Key Differences Between Netcoins And BitMEX?
Netcoins Vs BitMEX: Side By Side
Netcoins
BitMEX
Description
Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
BitMEX was a veteran crypto derivatives exchange offering futures and perpetual contracts with up to 100x leverage. You could not deposit fiat, only crypto, and it was aimed at experienced traders. Canada was a restricted jurisdiction in BitMEX's terms before closing, and the exchange ceased all operations on 2026-09-23.
Coins
60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
Perpetual and futures contracts on major cryptocurrencies including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Dogecoin, Cardano and Avalanche. None were accessible from Canada.
Fees
No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
Free crypto deposits and free BTC withdrawals (network fees could apply on other assets). Low, tiered maker/taker fees on derivatives. Balances now face a monthly fee, per CoinDesk.
Pros
Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
Free Interac funding and withdrawals
All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
Owned by a publicly traded company
OTC desk for large trades
Deep derivatives liquidity and one of the longest track records in crypto futures
Low, tiered maker/taker fees
Advanced order types
Handy leverage slider for adjusting risk per trade
Cons
Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
Wire fees under the free thresholds
Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
Closed on 2026-09-23
Canada was a restricted jurisdiction before closure
Not suitable for simply buying crypto, no fiat deposits
Only suitable for traders who understood contract trading
Checkered regulatory history in the US
Security
Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
All BTC held in cold storage, multi-signature wallets, withdrawals audited by hand by BitMEX employees, 2FA. Never hacked in over a decade of operation, per our old row.
Methods To Buy
Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
Canadians could not use BitMEX. Funding was crypto only (BTC, USDT and other supported assets), with no fiat rails.
App
Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
BitMEX had iOS and Android apps, inaccessible to Canadians and now closed.
Account Limits
Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.
Not applicable. Full KYC was required before trading elsewhere.
How Do You Fund And Cash Out Netcoins And BitMEX In Canada?
Netcoins: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not verified
Not published
typically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wire
Free over CAD 3,000; under that Not published
Not verified
Not published
Not published
Crypto deposit
Free
Not published
Not published
Network speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not published
Not published
Not published
Bank wire
CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000
Not published
Not published
Not published
BitMEX: CAD Withdrawals (When It Operated)
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Crypto withdrawal via website
Not published
Not published
Not published
Not published
Not verified BitMEX never accepted fiat.
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
Netcoins Buy
Netcoins Round Trip
CAD 100
Not published
Not published
CAD 500
Not published
Not published
CAD 1,000
Not published
Not published
CAD 10,000
Not published
Not published
Netcoins:Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Neither publishes a maker and taker schedule because there is no order book: the spread is the fee. If cost matters most, NDAX (flat 0.20%) or Kraken Pro are cheaper places to buy in Canada. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do Netcoins And BitMEX Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
Netcoins Only
Staking:Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.
BitMEX Only
Futures and perpetual contracts (closed): Up to 100x leverage on crypto derivatives. Trading ceased 2026-09-23.
What Happens To Your Money If Netcoins Or BitMEX Fails?
Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.
BitMEX: BitMEX says it closed by owner decision after a business review and that it is unrelated to legal or regulatory issues, per CoinDesk. If you still have a balance, withdraw through the website, since API withdrawals ended on 2026-09-28 and balances face a monthly fee. No Canadian regulator covers BitMEX, so there is no compensation scheme for crypto left behind.
How Are Netcoins And BitMEX Treated For Tax In Canada?
Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.
BitMEX: Derivative gains and losses on BitMEX were taxable for CRA purposes. Export your trade and wallet history now. Export formats: Not published.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, Netcoins Or BitMEX?
Choose Netcoins If
You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices
Choose BitMEX If
You want a registered platform that serves Canadians today: Coinbase is our number one replacement, with free Interac e-Transfer funding and a Canadian restricted dealer registration.
What Happened To BitMEX?
BitMEX shut down its exchange on September 23, 2026. Its official legal page says BitMEX ceased trading that day, so no one, including Canadians, can trade there any more. The operator was HDR Global Trading Limited, based in the Seychelles.
BitMEX described the closure as an owner decision after a business review and said it was unrelated to legal or regulatory issues, according to CoinDesk. Canada was already a restricted jurisdiction in BitMEX's terms before the shutdown, and I found no Canadian registration for it.
