VirgoCX Vs Kraken: Which Is Better For Canadians In 2026?

Fact-checked by Canadian crypto tradersHow we testWe may earn a commission

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg Galeev

Last updated October 2, 2026

This analysis compares two popular cryptocurrency exchanges, VirgoCX and Kraken, focusing on their key features, security measures, Canadian compliance, customer support and more. Both exchanges are fully legal for Canadians, but they offer distinctly different features and experiences, particularly after VirgoCX’s April 2025 non-custodial pivot and Kraken’s April 2025 restricted dealer registration across all of Canada.

VirgoCX Vs Kraken: Which Is Better For Canadians?

Kraken wins by default for Canadians. The OSC lists VirgoCX's restricted dealer registration as suspended effective November 24, 2025, and the CSA list shows it under terms requiring a wind-down of its registrable business. It remains a FINTRAC-registered money services business. Since VirgoCX’s CSA dealer registration is suspended, I recommend Coinbase (9.8/10, #1 on my list): open a Coinbase account.

VirgoCX logo
CSA registration suspended (Nov 24, 2025)
Kraken logo9.2/10
CSA-registered (Restricted Dealer)

Beginners who want to learn, then cheaper trading on Kraken Pro

Head To Head, Checked October 2026
VirgoCXKrakenWinner
Canadian statusCSA registration suspended (Nov 24, 2025)CSA-registered (Restricted Dealer)Kraken
My rankingNot in my top 10#3 of 10, 9.2/10Kraken

Not sure which fits you? Take my 60-second quiz or see my full ranking.

How Do VirgoCX And Kraken Compare, Fact By Fact?

Every row below comes from each company’s own pages and the Canadian registries, checked October 2026. Where a row has no fair winner, it says so.

VirgoCX Vs Kraken: Master Spec Table
VirgoCXKrakenWinner
CompanyVirgoCX Inc. and VirgoCX Direct Inc. (FINTRAC names), Toronto. Founding year, founders, funding and staff: Not published.Payward Canada Inc. (Kraken), part of Payward, Inc. Founded 2011 by Jesse Powell and co-founders. Private, IPO filing reported. HQ reported moved to Cheyenne, Wyoming (2025). Staff not sourced.Depends
RegulationCSA restricted dealer suspended effective 2025-11-24 (OSC list); CSA list shows wind-down terms. FINTRAC MSB M19955733 expiry 2027-10-21. No CIRO, no CIPF cover of crypto.CSA Restricted Dealer, OSC principal regulator (Decision 2025-04-01). FINTRAC MSB M19343731, expires 2028-08-25. Not a CIRO member. Client assets not covered by CIPF.Kraken
AssetsNot published.About 490 tickers for Canadians after Kraken's restriction list (derived estimate, not official). Order book on Kraken Pro. USDT, DAI, PYUSD, USDS, RLUSD, EURC, PAXG and 100+ more barred.Kraken
PriceNot verified; the official fee page was blocked.Pro spot 0.40% maker / 0.80% taker at the base tier, falling with volume or balances. Instant Buy 1% fee (1.5% custom orders) plus a spread. Kraken+ waives the fee up to USD 10,000 a month.Kraken
CAD InInterac e-Transfer free (2021 article, not re-confirmed).Free: Interac e-Transfer (min CAD 5, max CAD 10,000) and domestic wire (min CAD 100). Debit card 0.25 CAD + 3.75%, SWIFT CAD 3, bill pay 0.25% (max CAD 30).Kraken
CAD OutNot published.Interac e-Transfer withdrawal costs CAD 10 (max CAD 10,000 per transaction). Other CAD withdrawal methods and fees were not retrievable.Kraken
Crypto In And OutNon-custodial: crypto goes to your own wallet. Details Not published.On-chain, Lightning (0 + 0.1%, min 0.00001 BTC), and many networks per asset. Bitcoin network fee 0.000015 BTC with a 0.000218 BTC minimum. Kraken sets the fee per coin.Kraken
CustodyCustodial accounts wound down from 2025-04-04; remaining assets were sold after the deadline.Custodial. Proof of Reserves by an independent accountant, snapshot 2026-06-30: BTC 102.9%, ETH 100.5%, SOL 100.6%, XRP 102.3%, ADA 100.3%. Not CIPF protected. Insurance figure not published.Kraken
Verification (KYC)Not published.Name, DOB, phone, address, occupation, valid ID, plus proof of address or face photo where required. SSN or Tax ID is for US clients only. Investor questionnaire required. Clearing time not published.Depends
Account TypesNot published.Personal account. Kraken has business, trust and IRA account types globally; Canadian availability of business accounts not verified. No TFSA or RRSP. Joint accounts are not offered.Kraken
ProvincesNot published.All provinces and territories, registered with the OSC and every provincial regulator. Net purchase caps outside AB, BC, MB, QC, SK. French UI not verified.Kraken
Extra ProductsNot published.Staking (not GRT, FLR, Opt-In Rewards or Babylon), recurring buys, Kraken+ subscription. No margin, derivatives, xStocks or USDG for Canadians.Kraken
Tax ToolsNot published.Ledger and trade history CSV export, plus a Koinly link (25% discount for all clients, Kraken+ gets a free report up to 800 transactions). Koinly can output the CRA Schedule 3.Kraken
AppiOS Canada 4.43 (395 ratings), 2026-10-03.iOS 4.62 (5,662 ratings, Canada store), Google Play 4.2 (about 55.1K reviews, global). Web app and Kraken Pro yes. 2FA yes. French UI not verified.Kraken
SupportHelp centre on virgocx.zendesk.com; channels Not verified.24/7 messaging and email forms, with voice support in the app for select situations. Phone is not a general channel. French support not verified.Kraken
Sources For This Table

