The Trezor Safe 5 is the colour-touchscreen Trezor you can still buy. The Model T, the first touchscreen Trezor, is discontinued, and Trezor names the Safe 5 as its successor. The screens are the same size on paper, so the difference is the chip, haptics and the fact that one of them is no longer sold.
Trezor Safe 5 Vs Trezor Model T: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, the Trezor Safe 5 is the better pick because Trezor Model T is discontinued.
What Happens If You Lose Your Trezor Safe 5 Or Trezor Model T?
Trezor Safe 5: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).
Trezor Model T: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir); 2 wallet backup cards. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).
How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?
Price And Shipping To Canada
Wallet
Official Price
Shipping To Canada
Trezor Safe 5
USD 129
not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller
Trezor Model T
Not published
not applicable: discontinued
CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.
Which Is More Secure, Safe 5 Or Model T?
The Safe 5 has a certified EAL6+ secure element, a single chip. Trezor's Model T page says the Safe 5 'comes with a Secure Element chip', which implies the Model T has none, and the page lists none. That is the main security gap. The Model T took part in the best-known attack on early Trezors: in January 2020 Kraken Security Labs extracted the encrypted seed from a Model One and Model T in about 15 minutes with physical access and a voltage glitch. A passphrase protects against it (Kraken report). Is the Trezor Model T still safe? For an owner who uses a passphrase and keeps the device physically safe, it remains usable, but it no longer gets the newest hardware and I would not buy one new, which you cannot anyway.
The Safe 5 is not affected by the March 2025 Safe 3 supply-chain countermeasure bypass, according to Trezor. It does share the vendor-side events of 2026: the ShipMonk breach in August and the Brevo phishing episode in September, both of which exposed contact data rather than devices or keys.
Which Is Easier To Use?
Both have a 1.54 inch colour touchscreen at 240 x 240. The Safe 5 adds haptic feedback and Gorilla Glass 3. The Model T has a microSD card slot, which the Safe 5 does not list. Both use a cable, with the Safe 5 using USB-C to USB-C and no Bluetooth. Both support 12-, 20- and 24-word backups and Advanced multi-share (Shamir) backup, and Trezor Suite on Android, Mac, Windows and Linux. On iOS, Trezor lists limited compatibility for the Safe 5.
Which Supports More Coins?
The Safe 5 supports thousands of coins and tokens and third-party apps. The Model T page did not give a coin count. Can XRP be stored on Trezor? I keep my XRP on a Trezor Safe 7, and for the Safe 5 or Model T you should check the coin on Trezor's supported list, since I could not confirm it on the product pages I used.
If you own a Model T and are wondering whether to move, the cost of the upgrade is USD 129 plus any courier duty, which Trezor does not state. For a new buyer the choice is simple, since the Model T cannot be bought.
How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?
Withdraw from Coinbase, Kraken or NDAX to an address on the device. Kraken adds a Travel Rule pop-up from CAD 1,000, and NDAX asks 'Who are you sending to?' with a 'Sending to myself' answer for your own wallet. Moving between wallets you own is not a CRA disposition. See my Kraken review, and migrate with a small test transfer first.
For owners of a Model T, the practical advice is short. Check that your backup is written down correctly and stored somewhere safe, turn on a passphrase if you have not, and consider migrating when you next move coins anyway. A migration is a transfer between wallets you own, which the CRA does not treat as a disposition, but record the dates and transaction IDs and keep them for six years. Create the new wallet on the Safe 5, confirm the receive address on its screen, move a small test amount and only then the rest.
One buying warning applies strongly to a discontinued product. Because Trezor no longer sells the Model T, any unit offered new-in-box by a third party is either old stock with unknown storage history or something worse. Trezor's own scam guidance says it will never ask for your backup, and a pre-initialised device that arrives with a recovery card already filled in is a classic trap. Start with a device you set up yourself.
Which Should You Choose?
Which Trezor model is best? For most Canadians I would say the Safe 7 at the top, the Safe 5 if you want a colour touchscreen without the extras, and the Safe 3 if price rules. Between these two, the Safe 5 wins, and the Model T is for existing owners. Details in my Safe 5 review and my Model T review. See also Safe 5 Vs Ledger Flex.
What Has Happened With Trezor Safe 5 And Trezor Model T?
Trezor's compare page lists the Safe 5 at USD 129 (Trezor).
Trezor's provider ShipMonk was breached, exposing order contact data (Trezor).
Kraken Security Labs published the seed extraction on the Model One and Model T (Kraken).
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Trezor Model T Still Safe?
It remains usable if you use a passphrase and keep the device physically secure, but it is discontinued and, per Trezor's page, has no secure element, which the Safe 5 does.
Which Trezor Model Is Best?
My number one is the Trezor Safe 7. The Safe 5 is the colour-touchscreen step below it, and the Safe 3 is the cheapest at USD 59.
Can XRP Be Stored On Trezor?
I keep my XRP on a Trezor Safe 7. Check the coin on Trezor's supported list for the Safe 5, since I could not confirm it on the product page.
What Are The Key Differences Between The Trezor 5 And Trezor 3?
The Safe 5 has a 1.54 inch colour touchscreen with haptics and costs USD 129. The Safe 3 has a 0.96 inch monochrome OLED with two buttons and costs USD 59.
Can I Still Buy A Trezor Model T In Canada?
Not new. Trezor says it is no longer sold. Treat a used unit as a tamper risk.
Do The Trezor Safe 5 And The Trezor Model T Ship To Canada?
Trezor Safe 5: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller. Trezor Model T: not applicable: discontinued.
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.