CoinSmart Vs Netcoins: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 2, 2026

Coinsmart vs Netcoins featured image

Note: CoinSmart is no longer an independent exchange. It merged into the WonderFi group in July 2023 and its client accounts were migrated to Bitbuy in September 2023. Bitbuy is now owned by Robinhood following the June 2026 WonderFi acquisition. Netcoins is the only active platform here.

CoinSmart and Netcoins are two popular Canadian cryptocurrency exchange platforms. How do they fare for Canadians looking to buy crypto? CoinSmart wound down in 2023 with accounts migrated to Bitbuy. Netcoins is the live option for Canadians in 2026, with a flat 0.5% fee, 60+ coins, seven-day phone support and a Visa card with 3% bitcoin cashback.

CoinSmart Vs Netcoins: Which Is Better For Canadians?

Netcoins wins by default for Canadians. CoinSmart stopped operating separately after WonderFi moved all its client accounts to Bitbuy, announced in September 2023. Since CoinSmart no longer operates for Canadians, I recommend Coinbase (9.8/10, #1 on my list): open a Coinbase account.

CoinSmart logo
Merged, no longer a separate platform
Head To Head, Checked October 2026
CoinSmartNetcoinsWinner
Canadian statusMerged, no longer a separate platformCSA-registeredNetcoins
My rankingNot in my top 10Not in my top 10Tie

Not sure which fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

How Do CoinSmart And Netcoins Compare, Fact By Fact?

Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.

CoinSmart Vs Netcoins: Master Spec Table
CoinSmartNetcoinsWinner
CompanySimply Digital Technologies Inc. (carrying on business as CoinSmart), Toronto, launched 2018. Accounts moved to Bitbuy; WonderFi announced the transaction 2023-09-08. Founders: Not published.Netcoins Inc., Vancouver; founded 2014; owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE, formerly BIGG Digital Assets). Founders and staff: Not published.Depends
RegulationFINTRAC MSB M18755033 Ceased 2024-09-10. CSA Expired Decisions: original 2021-10-21, amended 2021-12-21. Not on the banned list.CSA restricted dealer (BCSC principal regulator; amended decision Sept 16, 2026). FINTRAC MSB M15560893, expiry 2027-10-15. Not CIRO. CIPF: no crypto cover.Netcoins
AssetsModest list: BTC, ETH, LTC, ADA, DOGE, SOL, SHIB.65 coins on the fee page (60+ advertised), one trade-only. Solana added to the permitted list 2026-09-16. Broker model, no public order book.Netcoins
Price0.20% single-trade fee.No separate trading fee; price includes a spread, percentage Not published. Flat crypto withdrawal fees per coin. VIP/Prime discount Not published.Netcoins
CAD InFree over $2,000; 1% fee on smaller Interac deposits. CAD, USD and EUR (SEPA) accepted.Interac e-Transfer free, about 15 to 30 minutes. Bank wire free over CAD 3,000. Crypto deposits free.Netcoins
CAD Out1% fiat withdrawal fee.Interac e-Transfer free; wire CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.Netcoins
Crypto In And OutNo longer available to CanadiansOn-chain withdrawals with flat per-coin fees (0.00014 BTC, 0.003 ETH) and minimums of 2x the fee. Lightning and Liquid: Not verified.Netcoins
CustodyBitGo custody, legacy arrangement.Custodial. Majority in BitGo cold storage, Fireblocks hot wallets, multi-sig, insured (amount Not published). No proof of reserves found.Netcoins
Verification (KYC)No longer available to CanadiansGovernment ID verification and appropriateness checks; selfie, address and SIN not stated on the security page. Old table said automated verification in about 2 minutes.Depends
Account TypesNo longer available to CanadiansPersonal, private wealth, corporate and institutional, OTC, API and enterprise offered. TFSA/RRSP: Not verified.Netcoins
ProvincesNo longer available to CanadiansRegistered in all provinces, Yukon, Nunavut and the Northwest Territories. French and Quebec product limits Not verified.Netcoins
Extra ProductsNo longer available to CanadiansNot verifiedNetcoins
Tax ToolsNo longer available to CanadiansNot verified.Netcoins
AppApps no longer maintained; addresses redirect to Bitbuy.iOS Canada 4.53 (753 ratings); Google Play Not verified. Web app yes.Netcoins
SupportNo longer available to CanadiansPhone +1 844 515 2646 (7 days, 8 am to 2 pm PST), email and contact form (7 days, 6 am to 8 pm PST). French Not verified.Netcoins
Sources For This Table

What Are The Key Differences Between CoinSmart And Netcoins?