What Are The Key Differences Between VirgoCX And Kraken?

VirgoCX Vs Kraken: Side By Side
VirgoCXKraken
DescriptionVirgoCX was a Toronto-based platform that served Canadians as a CSA restricted dealer. In April 2025 it ended custodial accounts and moved to a non-custodial service, where crypto goes to your own wallet. The OSC lists its dealer registration as suspended effective November 24, 2025.Kraken is a Canada-friendly, US-based crypto exchange operating since 2011. In April 2025 it became a registered Restricted Dealer in Canada, valid in every province and territory. It has a strong reputation for security and offers a wide range of coins, with CAD trading pairs that spare Canadians foreign exchange fees.
CoinsIt advertised 90+ coins including BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and USDC before the change. The current list is not published.About 490 tickers after Kraken's own Canada restrictions list is removed (derived from its public API, not an official count). USDT, DAI, PYUSD, USDS, RLUSD, EURC and PAXG are among the assets Canadians cannot hold or trade. CAD pairs on the majors.
FeesPast tense: Oleg's table cited spreads of 0.95% on BTC and ETH and 1.6% on other assets, with volume tiers. The official fee page is behind a bot check, so this was not re-confirmed and is no longer current.Free Interac e-Transfer deposits, CAD 10 to withdraw by e-Transfer | Instant Buy: 1% trading fee on instant and recurring trades (1.5% on custom orders) plus a spread, the pricier way to buy | Kraken Pro: maker/taker 0.40% / 0.80% at the base tier, falling with 30-day volume or assets on platform, among the cheapest ways for Canadians to trade | Kraken+ waives the fee on Buy/Sell/Convert up to USD 10,000 a month, but spread still applies | Debit card deposits cost 0.25 CAD + 3.75%
Pros
  • Was registered with the CSA as a restricted dealer until suspended
  • Non-custodial service from April 2025
  • OTC desk (VirgoCX Wealth)
  • Still a FINTRAC registered money services business
  • Registered Restricted Dealer across all of Canada since April 2025
  • Free Interac e-Transfer deposits
  • CAD trading pairs, no FX fees on majors
  • Wide range of coins
  • Good for beginners via Instant Buy, with pro-grade tools on Kraken Pro
  • Staking available (ETH can be staked, with some exclusions)
  • Published proof of reserves with a third-party accountant
  • Never hacked in over a decade of operation
Cons
  • Registration as a dealer suspended effective November 24, 2025
  • The non-custodial service is not offered under its securities registration, and no regulator has confirmed it is regulated under securities law
  • No securities-law investor protections for the non-custodial service
  • Custodial accounts ended; assets left after the deadline were sold
  • Fee page and coin list could not be verified
  • Instant Buy fees are high, so use Kraken Pro for anything beyond small purchases
  • Client assets are not covered by the Canadian Investor Protection Fund, a condition every user must acknowledge
  • No margin, no derivatives and no xStocks for Canadians
  • Many altcoins and every USD stablecoin are restricted for Canadians
  • CAD 10 Interac withdrawal fee
  • Customer support can be slow at peak times
SecurityPast tense: VirgoCX stopped holding crypto for customers in 2025. No protections under securities law were confirmed for the non-custodial service, and CIPF never covered crypto.Cold storage and hot wallet infrastructure in secure cages with 24/7 surveillance, 2FA, and a Proof of Reserves review by an independent accountant (snapshot 2026-06-30, BTC reserve ratio 102.9%, ETH 100.5%). Kraken client assets are not covered by CIPF.
Methods To BuyPast tense: Interac e-Transfer (free, 2021 help article, not re-confirmed after the 2025 switch).Interac e-Transfer (free) | Domestic wire | Debit card | SWIFT | Bill pay (Apaylo) | Crypto deposits
AppApple Canada app 'Virgo: Buy Bitcoin, XRP and More' rated 4.43 from 395 ratings (2026-10-03).iOS 4.62 on the Canadian App Store (5,662 ratings), Google Play 4.2 (about 55.1K reviews, global). Web app and Kraken Pro available.
Account LimitsNot published. Custodial accounts ended in 2025; customers must hold crypto in their own wallets.Net purchase limits apply to everything except BTC, ETH, LTC and BCH: CAD 30,000 per rolling 12 months for most clients, CAD 100,000 for an Eligible Investor, none for Permitted Clients or Accredited Investors. The limits do not apply in AB, BC, MB, QC and SK. Interac e-Transfer: CAD 10,000 per transaction, 30,000 weekly, 100,000 monthly.

