Coinbase is a custodial app with 200+ assets. Beaver Bitcoin sells Bitcoin and nothing else, then delivers it to your own address. They are not the same product, so the right pick depends on where you want your coins to sit.
Coinbase Vs Beaver Bitcoin: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, Coinbase is the better choice (it wins on canadian status, my ranking).
9.8/10
CSA-registered (Restricted Dealer)
First-time buyers who want a regulated, simple app
How Do Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin Compare, Fact By Fact?
Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.
Coinbase Vs Beaver Bitcoin: Master Spec Table
Coinbase
Beaver Bitcoin
Winner
Company
Coinbase Canada, Inc. (BC1279128), unit of Coinbase Global, Inc. (Nasdaq: COIN). Founded 2012, San Francisco, by Brian Armstrong and Fred Ehrsam. Public company. Staff not sourced.
Dam Good Money Corp., operating as Beaver Bitcoin. Idea in 2021, launched 2022; Aubrey is Founder and CEO (surname Not published). HQ city, funding, staff: Not published.
Depends
Regulation
CSA Restricted Dealer in all provinces and territories (Decision 2024-04-03, amended 2026-04-01). FINTRAC MSB M22815925, expires 2027-03-06. Not a CIRO member. CIPF never covers crypto or cash here.
FINTRAC MSB N300000998, registered 2026-07-13, expiry 2028-11-30 (older M21577275 expired 2025-11-11). Not on the CSA list, no CIRO, no AMF. No CIPF.
Coinbase
Assets
200+ assets on the Canadian site, order book on Coinbase Advanced. USDT, DAI and RAI not available to Canadians. No official Canadian coin list is published.
Bitcoin only. No order book; fixed price quotes.
Coinbase
Price
Simple buy: spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% (varies by payment method), 1% extra on simple limit orders. Advanced: no spread, Canadian maker/taker rates not published.
1.5% fee on buys; Beaver pays the BTC network fee. Quoted price CA$121,106 vs CA$122,923 shown on the same page, 2026-10-03. Sell fee Not published.
Beaver Bitcoin
CAD In
Free: Interac e-Transfer and EFT. Wire, 3D Secure card and PayPal fees are not published.
Interac e-Transfer, bill payment, wire and pre-authorized debit. Fees to client Not published (1.5% buy fee covers it).
Beaver Bitcoin
CAD Out
Interac e-Transfer, EFT and PayPal cash-out supported. Fee not published ('may be charged a fee depending on the payment method').
Sell BTC to Beaver and receive CAD; method, fee and speed Not verified.
Depends
Crypto In And Out
On-chain sends and receives, Lightning sends (0.2% processing fee). Coinbase pays and passes on an estimated network fee at send time. USDT withdrawals carry 0.01% (max 20 USDT).
On-chain Bitcoin delivery to your own address, network fee paid by Beaver. Lightning, Liquid: Not verified.
Coinbase
Custody
Custodial. Coinbase says it holds customer assets 1:1, in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company. No insurance figure or proof of reserves on the Canadian pages.
Non-custodial: bitcoin is delivered to your wallet, Beaver holds none. Funds in transit only.
Beaver Bitcoin
Verification (KYC)
Government ID (Canadian licence, passport, PR card and others) plus a selfie, address must match the ID, status normally within 24 hours. A suitability questionnaire is mandatory. SIN not stated.
Photo of valid government ID, address, job title and a selfie. SIN not stated; clearing time Not published.
Depends
Account Types
Personal account. Business and institutional accounts exist at Coinbase but Canadian availability is not verified. No TFSA or RRSP.
Individuals and businesses both buy (Beaver says all kinds of people use it); a corporate account type Not verified.
Depends
Provinces
All provinces and territories incl. Quebec. Net purchase caps on non-major assets in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU, YT. French support not verified.
Provinces served and French support Not published.
Depends
Extra Products
Staking (35% commission), USDC rewards, Coinbase One subscription, DEX trading, signup banner 'up to CA$200' (terms not verified). Derivatives only for qualified Canadian investors.
Recurring Buy by pre-authorized debit, Beaver Plaid personal service above CAD 100,000, Sell Bitcoin.
Coinbase
Tax Tools
Coinbase Taxes gives a gain/loss report and raw transaction history as CSV, plus Canadian annual performance and charges reports. No CRA-formatted report or Koinly link confirmed.
Not verified.