CoinSmart Vs Netcoins: Side By Side
CoinSmartNetcoins
DescriptionCoinSmart was a Toronto-based crypto exchange, launched in 2018, known for same-day CAD, USD and EUR deposits and a beginner-friendly design with advanced trading built in. It joined the WonderFi group in 2023 and its client accounts were moved to sister platform Bitbuy; coinsmart.com now shows the Bitbuy site, which says it is part of Robinhood.Netcoins is a Vancouver-based Canadian crypto exchange founded in 2014 and now owned by Surge Digital Inc (TSXV: SRGE), formerly BIGG Digital Assets. One of the first platforms registered with Canadian securities regulators, it focuses on making crypto simple for beginners, with all-in pricing and free Interac funding.
CoinsA modest selection including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Cardano, Dogecoin, Solana and Shiba Inu.60+ cryptocurrencies (65 listed on the fee page, one, Bittensor, trade-only), including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, XRP, Cardano, DOGE, SHIB, USDC, Avalanche and Polkadot.
Fees0.20% single-trade fees, free deposits over $2,000, a 1% fee on smaller Interac deposits, and 1% fiat withdrawal fees.No separate trading fee: the price you see includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published. The old flat 0.5% trading fee is no longer on the fee page. Interac e-Transfer deposits and cash withdrawals are free. Wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000. Wire withdrawals under CAD 25,000 cost CAD 50. Crypto withdrawal fees are flat per coin (for example 0.00014 BTC).
Pros
  • Low trading fees
  • Same-day verification
  • Multi-currency deposits (CAD, USD, EUR via SEPA)
  • Crypto-to-crypto trading without intermediate pairs
  • Restricted dealer registered with the BCSC and regulators in all provinces and territories, plus FINTRAC MSB registration
  • Free Interac funding and withdrawals
  • All-in pricing with no separate trading fee line
  • Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM
  • Phone, email and chat support 7 days a week
  • Owned by a publicly traded company
  • OTC desk for large trades
Cons
  • Ceased operating independently in 2023, with all accounts migrated to Bitbuy
  • The 1% fiat withdrawal fee was always a sore point
  • Smaller coin selection than rivals
  • Spread percentage is not published, so the real cost is hidden in the price
  • Fewer coins than the biggest platforms
  • No advanced charting or pro order types (Oleg's original note, not re-tested)
  • Wire fees under the free thresholds
  • Netcoins app rated 4.5 on Apple Canada but few ratings
SecurityThe wind-down was orderly and regulator-supervised, with no reported loss of customer funds. Its legacy custody arrangement with BitGo and its OSC registration made the handover possible.Majority of funds in BitGo cold storage with Fireblocks for hot wallets, multi-signature wallets and mandatory 2FA, per Netcoins' security page. It also states an insurance policy without naming the amount or insurer. CIPF never covers crypto.
Methods To BuyThere is no way to buy crypto through CoinSmart. Former users can log into Bitbuy with their old CoinSmart email, reset the password on first login and use existing Google Authenticator codes. Deposit wallet addresses changed in the migration, so never send crypto to an old CoinSmart address; if you did, contact Bitbuy support with the transaction hash.Interac e-Transfer, bank wire, crypto deposits.
AppThe platform is gone; its web addresses redirect to Bitbuy and its mobile apps are no longer maintained.Netcoins app on Apple Canada rated 4.53 from 753 ratings (2026-10-03). Google Play rating Not verified.
Account LimitsNo longer applicable.Restricted dealer purchase limits apply on a rolling 12 months for certain investors on restricted assets; dollar amounts are not stated in the CSA variation order.