How Do You Fund And Cash Out VirgoCX And Kraken In Canada?

VirgoCX: CAD Deposits (When It Operated)
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFree, no funding minimum (2021 article, not re-confirmed)None statedNot publishedNot published
Kraken: CAD Deposits
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferFreeCAD 5CAD 10,000 per transaction and daily, CAD 30,000 weekly, CAD 100,000 monthlyinstant or 0 to 1 business days
Domestic wire (Credit Union Atlantic)Free (an intermediary bank fee of 13.74 is noted)CAD 100Not published1 to 5 business days
Debit card0.25 CAD + 3.75%CAD 10Not publishednear-instant
SWIFT (Bank Frick)CAD 3CAD 4Not published1 to 5 business days
Bill pay (Apaylo)0.25% per transaction, max CAD 30CAD 1Not published1 to 5 business days
Canada Post in-person cash and debitNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Kraken: CAD Withdrawals
MethodFeeMinimumMaximumSpeed
Interac e-TransferCAD 10Not publishedCAD 10,000 per transaction and daily, CAD 30,000 weekly, CAD 100,000 monthlyup to 1 business day
Domestic EFTNot verifiedNot publishedNot publishedNot published

VirgoCX is no longer a registered dealer in Canada; do not treat these methods as current. Fund by Interac for free, trade on Kraken Pro, and expect to pay CAD 10 to take Canadian dollars back out by e-Transfer. Wire deposits can lose a 13.74 intermediary fee. Kraken has been reported to delay new account checks at busy times.

What Does It Actually Cost To Buy On Kraken?