Depends
App
iOS 4.56 (65,030 ratings, Canada store), Google Play 4.4 (about 929K reviews, global). Web app yes. 2FA yes, price alerts yes. French UI not verified.
No iOS or Android app; mobile-friendly website. 2FA, alerts and French UI Not verified.
Depends
Support
24/7 live chat, phone and email per Coinbase pages, formal complaints process. Support quality described as inconsistent in our earlier test. French support not verified.
Help centre with request form, email hello@beaverbitcoin.com, personal support. Phone and French Not verified.
What Are The Key Differences Between Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin?
Coinbase Vs Beaver Bitcoin: Side By Side
Coinbase
Beaver Bitcoin
Description
Founded in 2012, Coinbase is one of the world's best-known cryptocurrency exchanges. It is a public company (Nasdaq: COIN) and an S&P 500 component. In April 2024 it became the first international exchange registered with the CSA as a Restricted Dealer in Canada, and it offers a simple interface that makes it a popular starting point for beginners.
Beaver Bitcoin is a Canadian, Bitcoin-only service built around self-custody. Every purchase is delivered straight to your own wallet and Beaver holds nothing for you, so you need a Bitcoin wallet before you can buy. It offers automatic recurring buys by pre-authorized debit.
Coins
200+ available to Canadians, including BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and LTC. USDT, DAI and RAI are not available to Canadians, in line with CSA stablecoin guidance.
Bitcoin only.
Fees
Free CAD deposits via Interac e-Transfer and EFT | Simple interface: a spread plus a Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% (varies by payment method), the expensive way to buy | Simple limit orders add a separate 1% execution fee | Advanced: no spread because you trade against the order book, but the Canadian maker/taker rate table is not published on a public page | Coinbase One subscription waives the Coinbase fee on simple buys and sells (spread still applies, Advanced and the 1% limit fee excluded) | Staking commission 35%
One flat 1.5% fee on buys, shown in the price. Beaver pays the Bitcoin network fee on every delivery. In Oleg's test a CAD 100 buy delivered CAD 98.50 of BTC. No spread beyond the stated fee is claimed.
Pros
First international exchange registered as a Restricted Dealer in Canada, plus a FINTRAC MSB registration
Free Interac e-Transfer and EFT deposits
Simple, polished interface, great for beginners
Advanced has no spread, an order book and limit orders
Staking available, and USDC rewards
Publicly traded S&P 500 company with audited financials
2FA is switched on automatically, with security key support
Non-custodial, every buy goes to your own wallet
One flat 1.5% fee, network fee covered by Beaver
Hands-off recurring buys by pre-authorized debit
Simple interface, sign-up in a couple of minutes
Sell function too: send BTC and receive CAD
Personal support and a dedicated service above CAD 100,000
Cons
Simple interface fees are high, so use Advanced for anything sizeable
Staking commission is steep (35% of rewards)
Customer support quality is inconsistent
Strict name matching on payment methods can cause held or failed deposits
Crypto assets are not covered by CIPF or CDIC
No Canadian rate table for Advanced is published openly
Bitcoin only, so altcoin buyers need to look elsewhere
Shorter track record than Bull Bitcoin or Bitcoin Well (launched 2022)
No mobile app yet, only a mobile-friendly website
Full KYC for everyone, no anonymous purchase
You must set up your own wallet first
Not on the CSA list: FINTRAC MSB only, no securities-law protections
No crypto insurance, since Beaver holds no customer assets
Security
2FA auto-enrolled with security key support, multi-approval withdrawals in Coinbase Vault, a bug bounty program, and full KYC. Coinbase says it holds customer assets 1:1 and does not lend them without permission, and it publishes audited financials as a public company. Canadian pages publish no insurance dollar figure or cold storage percentage.
Beaver does not hold your bitcoin: it goes to your wallet address, so there is no pool of customer funds at Beaver to hack or freeze. KYC needs a government ID photo, address, job title and a selfie. Beaver is a FINTRAC MSB; it is not a CSA-registered dealer.
Methods To Buy
Interac e-Transfer (adds cash) | EFT bank transfer | 3D Secure debit or credit card | PayPal | Wire (adds cash)
Interac e-Transfer (Instant Buy), bill payment and wire (Large Buy), pre-authorized debit (Recurring Buy).
App
iOS 4.56 on the Canadian App Store (65,030 ratings), Google Play 4.4 (about 929K reviews, global). Web app available. Price alerts and a loss-notification feature required by Canadian rules.