How Do You Fund And Cash Out CoinSmart And Netcoins In Canada?

CoinSmart: CAD Deposits (When It Operated)
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFree over CAD 2,000; 1% belowNot publishedNot publishedNot published
CoinSmart: CAD Withdrawals (When It Operated)
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Fiat withdrawal1%Not publishedNot publishedNot published
Netcoins: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot verifiedNot publishedtypically 15 to 30 minutes
Bank wireFree over CAD 3,000; under that Not publishedNot verifiedNot publishedNot published
Crypto depositFreeNot publishedNot publishedNetwork speed
Netcoins: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Bank wireCAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000Not publishedNot publishedNot published

All funding ended. Accounts moved to Bitbuy. Not verified

What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Netcoins?

Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
AmountNetcoins BuyNetcoins Round Trip
CAD 100Not publishedNot published
CAD 500Not publishedNot published
CAD 1,000Not publishedNot published
CAD 10,000Not publishedNot published

Netcoins: Netcoins states no separate trading fee and an all-in price; the spread percentage is not published (2026-10-03). The old 0.5% flat fee is gone. Neither publishes a maker and taker schedule because there is no order book: the spread is the fee. If cost matters most, NDAX (flat 0.20%) or Kraken Pro are cheaper places to buy in Canada. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.

What Do CoinSmart And Netcoins Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?

Netcoins Only

  • Staking: Staking on ETH, SOL and ATOM while the crypto stays held by Netcoins.
  • Crypto lending: Borrow CAD against crypto with same-day funding; rates and LTV Not verified.
  • OTC desk: Large trades with dedicated account managers and same-day settlement.
  • Referral program: Invite a friend and both earn a cash reward after they sign up and trade; the amount is Not verified.

What Happens To Your Money If CoinSmart Or Netcoins Fails?

CoinSmart: This was a merger, not a collapse. CoinSmart's accounts went to Bitbuy, which has since moved to Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd. and then Robinhood. Log in through Bitbuy with your old CoinSmart email, and never send crypto to an old CoinSmart deposit address, because the addresses changed. If you prefer not to follow the move to Robinhood, withdraw to your own wallet.

Netcoins: Netcoins is a CSA restricted dealer under the BCSC, so it must follow custody, disclosure and limit conditions, but CIPF never covers crypto. Customer crypto sits mostly in BitGo cold storage and Fireblocks hot wallets, and Netcoins says it carries insurance without giving the amount or insurer. No proof of reserves was found. If Netcoins failed or was hacked, you would rely on those custodians and any insurer paying out, and you would be an unsecured creditor for the rest. The parent company changed its name to Surge Digital Inc in 2026.

How Are CoinSmart And Netcoins Treated For Tax In Canada?

CoinSmart: Trades on CoinSmart were dispositions for CRA purposes. Pull your CoinSmart history from your migrated Bitbuy account. Export formats: Not published.

Netcoins: Buying with CAD is not a disposition. Selling, swapping and spending crypto are dispositions you report to the CRA, and staking rewards are income. Export formats were not verified.

Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Should You Choose, CoinSmart Or Netcoins?

Choose CoinSmart If

  • You want a registered platform that serves Canadians today: Coinbase is our number one replacement, with free Interac e-Transfer funding and a Canadian restricted dealer registration.

Choose Netcoins If

  • You want a broker app with 60+ coins, free Interac funding and phone support
  • You value a long-registered Canadian dealer owned by a public company
  • You can accept an unpublished spread in exchange for simple all-in prices

What Happened To CoinSmart?

CoinSmart, run by Simply Digital Technologies Inc., stopped operating as a separate exchange after WonderFi moved its client accounts to Bitbuy. WonderFi announced the deal on September 8, 2023, and I could not verify the exact completion date. Its two CSA decisions, the original of October 21, 2021 and an amended one of December 21, 2021, now sit under the CSA's expired decisions.