Worked Cost, Buy Only And Buy Plus Sell (Round Trip)
AmountKraken BuyKraken Round Trip
CAD 100$0.40 to $1.00$0.80 to $2.00
CAD 500$2.00 to $5.00$4.00 to $10.00
CAD 1,000$4.00 to $10.00$8.00 to $20.00
CAD 10,000$40.00 to $100.00$80.00 to $200.00

Kraken: Kraken Pro base tier 0.40% maker / 0.80% taker (Tier 1, USD 0 volume), checked 2026-10-03. The high end is the 1% Instant Buy fee, which is charged on top of a spread Kraken does not publish. Custom orders are 1.5%. Ranges reflect each platform’s published band, not a single quote. Bank and network fees are not included.

What Do VirgoCX And Kraken Offer Beyond Buying And Selling?

Kraken Only

  • Kraken Pro: Order book trading with maker/taker fees from 0.40% / 0.80%, down to 0.0% / 0.10% at USD 10M monthly volume. Tiers can also be reached by holding assets on the platform (USD 20K for Tier 3).
  • Staking: Flexible staking with an on-chain unbonding period carries a 20% commission. Canadians cannot stake GRT or FLR, use Opt-In Rewards, or use Babylon Bitcoin staking, and ETH2.S cannot be traded.
  • Kraken+: Subscription giving zero trading fees on up to USD 10,000 (or CAD equivalent) a month in Buy, Sell and Convert, with spreads and card fees still applying. The subscription price was not retrieved.
  • Recurring buys: Recurring trades are charged the 1% Instant Buy fee plus a spread.

What Happens To Your Money If VirgoCX Or Kraken Fails?

VirgoCX: The OSC lists VirgoCX's restricted dealer registration as suspended since November 24, 2025, and the CSA list shows terms requiring a wind-down of its registrable business. It stopped holding customer crypto in 2025, so the remaining service is non-custodial and sits outside securities-law investor protections. A FINTRAC MSB registration covers anti-money-laundering rules only. CIPF never covered crypto. Use this platform only if you accept those gaps, or move to a registered dealer.

Kraken: Kraken is a CSA Restricted Dealer, which brings regulator oversight, loss notifications and purchase caps, but its client assets are not covered by CIPF and Kraken says so. Kraken publishes third-party proof of reserves (June 2026 ratios 100.3% to 102.9% for the five largest assets), which shows assets were held at the snapshot but is not insurance, and no insurance amount is published. Residual risks are exchange hacks, an insolvency where you are an unsecured creditor, and restrictions that can force you to withdraw coins Kraken later removes for Canada.

How Are VirgoCX And Kraken Treated For Tax In Canada?

VirgoCX: Past activity on VirgoCX followed the usual rules: selling, swapping or spending crypto are dispositions reportable to the CRA. Check your old statements for cost basis; export tools are Not published.

Kraken: Selling, converting one coin to another and staking rewards are taxable events. Kraken exports ledger and trade history as CSV and links to Koinly, which can produce a CRA Schedule 3 report; Kraken does not produce a CRA-ready report itself.

Selling, swapping or spending crypto is a disposition for the CRA on any platform. This is not tax advice: see my guide to crypto taxes in Canada.

Which Should You Choose, VirgoCX Or Kraken?

Choose VirgoCX If

  • You already hold a VirgoCX history and need to check records
  • You are looking only for registered Canadian dealers: pick another platform

Choose Kraken If

  • You want the widest coin list available to Canadians and a real order book.
  • You will use Kraken Pro rather than Instant Buy to keep trading costs near 0.4% to 0.8%.
  • You value published proof of reserves over a CIRO dealer.

Kraken is third on my 2026 ranking at 9.2. VirgoCX is not ranked, because it stopped holding crypto for customers in 2025 and now runs a non-custodial buy-and-sell service under a CSA wind-down term. These two are no longer the same kind of business.

VirgoCX went non-custodial in 2025 and its CSA list entry carries terms requiring wind-down of its registrable business. Kraken is the side that still holds customer accounts.

How Do VirgoCX And Kraken Compare On Fees?

