The Ledger Nano S Plus is a USD 69 cable-connected wallet with no iOS support, and the SafePal S1 is a USD 49.99 air-gapped QR wallet. The honest one-line difference: SafePal is cheaper and works with an iPhone, Ledger has the bigger ecosystem and retail presence.
Ledger Nano S Plus Vs SafePal S1: Which Is Better For Canadians?
For most Canadians, the SafePal S1 is the better pick because it is in my top 7.
What Happens If You Lose Your Ledger Nano S Plus Or SafePal S1?
Ledger Nano S Plus: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: recovery sheets; optional Ledger Recover. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 7 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-08-27 (Security Bulletins 023, 024, 025: signing-review bypasses).
SafePal S1: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: seed phrase; passphrase supported; Cypher metal backup sold separately. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 2 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-08-16 (Customer order information accessed).
How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?
Price And Shipping To Canada
Wallet
Official Price
Shipping To Canada
Ledger Nano S Plus
USD 69 (US shop)
yes: Ledger runs a Canadian storefront with CA$ pricing; authorised Canadian resellers include Canada Computers, Best Buy Canada, Amazon Canada
SafePal S1
S1 USD 49.99; X1 USD 69.99; S1 Pro USD 89.99
Ships to Canada; Canadian reseller: Kantor LTD.
CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.
USD 69 against USD 49.99. These are the two budget picks in the series, and they are built on opposite ideas: the Nano S Plus plugs in with a cable, the SafePal S1 never connects to anything and moves data through QR codes.
Which Is More Secure, Ledger Nano S Plus Or SafePal S1?
Both use an EAL6+ chip: the Nano S Plus an ST33K1M5 Secure Element, the SafePal S1 a CC EAL6+ chip. The S1 is air-gapped, with no Bluetooth, WiFi or NFC, QR only, and it supports a passphrase and a seed phrase. SafePal says essential aspects of its key-generation code are open source, so it is partial. The Nano S Plus connects over USB-C and is closed source.
Both have a history. SafePal's: in February 2021 Kraken Security Labs found a firmware downgrade attack and tamper-detection weaknesses on the S1, which needed physical access and was fixed in firmware V1.0.24. More recently, on August 16, 2026 SafePal disclosed that a plugin flaw let others see order data for about 39,798 customers between March 2025 and April 2026, including names, emails, shipping addresses and phone numbers. Seed phrases, keys and payment data were not exposed, though SafePal saw claims the data was for sale, so expect phishing (SafePal). Ledger's: the 2020 customer-data leak, the 2023 Connect Kit attack and 2026 signing-review bulletins (Ledger Donjon). No seed extracted from the Nano S Plus in what I found.
Is The Ledger Nano S Plus Obsolete?
No: it is still on sale as a Nano Classic, at USD 69 on Ledger's US shop. It runs the Ledger Wallet app on desktop and Android, but it does not work with iOS, which is a real limit if you own an iPhone. I have no sourced facts on the original Nano S, so I will not say whether it is still safe or supported; check Ledger's support pages before relying on one.
Which Is Easier To Use?
The S1 has a 1.3 inch full-colour IPS screen at 320 x 320 with buttons, a rechargeable battery and a scan-and-sign workflow with the SafePal App, which doubles as a software wallet and browser extension. The Nano S Plus has a 1.1 inch monochrome OLED at 128 x 64 and two buttons, no battery, 21 g. QR signing is slower, but needs no cable and works with an iPhone. The Nano S Plus is quicker with a computer, but desktop or Android only.
Which Supports More Coins?
SafePal lists 200+ blockchains. Ledger lists 500+ coins directly in Ledger Wallet and thousands via 50+ compatible third-party wallets. The counts measure different things, chains against coins, so check your exact coin on each list.
Which Costs Less In Canada?
Ledger Nano S Plus And SafePal S1 Costs
Item
Ledger Nano S Plus
SafePal S1
Price
USD 69 (US shop)
USD 49.99; X1 USD 69.99; S1 Pro USD 89.99
Shipping to Canada
Canadian storefront with CA$ pricing
Canada 5-8 business days, USD 13; free on 2 or more
Canadian resellers
Canada Computers, Best Buy Canada, Amazon Canada
Kantor LTD. (kantor.ca)
Duties
Not stated
Not stated
SafePal is the cheaper device, and it has a stated Canadian shipping rate and a Canadian reseller. Ledger lists more Canadian resellers. Metal backups cost extra on both sides: SafePal's Cypher backup is sold separately.
How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?
Equally. Withdraw from Coinbase, Kraken or Newton to your own address and tick "sending to myself" where asked. Moving coins between your own wallets is not a disposition for the CRA. Anyone buying hardware should buy from the maker or an authorised reseller, which is also the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre's advice, and should write the backup on paper or steel, never in a photo or a note on a phone.
Which Should You Choose?
Choose SafePal if you want the cheapest air-gapped wallet, you use an iPhone or you like QR signing. Choose the Nano S Plus if you want Ledger's ecosystem and you use a desktop or Android phone. If you can stretch the budget, the Trezor Safe 3 at USD 59 has open code and an EAL6+ chip; see Trezor Safe 3 Vs Ledger Nano S Plus.
Both are entry-level devices, and the best use for either is a modest holding, a second wallet or a first hardware wallet to learn on. Neither should be your only copy of a seed. Whichever you buy, set a passphrase if you hold anything significant and store the backup in a place a burglar would not look.
What Has Happened With Ledger Nano S Plus And SafePal S1?
Ledger issued Security Bulletins 023 to 025 on signing-review bypasses. Ledger Donjon
SafePal disclosed that order data for about 39,798 customers was accessible through a plugin flaw. SafePal
Kraken Security Labs published its SafePal S1 findings; SafePal fixed the downgrade attack in V1.0.24. Kraken
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Ledger Nano S Plus Obsolete?
No. It is still on sale as a Nano Classic at USD 69. It works on desktop and Android but not iOS.
What Is The Most Trusted Cold Wallet?
None is perfect. SafePal and Ledger have both had disclosed issues. Choose by how you will use it and keep your backup offline.
Is The Ledger Nano S Plus Good?
For USD 69, yes: an EAL6+ Secure Element and the Ledger Wallet app. Its limits are a small screen, no battery, no Bluetooth and no iOS support.
Does SafePal Ship To Canada?
Yes. SafePal's shipping page lists Canada at 5 to 8 business days and USD 13, with free shipping on 2 or more devices. Kantor LTD. is an authorised Canadian reseller.
Which Is Cheaper, The Ledger Nano S Plus Or The SafePal S1?
Ledger Nano S Plus: USD 69 (US shop). SafePal S1: S1 USD 49.99; X1 USD 69.99; S1 Pro USD 89.99.
Do The Ledger Nano S Plus And The SafePal S1 Ship To Canada?
Ledger Nano S Plus: yes: Ledger runs a Canadian storefront with CA$ pricing; authorised Canadian resellers include Canada Computers, Best Buy Canada, Amazon Canada. SafePal S1: Ships to Canada; Canadian reseller: Kantor LTD..
Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.
He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.
His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen.