D'CENT Vs Trezor: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 3, 2026

The Trezor Safe 7 has three chips and open firmware, while the D'CENT Biometric Wallet has a fingerprint sensor, a sale price and a September 2026 App Wallet incident still unexplained. Only one of them has a Canada duty-cover gap.

D'CENT Vs Trezor: Which Is Better For Canadians?

For most Canadians, the Trezor Safe 7 is the better pick because it scores 9.6 against 8.4 on my list.

D'CENT Biometric Wallet

8.4/10#7 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada

Trezor Safe 7

9.6/10#1 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
D'CENT Biometric WalletTrezor Safe 7
My Standing8.4 /10 #7 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada9.6 /10 #1 on my list of the best crypto wallets in Canada
PriceUSD 79 (sale, 50% off USD 159) on D'CENT store at check time; 2X package USD 149 (was 318)USD 249
Secure ElementCC EAL5+ certified secure chipTROPIC01 (auditable) plus NDA-free EAL6+ Optiga secure element plus STM32U5 microcontroller: three chips from three vendors
Screenon-device screen (size not stated) with physical navigation buttons; capacitive fingerprint sensor (up to 2 fingerprints, or 4-8 digit PIN)2.5 inch colour touchscreen, 520 x 380, 700 nits, Gorilla Glass 3, haptic feedback
ConnectionBluetooth Low Energy 4.1 and USB-C (USB OTG)Bluetooth (open-source encrypted), USB-C to USB-C cable, Qi2 wireless charging
Open SourceNot verifiedyes: Trezor lists 'Open-source security'; firmware changelog and signed binaries published on GitHub
Backuprecovery words generated on the device (24-word); recovery sheet in box12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir)
Coins10,000+ assets across 100+ blockchains; custom token accounts can be added manually1000s of coins and tokens; 30+ third-party wallet apps; 70k+ dApps via third-party

See my top 7 crypto wallets for Canadians for the full ranking.

How Do The D'CENT Biometric Wallet And Trezor Safe 7 Compare, Spec By Spec?

Every row comes from the makers’ own pages and published security records, checked October 2026. Where there is no fair winner, the row says so.

D'CENT Biometric Wallet Vs Trezor Safe 7: Master Spec Table
D'CENT Biometric WalletTrezor Safe 7Winner
MakerIoTrust (D'CENT)SatoshiLabs (Trezor)Depends
My Score And Rank8.4/10, #7 on my list9.6/10, #1 on my listTrezor Safe 7
PriceUSD 79 (sale, 50% off USD 159) on D'CENT store at check time; 2X package USD 149 (was 318)USD 249D'CENT Biometric Wallet
Buying In Canadayes by implication: duties covered only for US, UK/EU and Japan; other destinations pay shipping and may owe import tax to local customsnot stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised resellerDepends
Secure ElementCC EAL5+ certified secure chipTROPIC01 (auditable) plus NDA-free EAL6+ Optiga secure element plus STM32U5 microcontroller: three chips from three vendorsDepends
Open SourceNot publishedyes: Trezor lists 'Open-source security'; firmware changelog and signed binaries published on GitHubDepends
Screen And Inputon-device screen (size not stated) with physical navigation buttons; capacitive fingerprint sensor (up to 2 fingerprints, or 4-8 digit PIN)2.5 inch colour touchscreen, 520 x 380, 700 nits, Gorilla Glass 3, haptic feedbackDepends
ConnectionBluetooth Low Energy 4.1 and USB-C (USB OTG)Bluetooth (open-source encrypted), USB-C to USB-C cable, Qi2 wireless chargingDepends
Backup And Recoveryrecovery words generated on the device (24-word); recovery sheet in box12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir)Depends
Passphraseyes: add one secret word to the 24-word phraseyesDepends
Coins10,000+ assets across 100+ blockchains; custom token accounts can be added manually1000s of coins and tokens; 30+ third-party wallet apps; 70k+ dApps via third-partyD'CENT Biometric Wallet
AppDCENT appTrezor Suite (Android, Mac, Windows, Linux; full iOS compatibility on Safe 7)Depends
Bitcoin-Only Optionno (not offered)Not publishedDepends
Batterylithium-ion polymer 530 mAhLiFePO4, 3.2 V, 330 mAh, overheat protection; Qi2 wireless chargingDepends
Security Record1 documented; latest 2026-09-16: Unauthorized asset transfers from the D'CENT App Wallet6 documented; latest 2026-09-09: Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's addressDepends
Sources For This Table

What Happens If You Lose Your D'CENT Biometric Wallet Or Trezor Safe 7?

D'CENT Biometric Wallet: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: recovery words generated on the device (24-word); recovery sheet in box. Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 1 security issue is on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-16 (Unauthorized asset transfers from the D'CENT App Wallet).

Trezor Safe 7: Your coins are recorded on the blockchain, not stored inside the device. Recovery depends on the backup: 12-, 20- and 24-word backup; Advanced multi-share backup (Shamir). Keep that backup offline and never type it into a website or app. 6 security issues are on record for the maker, the latest on 2026-09-09 (Brevo newsletter provider breach, phishing from Trezor's address).

How Much Does It Cost To Get These Wallets To Canada?

Price And Shipping To Canada
WalletOfficial PriceShipping To Canada
D'CENT Biometric WalletUSD 79 (sale, 50% off USD 159) on D'CENT store at check time; 2X package USD 149 (was 318)yes by implication: duties covered only for US, UK/EU and Japan; other destinations pay shipping and may owe import tax to local customs
Trezor Safe 7USD 249not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller

CBSA courier thresholds: shipments from outside the US and Mexico are duty and tax free only up to CAD 20, and from the US or Mexico up to CAD 40, so expect taxes on any hardware wallet. Buy from the maker or an authorised reseller only.

Which Is More Secure, D'CENT Or Trezor?

I am anchoring this on the D'CENT Biometric Wallet and the Trezor Safe 7. They are both screened devices with Bluetooth, but the engineering philosophies differ. The Safe 7 stacks three chips from three vendors: the auditable TROPIC01, an EAL6+ Optiga secure element and an STM32U5 microcontroller. Its firmware is open source, with a published changelog and signed binaries. The D'CENT has a single CC EAL5+ secure chip, a fingerprint sensor, and no statement on whether its code is open.

The incident column is not equal either. D'CENT: on September 16, 2026 unauthorised transfers began from addresses whose recovery phrase had ever been entered into its software App Wallet on versions before 8.1.0, including hardware seeds restored there. D'CENT has not yet published a cause or a loss figure and told users to update, make new recovery phrases and move assets (report).

Trezor: on June 3, 2026 Ledger Donjon extracted a subset of TROPIC01 secrets with laser fault injection, which needs possession of the device, chip decapsulation and lab equipment. Trezor says PIN, funds and backup are not exposed because that chip is one of three layers, and a later chip revision is planned. Trezor also had third-party breaches: ShipMonk (August 13, 2026, order data of roughly 80,689 customers by its later count) and Brevo (September 9, 2026, a phishing email sent from its address). No devices or keys were touched in either. I still keep my ETH, SOL and XRP on a Trezor Safe 7, and the Trezor warns that it will never contact you about your backup.

Which Is Easier To Use?

The Safe 7 has a 2.5 inch colour touchscreen with haptic feedback and works with Trezor Suite on Android, Mac, Windows and Linux, with full iOS compatibility. The D'CENT has an on-device screen (size not stated by D'CENT) with buttons and the fingerprint reader, works over BLE 4.1 or USB-C and runs on a 530 mAh battery. Trezor also supports Qi2 wireless charging on the Safe 7. If you hate typing PINs, the fingerprint reader is the D'CENT's genuine selling point.

Which Supports More Coins?