VirgoCX Vs Kraken: Fee Structure
ItemVirgoCXKraken
Everyday tradingNot verified (fee page blocked)Instant Buy 1% plus spread; custom orders 1.5% plus spread
Lower-cost routeNot verifiedKraken Pro 0.40% maker, 0.80% taker at the entry tier, falling to 0.22% and 0.38% from $10,000
Extra chargesNot verifiedSmall-balance conversion: fixed 3%; debit card deposit CAD 0.25 plus 3.75%
Staking cutNot verifiedNot quoted here (varies by asset)

VirgoCX's official fee page sits behind a bot check that blocked every attempt to read it, so its trading fee, spread and coin count are not stated here. Third-party review figures are not used. If you decide to use it, read the quote on screen before you confirm.

Kraken runs two price lists. Instant Buy and recurring buys cost a 1% fee plus a spread, and custom orders 1.5% plus a spread. Kraken Pro is cheaper: the entry tier is 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker, dropping to 0.30% and 0.60% from $2,500 of 30-day volume and to 0.22% and 0.38% from $10,000. Kraken Plus offers zero trading fees on up to USD 10,000 of monthly buy, sell and convert volume, though spread and card fees still apply. Converting small balances carries a fixed 3% fee. Kraken republished its fee schedule on September 29, 2026.

Kraken's prices are public. Instant Buy costs 1% plus a spread, and Kraken Pro starts at 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker, falling with volume. VirgoCX's fee page sits behind a bot check that blocked every attempt to read it, so its trading fee and spread are not stated. Third-party review figures were not used. On what can be verified, Kraken is the only side with a number you can plan around.

Which Is Better For Funding And Withdrawing CAD?

VirgoCX Vs Kraken: CAD Funding
ItemVirgoCXKraken
DepositsInterac e-Transfer, free per a 2021 support article, not re-confirmedFree Interac e-Transfer (CAD 5 minimum), free domestic wire
CAD withdrawalsNot verifiedInterac e-Transfer withdrawal: CAD 10
Limits and extrasNot verifiedInterac limits: CAD 10,000 per transaction and day, CAD 30,000 weekly, CAD 100,000 monthly

VirgoCX's support pages described free Interac e-Transfer funding with no funding minimum, but that article dates from 2021 and was not re-confirmed after the 2025 switch to a non-custodial service.

Interac e-Transfer deposits are free, with a CAD 5 minimum and limits of CAD 10,000 per transaction and per day, CAD 30,000 weekly and CAD 100,000 monthly. A domestic wire is free too (CAD 100 minimum, 1 to 5 business days, with a CAD 13.74 intermediary bank fee noted). Debit card deposits cost CAD 0.25 plus 3.75%. Getting CAD out by Interac e-Transfer costs CAD 10.

Both appear to take Interac e-Transfer. Kraken's is free to deposit with a CAD 5 minimum and costs CAD 10 to withdraw, and its domestic wire is free too. VirgoCX's help pages described free Interac funding, but the article is from 2021 and was not re-confirmed after the 2025 switch. Kraken also publishes all its limits, up to CAD 100,000 monthly by e-Transfer.

Which Has More Coins?

VirgoCX Vs Kraken: Coin Selection
ItemVirgoCXKraken
AssetsNot verifiedAbout 490 (derived from the public API)
NoteNon-custodial: you hold coins in your own walletSome tickers barred by Kraken's own Canadian restrictions list

VirgoCX's coin count could not be verified, so it is not quoted here.

Kraken publishes no Canada-specific coin count. Its public API lists 498 tickers once the 135 tickers on Kraken's own Canadian restrictions list are removed (a few of those are fiat), so about 490 is a fair working number. Kraken's global site quotes 600+ pairs, which is not the Canadian figure.

Kraken lists about 490 assets for Canadians once its restrictions list is applied. VirgoCX's coin count could not be verified. Third-party figures of 60+ coins exist, but they were not used because they cannot be traced to an official page.

Which Is Safer?