No mobile app; the website is fully mobile-friendly.
Account Limits
Net purchase caps apply to assets other than BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, BCH and LTC: CAD 30,000 per rolling 12 months in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU and YT, no cap in AB, BC, MB, SK and QC. Answers to the onboarding questionnaire can instead cap a new account at CAD 1,000 per rolling 12 months until the profile is updated. BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, BCH and LTC are unlimited.
Instant Buy by e-Transfer up to CAD 20,000. Large Buy by bill payment or wire up to CAD 100,000. Above CAD 100,000, Beaver Plaid personal service. Recurring Buy weekly, bi-weekly or monthly.
How Do You Fund And Cash Out Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin In Canada?
Coinbase: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Free
Not published
Not published
up to 5 minutes
Bank account (EFT)
Free
Not published
Not published
credited instantly
Wire transfer
Not published
Not published
Not published
1 to 3 business days
3D Secure card
Not published
Not published
Not published
instant
PayPal
Not published
Not published
Not published
instant
Coinbase: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer
Not published
Not published
Not published
up to 5 minutes
Bank account (EFT)
Not published
Not published
Not published
instant
PayPal
Not published
Not published
Not published
instant
Beaver Bitcoin: CAD Deposits
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Interac e-Transfer (Instant Buy)
Included in the 1.5% fee; no separate fee published
Not published
CAD 20,000
BTC in your wallet in minutes
Bill payment or wire (Large Buy)
Included in the 1.5% fee; bank may charge
Not published
CAD 100,000
Wire in the morning, bitcoin by evening
Pre-authorized debit (Recurring Buy)
Included in the 1.5% fee
Not published
Not published
Weekly, bi-weekly or monthly schedule
Beaver Bitcoin: CAD Withdrawals
Method
Fee
Minimum
Maximum
Speed
Sell Bitcoin (send BTC, receive CAD)
Not published
Not published
Not published
Not published
Coinbase publishes no minimums, maximums or cash-out fees for Canada, so the bank-side limit is the practical cap. Payment method name must match the Coinbase account name or the deposit goes to manual review for one to three business days. Your bank's own Interac and wire limits also apply. Spending limits per account were not published beyond the tier caps.
What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin?
Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
Amount
Coinbase Buy
Coinbase Round Trip
Beaver Bitcoin Buy
Beaver Bitcoin Round Trip
CAD 100
$0.00 to $1.88
$0.00 to $3.75
$1.50
Not published
CAD 500
$0.00 to $9.38
$0.00 to $18.75
$7.50
Not published
CAD 1,000
$0.00 to $18.75
$0.00 to $37.50
$15.00
Not published
CAD 10,000
$0.00 to $187.50
$0.00 to $375.00
$150.00
Not published
Coinbase: High end is the Coinbase fee of up to 1.875% on simple buys and sells (varies by payment method), checked 2026-10-03, with a spread on top that is shown only in the order preview and a separate 1% on simple limit orders. Low end is the 0% maker rate Coinbase advertises for Advanced, but the Canadian rate table is not public. Beaver Bitcoin: Flat 1.5% on Bitcoin purchases, network fee paid by Beaver (beaverbitcoin.com, 2026-10-03). Sell fee Not published. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.
What Do Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?
Coinbase Only
Coinbase Advanced: Order book trading with no spread, limit orders and charting. The Canadian maker/taker table is shown only after signing in, so the rate is not published here.
Staking: Standard commission 35% of rewards for ADA, ATOM, AVAX, DOT, ETH, MATIC, SOL and XTZ, lower for Coinbase One tiers (31.75%, 28.5%, 25.25%). Canadians must pass a staking appropriateness questionnaire, repeated every 12 months.
Coinbase One: Subscription that waives the Coinbase fee on simple buys and sells, with a spread still included. It excludes Advanced and the 1% limit order fee. Subscription price not retrieved.
USDC rewards: Rewards on USDC balances, not guaranteed and not covered by CIPF or CDIC. The advertised rate (up to 3.75% APY) was seen on the navigation menu only.
Derivatives for eligible investors: Futures through Coinbase Financial Markets launched 2026-09-02 for eligible Canadian investors only, not retail.
Beaver Bitcoin Only
Instant, Large and Recurring Buy: Instant Buy by e-Transfer up to CAD 20,000, Large Buy by bill payment or wire up to CAD 100,000, Recurring Buy by pre-authorized debit.