FINTRAC lists the CoinSmart registration as ceased on September 10, 2024. Today coinsmart.com serves the Bitbuy site with a banner saying Bitbuy is now part of Robinhood. That chain matters: CoinSmart accounts went to Bitbuy, Bitbuy later moved under Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd., and Robinhood closed its WonderFi purchase on June 1, 2026.

So CoinSmart did not collapse. It was folded into a larger group, and the group is now being folded into Robinhood. Bitbuy has a help article for migrated CoinSmart accounts if you ever need to trace one.

CoinSmart Status Record
StatusMerged, accounts moved to Bitbuy (announced September 8, 2023)
OperatorSimply Digital Technologies Inc.
CSA recordOriginal decision October 21, 2021 and amended decision December 21, 2021, both expired
FINTRACRegistration ceased September 10, 2024
Where it points todaycoinsmart.com shows the Bitbuy site, now part of Robinhood

For more detail, see my CoinSmart page. I do not link to CoinSmart for sign-ups, because it is not an option for Canadians.

What Should CoinSmart Users Use Instead?

The short answer is Netcoins, the other half of this match-up. It is available to Canadians, and it is people who want a registered Canadian dealer with a broad list and are comfortable that the price includes a spread. If you want the closest like-for-like match to CoinSmart, my notes name NDAX.

Netcoins: A Registered Canadian Buy And Hold App

Best for: Canadians who want a registered dealer with a long coin list

CSA-registered
  • Fees No separate trading fee. The quoted price includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published on its fee page.
  • CAD Funding Interac e-Transfer is free for deposits and cash withdrawals. Bank wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000, and wire withdrawals cost a CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000.
  • Coins 65 coins on the official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only)
  • Safety Netcoins Inc. is a restricted dealer with the BC Securities Commission as principal regulator. Its latest amended CSA decision is dated September 16, 2026, which added Solana, and it holds a FINTRAC registration to October 2027. Certain investors in specific jurisdictions face a rolling 12-month investment limit, except on Appendix C assets.

Pros

  • Restricted dealer on the CSA list
  • Free Interac e-Transfer
  • 65 coins

Cons

  • Spread percentage not published
  • Wire withdrawals cost CAD 50 under CAD 25,000
  • Rolling investment limits for some investors
8

NDAX: Best For Low Flat Fees

7.8/10

Best for: Low flat fees and cheap cash-outs to your bank

CSA-registered
  • Fees A flat 0.20% on every buy and sell, with no volume tiers and no maker or taker split.
  • CAD Funding Free Interac e-Transfer and wire deposits. Withdrawals cost CAD 1.50 by Interac e-Transfer (up to CAD 10,000 per transaction) or CAD 4.99 by EFT.
  • Coins 77 base assets (public API)
  • Safety Ndax Canada Inc. is an investment dealer with CIRO membership terms imposed on December 19, 2024, the same day as its CSA decision. It also holds a FINTRAC registration.

Pros

  • CIRO investment dealer
  • Flat 0.20% fee
  • Cheap CAD withdrawals
  • Free Interac and wire deposits

Cons

  • Smaller coin list at 77 assets
  • No derivatives or margin for Canadians
  • 20% fee on staking rewards

How Much Does Netcoins Cost, And How Do You Fund It?

Since CoinSmart cannot be compared on current fees, here is what Netcoins charges today, taken from its own published pages.

Netcoins Fees And Funding
Trading FeesNo separate trading fee. The quoted price includes Netcoins' spread, and the spread percentage is not published on its fee page.
CAD Deposits And WithdrawalsInterac e-Transfer is free for deposits and cash withdrawals. Bank wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000, and wire withdrawals cost a CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000.
Coins65 coins on the official fee page (Bittensor is trade-only)

Is Netcoins Safe For Canadians?

Netcoins Inc. is a restricted dealer with the BC Securities Commission as principal regulator. Its latest amended CSA decision is dated September 16, 2026, which added Solana, and it holds a FINTRAC registration to October 2027. Certain investors in specific jurisdictions face a rolling 12-month investment limit, except on Appendix C assets.

I have no verified custody or insurance detail for Netcoins.

I could not verify app store ratings.