VirgoCX Vs Kraken: Safety And Registration
ItemVirgoCXKraken
CSA statusCSA list, with terms requiring wind-down of its registrable businessCSA Restricted Dealer, decision April 1, 2025
CIRONot listed as a CIRO memberNot a CIRO member
FINTRACRegistered MSBs (VIRGOCX INC., VIRGOCX DIRECT INC.)Registered MSB (Payward Canada Inc.)
Custody and protectionNon-custodial since April 4, 2025; no investor protections confirmedProof of Reserves June 30, 2026: BTC 102.9%, ETH 100.5%; crypto not covered by CIPF

VirgoCX is on the CSA list, but the entry reads: subject to terms and conditions requiring wind-down of its registrable business (amended decisions January 30, 2025 and May 30, 2024, original decision May 30, 2022). It stopped holding crypto for customers on April 4, 2025. Assets left after the June 16, 2025 deadline were force-sold, and customers now hold crypto in their own wallets. VirgoCX says its non-custodial service is not offered under its securities dealer registration, and no securities-law investor protections are confirmed for it. FINTRAC lists VIRGOCX INC. and VIRGOCX DIRECT INC. as registered MSBs.

Payward Canada Inc., operating as Kraken, is a Restricted Dealer registered with the OSC and the securities regulators of every province and territory (CSA decision April 1, 2025). It is not a CIRO member, and press reports say it intends to apply. It is a FINTRAC-registered MSB. Kraken's Proof of Reserves snapshot at June 30, 2026 showed reserve ratios of 102.9% for BTC and 100.5% for ETH. As a restricted dealer it caps net purchases of assets other than BTC, ETH, LTC and BCH at CAD 30,000 over a rolling 12 months for most clients (CAD 100,000 for eligible investors), with the cap not applying in Alberta, BC, Manitoba, Quebec and Saskatchewan.

Kraken is a CSA Restricted Dealer in every province and territory, with a Proof of Reserves snapshot showing BTC at 102.9% and ETH at 100.5% on June 30, 2026. VirgoCX is on the CSA list under terms requiring wind-down of its registrable business, and it says its non-custodial service is not offered under its securities dealer registration. Its custodial customers had until June 16, 2025 before assets were force-sold. Neither platform has CIPF coverage on crypto.

Which App Is Easier To Use?

VirgoCX Vs Kraken: App Ratings
StoreVirgoCXKraken
Apple App Store (Canada)Not verified4.62 (5,662 ratings)
Google PlayNot verified4.2 (55.1K reviews)

No app rating figures were verified for VirgoCX, so none are quoted. What changed matters more than any rating: since April 2025 it is a non-custodial buy-and-sell service, not an account that stores your coins.

The Kraken app has a 4.62 rating from 5,662 ratings on the Canadian App Store and 4.2 on Google Play (55.1K reviews). Canadians cannot use margin or derivatives on Kraken. Staking is open to Canadians with exceptions: no Opt-in Rewards, no GRT or FLR staking, and no Babylon Bitcoin staking.

Kraken's app scores 4.62 on the Canadian App Store (5,662 ratings) and 4.2 on Google Play. No VirgoCX rating was verified. Kraken offers staking, with exceptions for Canadians, and keeps your coins in your account. VirgoCX no longer does the second part, so its experience is buy, then withdraw to your own wallet.

What Are The Pros And Cons Of VirgoCX And Kraken?

VirgoCX Pros And Cons

Pros

  • Still listed on the CSA register
  • Non-custodial service, so you hold your own coins
  • FINTRAC-registered MSB entities

Cons

  • CSA entry requires wind-down of its registrable business
  • No custody, so no account to recover through support
  • Fees and coin list could not be verified
  • No investor protections confirmed for the non-custodial service

Kraken Pros And Cons

Pros

  • Registered Restricted Dealer in every province and territory
  • Free Interac e-Transfer deposits
  • Kraken Pro pricing starts at 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker
  • About 490 tradable assets and a published Proof of Reserves

Cons

  • CAD 10 fee to withdraw by Interac e-Transfer
  • Instant Buy at 1% plus spread costs more than Pro
  • No margin or derivatives for Canadians
  • Net purchase cap on non-major assets for most provinces

Who Should Choose VirgoCX, And Who Should Choose Kraken?

Choose VirgoCX only if you want a non-custodial buy service, you already have a wallet, and you have checked the on-screen quote yourself. Its CSA wind-down term is the reason I do not rank it.