Beaver Plaid: Personal service for purchases above CAD 100,000 by bill payment or wire.
Sell Bitcoin: Sell BTC for CAD; terms are in the help centre.
What Happens To Your Money If Coinbase Or Beaver Bitcoin Fails?
Coinbase: The CSA Restricted Dealer decision gives regulator oversight, a suitability questionnaire, loss notifications and purchase caps, but it is not deposit insurance. Coinbase says fiat and crypto are not protected by CIPF or CDIC. Customer assets sit in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company, and the Canadian pages publish no insurance figure or proof of reserves, so the 1:1 holding promise rests on Coinbase's own statement and public-company audits. Account holds on mismatched names or EFT deposits can lock funds for days.
Beaver Bitcoin: Beaver is a FINTRAC-registered money services business, which covers anti-money-laundering reporting, not investor protection: it is not on the CSA list and CIPF does not apply. Because it holds no customer bitcoin, a hack or failure of Beaver would mostly hit money in transit or a pending order, not your stored coins. The residual risks are a failed or delayed purchase, an unpublished sell process, and the shorter operating history since 2022. Its FINTRAC number changed in 2026 after the old registration expired.
How Are Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin Treated For Tax In Canada?
Coinbase: Buying crypto with CAD is not a disposition, but selling, converting one coin to another, spending, and staking rewards are taxable events. Coinbase Taxes gives a gain/loss report and a transaction history as CSV; you still file the Schedule 3 yourself.
Beaver Bitcoin: Buying bitcoin with CAD is not a disposition. Selling for CAD, or spending bitcoin, is a disposition you report to the CRA. Beaver publishes no tax export that we could verify, so keep your own records.
Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.
Which Should You Choose, Coinbase Or Beaver Bitcoin?
Choose Coinbase If
You want a large public company with a simple app and a CSA-registered Canadian entity.
You are comfortable using Advanced rather than the simple buy screen, which costs far more.
You want free Interac e-Transfer or EFT funding and a wide altcoin list.
Choose Beaver Bitcoin If
You want bitcoin delivered straight to your own wallet with no account balance
You want a simple recurring buy by pre-authorized debit
You accept a flat 1.5% fee and a FINTRAC-only registration
Is Coinbase Or Beaver Bitcoin Better For Canadians In 2026?
It depends on what you are buying. Coinbase is first in my ranking at 9.8 out of 10, a CSA Restricted Dealer in every province and territory, with a simple app and 200+ assets. Beaver Bitcoin carries no score in my top ten, but it is a real Canadian service: Dam Good Money Corp., idea in 2021, launched 2022, FINTRAC-registered, Bitcoin only, and it sends your coins to your own wallet.
If you want one purchase of Bitcoin delivered to a hardware wallet without leaving a balance on an exchange, Beaver does exactly that. If you want any other coin, a place to sell, or an app to learn on, Coinbase is the broader choice.
Beaver states a flat 1.5% on Bitcoin purchases and pays the network fee itself, so a $1,000 buy costs $15. That is a single number you can see before you commit. Coinbase's simple buy carries a fee of up to 1.875%, or $18.75 on $1,000, with a spread added that appears only in the order preview. Coinbase Advanced has no spread and an advertised 0% maker rate, but the Canadian table is not public.
The clean comparison is simple buy against Beaver: Beaver is about $3.75 cheaper per $1,000 before Coinbase's spread, and likely more once you count it. On Advanced the answer can flip, and I cannot put a verified number on it. Neither publishes a firm cash-out fee, so the cost of selling is unknown on both sides.
Which Is Easier To Fund And Cash Out?
On Coinbase an Interac e-Transfer adds cash only, so you buy as a second step, while an EFT can buy directly but carries a hold before the funds can be sent. The sender name must match the account or the deposit goes to manual review for one to three business days. Beaver is more direct: an Interac Instant Buy sends bitcoin to your wallet in minutes, and a Large Buy by wire in the morning delivers by evening. Beaver takes no credit card, PayPal or cash, while Coinbase accepts 3D Secure cards and PayPal on buys, with the fee shown in the order preview.
Which Is Safer For Canadians?