If you still have a balance there, the practical step is to withdraw. Per CoinDesk, withdrawals through the website stay open, API withdrawals ended on September 28, and balances face a monthly fee, so do not leave funds sitting.
BitMEX Status Summary
Detail
Status
Platform
BitMEX
Key Date
Sep 23, 2026
Status For Canadians
Closed
Sign-Up Link
None. I do not link to platforms Canadians cannot use.
What Is The Timeline For BitMEX?
Sep 23, 2026: BitMEX ceased trading on its exchange. Withdrawals remain open for now.
BitMEX was known for leveraged derivatives trading rather than simple buying. That is exactly the product Canadian rules keep away from retail clients, so there is no like-for-like Canadian replacement.
What Should BitMEX Users Use Instead?
BitMEX users in Canada should withdraw whatever remains and move to a Canadian-registered platform. The registry's pick is Kraken, which is registered in Canada, is still trading and offers a very wide coin list. BitMEX was a derivatives venue, and Canadian retail clients cannot trade derivatives on Kraken, so expect spot trading only.
Kraken: The Registry Pick
Kraken in Canada is Payward Canada Inc., a Restricted Dealer registered with the Ontario Securities Commission and the securities regulators of every province and territory (CSA Decision April 1, 2025). It is also a FINTRAC-registered MSB, approved since 2019. It is the choice for people who start simple and want to move to cheaper, more serious trading later.
Kraken Pro is where the cheap trading lives: 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker at the entry tier, dropping to 0.30% and 0.60% above $2,500 of 30-day volume and 0.22% and 0.38% above $10,000. The simple Instant Buy costs 1% on instant and recurring trades and 1.5% on custom orders, plus a spread, and Convert Small Balances has a 3% fixed fee. Kraken Plus offers zero trading fees on up to US $10,000 of monthly volume for buy, sell and convert, though spread and card fees still apply. Bitcoin withdrawals cost 0.000015 BTC on the network.
Interac e-Transfer deposits are free with a $5 minimum and limits of $10,000 per transaction and per day, $30,000 a week and $100,000 a month. Wires are free, with a $13.74 intermediary bank fee noted, and take one to five business days. Debit cards cost 0.25 plus 3.75%, so avoid them. Withdrawing by Interac e-Transfer costs $10 under the same limits, which is the most expensive cash-out here.
Kraken is a Restricted Dealer, not a CIRO member (press reports say it intends to apply). Its Proof of Reserves snapshot for June 30, 2026 shows reserve ratios of 102.9% for BTC, 100.5% for ETH, 100.6% for SOL, 102.3% for XRP and 100.3% for ADA. That is one of the better transparency signals among the platforms here. Crypto is not covered by CIPF or CDIC.
Netcoins is a Canadian crypto platform run by Netcoins Inc., with the BC Securities Commission as its principal regulator. It is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer and FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as a registered money services business through October 2027. It pitches itself at beginners who want to buy, sell and hold crypto in CAD without learning an order book.
Netcoins And Kraken Verified Facts
Detail
Netcoins
Kraken
Trading Cost
No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published)
Kraken Pro 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker at the entry tier; Instant Buy 1% plus spread
CAD Deposits
Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published)
Interac e-Transfer free ($5 minimum, $10,000 per transaction); wire free; debit card 0.25 plus 3.75%
CAD Withdrawals
Interac e-Transfer free (cash withdrawal), bank wire $50 under $25,000
Interac e-Transfer withdrawal $10
Coins
65 coins on its official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only)
CSA Restricted Dealer (Decision April 1, 2025), FINTRAC MSB
Staking
Not verified in my sources
Yes, with exceptions (no Opt-in Rewards, no GRT or FLR staking)
App Ratings (Canada)
Not checked
Apple 4.62 (5,662 ratings), Google Play 4.2
Sign-Up Bonus
No sign-up bonus on file
No sign-up bonus on file
How Does Netcoins Handle Fees, Funding And Coins?
Fees
Netcoins does not add a separate trading fee. Its fee page says the price you are quoted already includes Netcoins' spread, and it does not publish what that spread is. That makes the real cost hard to compare with a flat-fee platform, because you only see it by comparing the quote against a market price at the moment you trade. My advice is simple: price the same coin and amount on two platforms before you buy. On the cash side, Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Bank wire deposits are free over $3,000, and wire withdrawals under $25,000 carry a $50 processing fee.