Coins And Backup: D'CENT Vs Trezor Safe 7
ItemD'CENT BiometricTrezor Safe 7
Coin Support10,000+ assets, 100+ blockchains1000s of coins and tokens; 30+ third-party apps
Backup24 words generated on the device; passphrase supported12, 20 or 24 words; Shamir multi-share backup; passphrase
ConnectivityBluetooth LE 4.1 and USB-CBluetooth, USB-C and Qi2 charging

Trezor does not publish one clean number the way D'CENT does, but it covers the major chains and I hold XRP on a Safe 7, so the question "can XRP be stored on Trezor?" is a yes from my own use.

Backups are the other practical gap. The D'CENT generates a 24-word phrase on the device and ships a recovery sheet in the box, with an optional passphrase. The Safe 7 offers 12, 20 or 24 words and an Advanced multi-share (Shamir) option, which lets you split the backup so no single piece restores the wallet. Either way, whichever device you pick, the words never go into a phone, a photo or a cloud note. That one rule is also why the D'CENT App Wallet incident matters: the damage came from seeds that had been typed into software.

Which Costs Less In Canada?

Price And Delivery: D'CENT Vs Trezor
ItemD'CENT BiometricTrezor Safe 7
Price (USD)$79 on sale (50% off $159)$249 (CAD not shown to my fetch)
CanadaStore says Canada duty coverage is "coming soon"Amazon Canada is an authorised reseller; Trezor says it ships to over 200 countries

The D'CENT is about $170 cheaper at the current sale, but you carry the import-tax risk. For Trezor, Amazon Canada appears on its reseller list. Buy through my Trezor Safe 7 link or the D'CENT link, and check the checkout total, since CBSA duty-free thresholds are CAD 20 (non-US) or CAD 40 (US parcels).

How Do They Work With Canadian Exchanges?

Same flow for both: get a receive address, send a small test, then the rest. Kraken's Travel Rule pop-up appears from CAD 1,000, and Shakepay's normal speed can take 1 to 12 hours with Shakepay covering fees.

Which Should You Choose?

Choose the Trezor Safe 7 if you want open-source firmware, a bigger screen, a known Canadian reseller and my number one pick. Choose the D'CENT if you want a fingerprint reader and a sale price, accept the unexplained App Wallet incident and are fine with possible duty at the door. For a mid-priced Trezor, check my Trezor Safe 5 review, or read D'CENT vs Ledger.

What Has Happened With D'CENT And Trezor?

  • : Trezor released Safe 7 firmware 2.12.5 (previous 2.12.4 on August 19).
  • : D'CENT reported unauthorised transfers from App Wallet addresses on versions before 8.1.0.
  • : Trezor's email vendor Brevo was breached and a fake STM32 alert was sent from Trezor's address; about 347,000 addresses were exported.
  • : Ledger Donjon disclosed a laser attack on the TROPIC01 chip used in the Trezor Safe 7.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Dcent Wallets Safe?

The hardware has a CC EAL5+ chip and a fingerprint sensor, but D'CENT reported unauthorised transfers from its software App Wallet on September 16, 2026, including hardware seeds restored there. Never type a seed into any app.

What Is The Most Trusted Cold Wallet?

Trust is earned by open code, audits and how a maker handles incidents. Trezor is my number one pick, with open-source firmware and a public record of disclosures.

Can XRP Be Stored On Trezor?

Yes. I keep my ETH, SOL and XRP on a Trezor Safe 7 and a Tangem card.

Where Is The Dcent Wallet Made?

D'CENT's pages that I checked do not give the maker's country, so I will not state one.

Is It Safe To Buy A Trezor In Canada?

Buy from Trezor or an authorised reseller. Amazon Canada is on Trezor's list. The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre advises buying wallets directly from the maker.

Which Is Cheaper, The D'CENT Biometric Wallet Or The Trezor Safe 7?

D'CENT Biometric Wallet: USD 79 (sale, 50% off USD 159) on D'CENT store at check time; 2X package USD 149 (was 318). Trezor Safe 7: USD 249.

Do The D'CENT Biometric Wallet And The Trezor Safe 7 Ship To Canada?

D'CENT Biometric Wallet: yes by implication: duties covered only for US, UK/EU and Japan; other destinations pay shipping and may owe import tax to local customs. Trezor Safe 7: not stated; Amazon Canada is listed as an authorised reseller.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!