Whichever platform you use, I still say the same thing: do not keep more on an exchange than you are prepared to lose, and move long-term holdings to your own wallet.

Who Should Choose Netcoins?

Netcoins suits people who want a registered Canadian dealer with a broad list and are comfortable that the price includes a spread. It is a weaker fit if you need something its list or fee structure does not cover: spread percentage not published, and wire withdrawals cost CAD 50 under CAD 25,000.

Not sure which platform fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

What Should You Do If You Still Have Something With CoinSmart?

CoinSmart: If you held a CoinSmart account, it was migrated to Bitbuy, and Bitbuy's help centre has an article on what to do with a migrated account. Bitbuy itself is now part of Robinhood and is inviting customers to the Robinhood app, so check what you hold there and decide whether you want to stay. Whatever you decide, do not send crypto to an old CoinSmart deposit address.

A simple rule applies after any platform change: keep your own records of every purchase, because the CRA treats crypto as a commodity and you need the history for your tax return.

What Changed For CoinSmart And Netcoins In October 2026?

  • CSA Amended Decision for Netcoins Inc. adding Solana, with a rolling 12-month investment limit for certain investors.
  • Robinhood closed its purchase of WonderFi, the parent of Bitbuy, where CoinSmart's client accounts had been moved.
  • An earlier CSA Amended Decision for Netcoins Inc.
  • FINTRAC shows CoinSmart's registration (Simply Digital Technologies Inc.) as ceased.
  • WonderFi announced that Bitbuy would acquire all CoinSmart client accounts.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is CoinSmart Still An Option For Canadians?

No. CoinSmart stopped operating separately after WonderFi moved all its client accounts to Bitbuy, announced in September 2023.

What Should CoinSmart Users Use Instead?

My notes point to NDAX. Registered Canadian platform with CAD funding and a broad coin list. A flat 0.20% on every buy and sell, with no volume tiers and no maker or taker split.

Is Netcoins Registered In Canada?

Netcoins Inc. is a restricted dealer with the BC Securities Commission as principal regulator. Its latest amended CSA decision is dated September 16, 2026, which added Solana, and it holds a FINTRAC registration to October 2027. Certain investors in specific jurisdictions face a rolling 12-month investment limit, except on Appendix C assets.

How Do You Fund Netcoins In Canadian Dollars?

Interac e-Transfer is free for deposits and cash withdrawals. Bank wire deposits are free over CAD 3,000, and wire withdrawals cost a CAD 50 processing fee under CAD 25,000.

Which Is Better For Canadians, CoinSmart Or Netcoins?

Netcoins, by default, because CoinSmart is not available to Canadians. CoinSmart no longer operates separately. Netcoins is best for canadians who want a registered dealer with a long coin list.

Do CoinSmart And Netcoins Have Limit Orders?

CoinSmart: Not published Netcoins: No; Netcoins is a buy-and-sell broker with instant prices (not re-tested).

Which Coins Can You Buy On CoinSmart And Netcoins?

CoinSmart: Modest list, closed Netcoins: 60+ coins incl. BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, USDC

Is The Spread The Fee On CoinSmart And Netcoins?

CoinSmart: No longer applicable. Netcoins: The price includes Netcoins' spread and no separate trading fee is shown, so the spread is the fee.

Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On CoinSmart Or Netcoins?

CoinSmart: CIPF never covers crypto, and this platform no longer serves Canadians. Netcoins: CIPF never covers crypto.

Are CoinSmart And Netcoins Available In Every Province?

CoinSmart: No longer available in any province. Netcoins: Registered in all provinces and territories.

Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On CoinSmart And Netcoins?

CoinSmart: No longer applicable. Netcoins: Not verified; Interac deposits usually take 15 to 30 minutes.

What Is The Minimum Buy On CoinSmart And Netcoins?

CoinSmart: No longer applicable. Netcoins: Not published; Interac deposit minimum was CAD 10.

Can A Business Use CoinSmart Or Netcoins?

CoinSmart: No longer applicable. Netcoins: Yes, corporate and institutional accounts and OTC are offered.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!