Funding
Interac e-Transfer is free both ways, which covers most Canadians. Wires are the expensive route: deposits are free over $3,000 (I could not verify the fee under that amount) and withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50. If you move small amounts, stay on Interac. If you move large amounts, the wire fee is a rounding error and the speed can be worth it.
Coins
Netcoins lists 65 coins on its official fee page, and one of them, Bittensor, is trade-only. That is a mid-sized menu: wider than the Bitcoin-and-Ethereum apps, narrower than the biggest global exchanges. Its restricted dealer terms also apply an investment limit over a rolling 12 months to certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for lower-risk assets listed in the decision. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so check your own limit in the app.
Is Netcoins Safe And Easy To Use?
Netcoins is on the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer, with amended decisions dated September 16, 2026, September 29, 2025, October 6, 2023 and March 24, 2022 after its original decision of September 29, 2021. It is not on the banned list. FINTRAC lists Netcoins Inc. as registered with an expiry of October 15, 2027. The September 2026 amendment added Solana to the assets exempt from the investment limit. I did not find a verified custody or insurance dollar figure, so I do not quote one.
Netcoins keeps the experience simple: pick a coin, see a quote, buy. That suits beginners, although it gives you no charts or order book to work with. I have not run a support test on Netcoins that I would stand behind in print, so I will not rank it on support here.
What Limits And Extras Does Netcoins Have?
Netcoins applies a rolling 12-month investment limit on purchases and sales for certain investors in specific jurisdictions, with exceptions for assets listed in the CSA decision. Solana joined the exception list on September 16, 2026. The dollar amount is not stated in the decision, so your own limit is shown in the app. Bank wires under $25,000 cost $50 to withdraw.
Netcoins is a simple buy, sell and hold service. I could not verify staking, cards or bonuses on its official pages, so I do not credit it with any. If a feature matters to you, confirm it in the app first.
On a $1,000 buy at Netcoins, the cost is not calculable, because the spread is built into the quote and is not published.
How Do You Check A Platform Before Moving Money?
Do four things before you send a dollar to any platform. First, look it up on the CSA list of crypto platforms authorized to do business with Canadians and on the banned list. Second, search the FINTRAC money services business registry for the legal entity, and read the status and expiry date. Third, read the terms for any clause that restricts Canadian residents. Fourth, send a small test deposit and a small test withdrawal before you move real money. A platform that fails any one of the four is not worth the risk, however good its fees look.
What Are The Pros And Cons Of Netcoins?
Pros
On the CSA authorized list as a restricted dealer
Free Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals
65 coins on the official fee page
No separate trading fee, just a spread inside the quote
FINTRAC MSB registration valid to October 2027
Cons
Spread percentage is not published
Wire withdrawals under $25,000 cost $50
Rolling 12-month investment limit applies to certain investors
No advanced trading tools
Should You Open An Account With Netcoins?
Choose Netcoins if you want a simple buy-and-hold app with free Interac and CSA registration. It is a CSA-registered restricted dealer, and it is open to new Canadian accounts today.
What Changed For BitMEX And Netcoins In October 2026?
BitMEX ceased trading on its exchange. Withdrawals remain open for now.
The CSA amended Netcoins' decision, adding Solana to the assets exempt from the rolling investment limit.
The CSA issued an earlier amended decision for Netcoins.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did BitMEX Shut Down?
Yes. BitMEX ceased trading on September 23, 2026, according to its official legal page. Only withdrawals remain.
Can Canadians Still Use BitMEX?
No. Trading ended on September 23, 2026, and Canada was already a restricted jurisdiction in BitMEX's terms before that.
How Do I Get My Money Out Of BitMEX?
Withdraw through the website while it is open. Per CoinDesk, API withdrawals ended September 28 and balances face a monthly fee, so move funds soon.
Is Netcoins Better Than BitMEX Today?
Netcoins is available to Canadians and BitMEX is closed, so for a new account the answer is Netcoins.
What Does Netcoins Cost To Trade On?
No separate trading fee; the quoted price includes Netcoins' spread (percentage not published). Interac e-Transfer free, bank wire free over $3,000 (under that, not published).
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.