They carry different risks. Coinbase is regulated by the CSA (decision dated April 3, 2024, amended April 1, 2026) but holds customer assets in omnibus accounts at Coinbase, Inc. and Coinbase Custody Trust Company. It says it holds them 1:1, yet the Canadian pages show no insurance figure or proof of reserves. CIPF never covers crypto, and it does not cover cash here either.
Beaver is a FINTRAC-registered money services business, not on the CSA list, with no CIRO membership and no CIPF. Because it holds no customer bitcoin, a failure would mostly hit a pending order. The remaining risks are a delayed or failed purchase, an unpublished sell process and a short operating history, which dates from 2022.
Is Self-Custody Delivery Worth Giving Up A Full Exchange?
What Happens After You Buy
Question
Coinbase
Beaver Bitcoin
Where the bitcoin sits
With Coinbase, in omnibus accounts, until you send it
At your own address; Beaver holds none
Large purchases
Limits not published for Canada
Up to $20,000 by Interac, $100,000 by bill payment or wire
Recurring buys
Not verified
Pre-authorized debit, weekly, bi-weekly or monthly
Tax help
Coinbase Taxes gain and loss report and CSV
None I could verify
Delivery to your own wallet removes custodial risk, which matters most for coins you plan to keep for years. The price is losing everything else an exchange gives you: other coins, a sell side with published terms, and a tax export. Many people end up using both: Beaver for the long-term stack, Coinbase for the rest.
Who Should Choose Coinbase And Who Should Choose Beaver Bitcoin?
Choose Coinbase if you want more than Bitcoin, a regulated app, free Interac or EFT, and tools like Advanced and a tax report. Skip the simple buy screen once you are comfortable.
Choose Beaver Bitcoin if you want Bitcoin only, sent to your own wallet, with a recurring debit and a flat fee. You are accepting a FINTRAC-only registration. My ranked list of exchanges covers the other options.
No. It delivers bitcoin to an address you provide and holds none for you, so the exposure is money in transit or a pending order. On Coinbase your coins stay in its omnibus accounts until you send them out.
How Much Can I Buy At Once On Beaver Bitcoin?
Instant Buy by Interac e-Transfer goes up to $20,000. Large Buy by bill payment or wire goes up to $100,000, and above that Beaver offers a personal service called Beaver Plaid. Your bank's own limits also apply.
Why Did Beaver Bitcoin's FINTRAC Number Change?
Its older registration (M21577275) expired on November 11, 2025, and FINTRAC now lists N300000998, registered July 13, 2026 and expiring November 30, 2028. FINTRAC registration is an anti-money-laundering requirement, not investor protection.
Does Beaver Bitcoin Publish Its Sell Fee?
Not that I could find. Its help centre has a Sell Bitcoin category, but the fee, method and speed were not published on a page I could verify. Coinbase also leaves its Canadian cash-out fees unpublished, so check the preview on either before you confirm.
Do Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin Have Limit Orders?
Coinbase: Yes, on Coinbase Advanced with no spread; simple limit orders carry a 1% execution fee. Beaver Bitcoin: No; fixed price buys only.
Which Coins Can You Buy On Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin?
Coinbase: 200+ Beaver Bitcoin: Bitcoin only
Is The Spread The Fee On Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin?
Coinbase: Yes, simple buys include a spread on top of the Coinbase fee, shown in the order preview. Beaver Bitcoin: Beaver states a flat 1.5% fee and pays the network fee, so the fee is what you see.
Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On Coinbase Or Beaver Bitcoin?
Coinbase: CIPF never covers crypto, and Coinbase says Canadian fiat wallets are not covered either. Beaver Bitcoin: CIPF never covers crypto, and Beaver is not a CIPF member.
Are Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin Available In Every Province?
Coinbase: All provinces and territories, with CAD 30,000 caps on non-major coins in NB, NL, NS, ON, PEI, NT, NU and YT. Beaver Bitcoin: Not published.
Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin?
Coinbase: Coinbase says Interac arrives in up to 5 minutes, but it publishes no weekend rule; bank-side limits apply. Beaver Bitcoin: Not verified; e-Transfer buys arrive in minutes, wires follow bank hours.
What Is The Minimum Buy On Coinbase And Beaver Bitcoin?
Coinbase: Not published for Canada. Beaver Bitcoin: Not published.
Can A Business Use Coinbase Or Beaver Bitcoin?
Coinbase: Business and institutional products exist at Coinbase, but Canadian business accounts are not verified. Beaver Bitcoin: Beaver says individuals and businesses use it; a business account type is not verified.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.