Choose Kraken if you want a registered account that holds your coins, published fees, Kraken Pro pricing and a wide coin list. Fund it with free Interac e-Transfer and trade on Pro.

Visit Kraken Read My Kraken Review

What Changed For VirgoCX And Kraken In October 2026?

  • Kraken republished its fee schedule, with Kraken Pro spot still starting at 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker.
  • The transition deadline: assets remaining in custodial accounts were force-sold.
  • VirgoCX began going non-custodial.
  • The CSA issued its Restricted Dealer decision for Payward Canada Inc. (Kraken), and Kraken announced free Interac e-Transfer deposits.
  • The CSA issued an amended decision for VirgoCX, and its list entry now carries terms requiring wind-down of its registrable business.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Kraken Better Than VirgoCX?

On the records, yes for almost everyone. Kraken is a CSA Restricted Dealer with published fees and about 490 assets. VirgoCX is under a CSA wind-down term and no longer holds customer crypto.

Is VirgoCX Still Safe To Use?

It is still on the CSA list, but under terms requiring wind-down of its registrable business, and no investor protections are confirmed for the non-custodial service. That is why it is not on my ranked list.

Does Kraken Charge More Than VirgoCX?

Kraken's fees are public, 1% plus spread on Instant Buy and 0.40% maker and 0.80% taker on Pro. VirgoCX's fee page could not be read, so a comparison is not possible.

Can I Still Hold Crypto On VirgoCX?

No. Custodial accounts ended in 2025, and customers must hold crypto in their own wallets.

Is Kraken Registered In Canada?

Yes. Payward Canada Inc. is a Restricted Dealer, with a CSA decision dated April 1, 2025, and a FINTRAC-registered MSB.

Do VirgoCX And Kraken Have Limit Orders?

VirgoCX: Not published. Kraken: Yes, on Kraken Pro with maker fees from 0.40%.

Which Coins Can You Buy On VirgoCX And Kraken?

VirgoCX: Not published (90+ advertised before 2025) Kraken: About 490 (derived)

Is The Spread The Fee On VirgoCX And Kraken?

VirgoCX: Not verified; spreads of 0.95% to 1.6% were reported historically. Kraken: Yes, Instant Buy adds a spread on top of the 1% fee; Pro has no spread but charges maker/taker fees.

Does CIPF Cover My Crypto On VirgoCX Or Kraken?

VirgoCX: CIPF never covers crypto. Kraken: CIPF never covers crypto, and Kraken makes users acknowledge that its client assets are not covered.

Are VirgoCX And Kraken Available In Every Province?

VirgoCX: Not published. Kraken: All provinces and territories, with CAD 30,000 net caps outside AB, BC, MB, QC and SK on assets other than BTC, ETH, LTC and BCH.

Do Interac Deposits Work On Weekends On VirgoCX And Kraken?

VirgoCX: Not published. Kraken: Kraken says e-Transfer takes 0 to 1 business days or arrives instantly; no weekend rule is published.

What Is The Minimum Buy On VirgoCX And Kraken?

VirgoCX: Not published. Kraken: Interac deposits start at CAD 5; the minimum order size varies by pair and was not verified.

Can A Business Use VirgoCX Or Kraken?

VirgoCX: VirgoCX Wealth OTC existed; current status Not verified. Kraken: Kraken offers business accounts globally; Canadian availability is not verified.

Author

Oleg Galeev, founder of OCryptoCanada

Oleg is a Canadian citizen & crypto expert who has been trading since 2016. He started out with Coinbase, Kraken and Peer-to-Peer exchanges. After some time, centralized exchanges started charging crazy fees to their users.

He decided to review different crypto exchanges that operate in Canada and start a Youtube channel in order to educate Canadians on what kinds of things are going inside each one while giving them unbiased advice. On top of that, Oleg also has experience with NFT, airdrops, and crypto staking and he is constantly checking on new crypto assets.

His writing has been featured in popular Canadian media sources such as Toronto Sun and Ottawa Citizen. 

Discover Your Perfect Canadian Crypto Exchange!